Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe - University

1031 East Apache Boulevard , Tempe, Arizona 85281

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 94 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

94reviews

  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    2

Very warm and comfortable.

By

28 June 2021

The stay was quite nice. The staff was so nice Cynthia was quite personable as well as the blonde young lady running around helping her as well as taking care of the guest. Bright young lady with positive attitude really compentable. Great location some restaurants around as well as local dive bars.

Read More
Read Less

Staff doesn’t follow covid precautions

By

06 May 2021

This is a typical HIE (holiday inn express) - you know what you’re getting before even stepping in the door. I’ve stayed in over 25 and one thing they do well is consistency.

That said, one thing that disappointed me here was that they preach (with signs all over) about covid precautions like mask wearing, etc, but their OWN STAFF DOESN’T comply. I know it’s Arizona and it’s a bit of the Wild West for the pandemic regulations, but this frustrated me as a traveler.

Two examples:

1) The housekeepers either didn’t wear a mask at all or they had them below their chins. I really didn’t like entering my room after they had just been in there cleaning and touching everything without being safe.

2) the breakfast attendant only wore her mask over her mouth (not over her nose). This was the case each morning during my week long stay

I should’ve said something to the front desk attendants (who did wear their masks properly) but forgot so I wanted to alert my fellow travelers.

Read More
Read Less

Happy girl

By

21 October 2014

club

Comfort, security I expect from Holiday Inn. Check in was helpful, forgot my ID, he was able to work out the price for me. I brought a copy of my ID in next day. They were very accommodating.

Read More
Read Less

A great place to stay always

By

30 September 2014

platinumelite

As a consistent visitor to this hotel for ASU related business. I count on this hotel because of it's quality of accommodations and staff. I don't have to think or worry about anything and so I can focus on my work. It's location to the university and neighboring cities makes it a perfect location. The staff is excellent, professional and attentive. I have been coming here for over a year regularly every month for several weeks at a time and I won't have it any other way...

Posted byHotelStaff
10 October 2014
Dear NY consultant, we appreciate your kind words. We strive to make our guests feel comfortable while thier work keeps them away from home. We look forward to your continued stays while in the Tempe area.
Read More
Read Less

Solid HI Express, Good Location

By

30 September 2014

Only real downside seems to be price. The good location and small(ish) size of the hotel seems to translate to higher rates than most HI Express locations. Other than that, standard HI Express type stay with all you have probably come to expect from them.

Posted byHotelStaff
10 October 2014
Dear John99999, We appreciate your kind review, we try to keep our rates competitive with other hotels in the area. We hope to see you again the next time you visit the Tempe area.
Read More
Read Less

Good to Go

By

27 September 2014

Stopped on the way to Las Vegas. The property is very pretty and clean. I stay at the Holiday Inn Express because of breakfast (turkey products) and other healthy alternatives that are consistent throughout the chain. I was surprised by lack of options during our stay, but assured that they were out (Monday morning).
Ask to stay in the middle of the property if you need internet - rooms on the far ends have a weak signal.
Still cheaper and not as stressful as the airport property.

Posted byHotelStaff
30 September 2014
Whisper 1321, We are happy that you had a positive experience at our hotel, and thank you for your kind words. I apologize for the lack of options with our breakfast, we had a slight delay with our order. We will also take a look in the issues with internet strength towards the end of the hallways. We look forward to seeing you on your future travels.
Read More
Read Less

No Air

By

24 September 2014

Being a Platinum member I have stayed at a few locations this year and I was shocked by this stay. We checked in to our room and unpacked our stuff. Noticed the air did not work in the room. Got ready for our plans of the night and left. On our way out we stopped at the front desk and they said oh ya I think the switch is broke on it we will look at it. They seemed aware the air conditioning was broke. When we returned at 1200 am at night we found the air was not fixed and spent the next 30 minutes getting a new room and packing then unpacking our stuff into the new room. I planned on relaxing after a night out not moving our stuff. Very disappointed. Called the next two days to speak to a manager about our stay and still no return call. Left messages with staff to have the manager call.

Posted byCustomerCare
04 October 2014
Dear Riverredneck, Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the air conditioning issue you experienced. We understand the discomfort this caused you. Rest assured that this matter will be looked into. Again, we do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We sincerely hope that the next time you are in Tempe you will give our hotel another try. Sincerely, Karen G. Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

Close to the Airport

By

23 September 2014

platinumelite

Hotel staff was very friendly. Room was very clean but the bathroom/showers are in need of maintenance. (appearance)

Posted byHotelStaff
30 September 2014
Freg Trvlr Thank you for your kind response, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will be looking into the issues with the bathroom/showers. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Read More
Read Less

Only one night..

By

16 September 2014

in Tempe, but I got some great sleep. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheap, clean place to stay. The wireless was adequate, the breakfast was free (and tasty). You can't really ask for more than that.

Posted byHotelStaff
18 September 2014
Dear Michelle_34, Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again when you are in Tempe.
Read More
Read Less

nice stay

By

12 September 2014

great price clean room, bed linen could use replacement

Posted byHotelStaff
18 September 2014
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will be using your feedback as a training tool for our housekeeping staff.
Read More
Read Less

Great hotel

By

02 September 2014

I really love staying here. I am planning more trips to the area in order to stay here. I can relax really well and being a platinum member, there is real recognition. I would recommend this place to anyone in the area.

Posted byHotelStaff
11 September 2014
Dear DownloadAcar, Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to giving you a place to relax and be you on your next visit.
Read More
Read Less

Clean. Comfortable. Great staff!

By

02 September 2014

club

Everything I'd expect from a basic hotel stay. Clean, quiet, and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and the free shuttle service was amazing!

Posted byHotelStaff
13 September 2014
Dear Norky Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Tempe Arizona State. It gives us great pleasure to learn that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read More
Read Less