Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Algonquin

2595 Bunker Hill Drive , Algonquin, Illinois 60102

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
91%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 120 reviews
91%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

120reviews

  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    7

Stay Away

By

June 20, 2022

club

My husband and I stayed at this property from June 12th - 19th. Never again! We did call Holiday Inn's customer service while we were staying at the property to detail all these issues. Customer Service told us that hotel management would call me directly - I never heard a word from them.
1. Smell - Hotel had a sewer break and reeked of sewer throughout the hotel for 3 days of our stay.
2. Malfunctioning locks - we constantly had to get our keys redone. Staff tried to blame it on our phones demagnitizing the keys even though we kept them in our wallets. The lock on the door to the pool/workout room was also not working. Staff couldn't even get it open and had to go through an outside door to prop it open.
3. Hot Tub/Exercise Equipment - Exercise equipment was very old and squeaky. Hot tub had a ring of scum around the side so we stayed away from it. I workout regularly and was thankful that we could at least use the LifeTime Fitness facility which was nearby.
4. Breakfast - Very limited options. They were out of coffee at 7:30 am and my husband was given attitude by the staff when he let them know. Pancake machine was not usable at all during our entire stay.
5. Room - We were not advised that we had to request the room to be cleaned. Not even garbage is emptied unless you request it AND, if you request housekeeping, you had better stick around to make sure it is done as the communication seems to break down. One evening we had requested our room be cleaned the following day. Housekeeping finished on our floor without doing our room. Luckily I caught someone at the front desk before housekeeping left for the day otherwise it would not have been done.
Air Conditioner was brand new and had never been used so we had 2 days of the chemical smell in our room from it.
There was not a coffee maker in our room. We let the front desk know, they insisted it was there, we checked and let them know that no, there was nothing to make coffee with at all. They did bring one to us but it should have been there to start and they should have believed us when we told them there wasn't one.

During our stay I saw a room assigned to a guest and the guest be given a key only to find that the room already had been rented to someone else and that the other person and their belongings were in the room.
I also saw numerous other guests constantly going to the front desk to have their keys redone as they continually quit working.

Read More
Read Less

Horrible Smell and Sleeping Staff

By

June 11, 2022

At walk in you were greeted with a horrible sewer smell followed by ghost staff who was never around.

On checkout morning(5am) another guest and myself had to wake up the lady who was hiding in the back office.

Just for her to lie and say she wasn’t sleeping.

The breakfast was the worst I’ve had. Runny eggs and dry omelette.

By far worst IHG experience.

Read More
Read Less

Poor service

By

August 15, 2021

stayed 08/03.2021 thru 08/05/2021. The HOTEL DESPERATELY NEEDS A GOOD CLEANING ESPECIALLY HALLWAY AND LOBBY CARPETS. Did not offer points or snack item at check in Did not welcome as an IHG member. Breakfast on Wednesday 08/0/04 they did not have any milk, pancake machine out of order, juice machine out of order, This hotel is located right next door to a grocery store. You would think someone could have purchased milk. Upon check out no one asked how are stay was. It's time for IHG to cancel this franchise. The only thing going for this hotel is it's location!

Read More
Read Less

Great Customer Service!

By

November 25, 2019

club

Very friendly staff, very clean room, very clean hotel in general, with a great pool and wonderful breakfast. I will go there again and again I just love this place...

Read More
Read Less

Good value, friendly suburban hotel

By

November 19, 2019

I stayed twice at this hotel recently - each time for 3 nights. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially Assistant Manager Ashley and Tim and others on reception. Breakfast was very good, parking plentiful, restaurant one minute walk from the hotel and many shops, restaurants and other amenities nearby. Easy access to O’Hare Airport, downtown Chicago and other suburbs. Hotel also has gym, swimming pool and jacuzzi. I would happily stay there again.

Read More
Read Less

Great place to stay!

By

November 19, 2019

The place is clean and comfortable and is in a good location.

Read More
Read Less

Honest Housekeeping Staff

By

October 15, 2019

I would like to commend your Housekeeping Staff for their honesty. I was a part of the FCJC group attending an annual Gathering. On October 4, i took off my necklace and couldn't find it when I was about to wear it. I looked all over and could not find it. After our session, I still could not find it. Then the following day, when we returned to the room, I found it in our bathroom, placed nicely on top of a small towel placed by a housekeeping staff. Thank you so much.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and great staff.

By

October 16, 2014

I had a great stay for the value. Breakfast was very good and the staff was always available.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Awesome to hear. Come back to visit real soon. Thank you!
Read More
Read Less

Average stay

By

October 08, 2014

club

This hotel needs to be in tune with what the client wants and needs. Better customer relations is needed in this hotel. When serving large parties of people DO NOT put others in the middle of the party involved. make sure the air/ heat is working order. Little overlooks can make or break a person wanting to stay there again.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Wow. A great deal of customers love the service we provide. Sorry to hear you didn't experience it. We would like to hear more. Do contact us.
Read More
Read Less

Cara was AMAZING!!!

By

October 08, 2014

club

WOW!! If all of your staff is as great and accommodating as Cara we will for sure be back!! BUT with that said, weird thing... while trying to charge our cells phones each evening we realized after the first night the phone never charged. Odd? We thought we had not knowingly plugged into a switched outlet so changed outlets the next evening. Same thing again... no charged cell phones? Now we investigated further and realized ALL the outlets were on a switch? We spent a total of 4 nights at this location and had to sleep with the lights on 2 of the nights to keep the phones charged! THAT was not pleasant or restful in anyway. Our schedule was busy each day and when our frustration was high we were too tired to deal with it. For that reason we might second guess another stay as this location. Cara was that most positive thing happening here and the breakfast was great too!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 10, 2014
Awesome to hear Cara made your stay. She is great and we're lucky to have her. While our lights are on switches, they can also be manually turned off; still allowing the charging of mobile devices. We wish you would've called down to the front desk. Happy that breakfast was satisfying too. Come back soon.
Read More
Read Less

good service

By

October 07, 2014

good service shuttle was great nice food area and the pool / spa are super

Posted byHotelStaff
October 10, 2014
We're excited to hear you enjoyed our amenities. The staff takes pride in making sure they are just perfect for our guests.
Read More
Read Less

Perfect for our need!!

By

October 02, 2014

Nice hotel, clean facility, nice rooms, comfortable beds. Kids loved the pool

Posted byHotelStaff
October 07, 2014
Perfection for our guests is the goal here. So elated you had a good stay! Thank you.
Read More
Read Less