Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Astoria

204 West Marine Drive , Astoria, Oregon 97103

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
97%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.8

based on 260 reviews
97%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

260reviews

  • 5 Stars
    226
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    5

Very nice

By

May 02, 2022

I loved the room it was clean and comfortable. It had a deep tub if you want a bath and to relax. Definitely would recommend this hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Worst lodging experience in 50 years of extensive traveling

By

September 07, 2021

Several days ago I wrote a review about our experience at Astoria's HIE after a 2 night stay there. It was a negative review because of a very negative encounter with a staff member. I have not received any response from anyone connected with HIE nor have I seen the review posted on the website.
This staff member was not wearing a mask while on duty at the front desk. When questioned about mask wearing policy, the conversation quickly became confrontational and ended with the staff member shouting at us and repeatedly informing us that we should be staying home and not traveling because of our viewpoint on mask wearing. All of this while there is a statewide mandate in Oregon and a sign on the front entrance 15' from the staff members work space indicating that masks are required inside. We were following the protocol and wearing masks...she was not yet she informed us that we should be staying home and not traveling.
Why hasn't anyone from HIE acknowledged the review that was sent or posted it on the website? We have been loyal HIE customers for many years now and were outraged to have experienced what we did in Astoria. I was born and raised in Astoria and I'm embarrassed for my hometown to have someone like that representing Astoria and greeting and interacting with visitors.
I would like to hear from someone in management from HIE and get an explanation for this staff member's unacceptable treatment of us. After a year and a half of staying home and not traveling I didn't expect this. Is this the new normal and reality when staying at HIE?

Read More
Read Less

Worst lodging experience in 50 years of extensive traveling

By

September 01, 2021

platinumelite

Our reservations were made over the phone directly to the Astoria office. From the very beginning, things were not done properly on HIE end and we still don't know if our credit card has been properly credited. Several people there admitted to that mistake. That was so insignificant compared to what happened during our stay. We encountered a staff member working the front desk who was not wearing a mask. A conversation with her lead to a confrontation on that subject. It ended by her shouting at us and telling us repeatedly that we should stay at home and not be traveling because of our viewpoint on mask wearing. We were following the rules and wearing a mask...she was not. The sign stating that masks were required was only about 15' from her work station. Talked to the general manager but didn't really get any satisfaction. Another staff member behind the front desk was very apologetic and supportive. A truly unbelievable, unprofessional, offensive encounter that has left us outraged that someone like that is working with the public and greeting visitors. We went there knowing that masks were required and assumed and expected that the staff would be required to wear them also. NO ONE SHOULD HAVE TO PAY $778.86 AND EXPERIENCE WHAT WE DID!!!!! Visitors to Astoria deserve better treatment than we received. It was a truly horrible experience. Is this the new normal in Astoria? Further communication with people in City of Astoria positions has been taken and more is planned. I lived for 18 years in Astoria and now I am ashamed and embarrassed for the city. Terrible, outrageous experience after spending the last year and a half at home due to the pandemic. I went there to relax and see family members for the first time in over a year and a half...not to get into a confrontation with anyone about mask wearing.

Read More
Read Less

Preferred customer given poor accommodations after reserving desired room.

By

September 11, 2020

On the afternoon of arrival, this IHG preferred customer somehow ended up with a room other than the room I reserved a week earlier. Thus this senior citizen slept on a pull-out bed, and endured a very painful, uncomfortable experience at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Astoria, OR, a place i once recommended to friends and acquaintances, a situation I NEVER would have agreed to. But it was too late to find other accommodations on a holiday weekend. I was offered compensation, inadequate and unsatisfying though it was. But no explanation was ever given as to why my party and I were not placed in the room I reserved, a large King Suite with king bed and queen bed. Instead we were placed in a a smaller King Bed Suite River View Nonsmoking with one bed and a sleeper sofa for four seniors, two doors away from the room requested and confirmed. Then it was implied this was somehow my fault. When one goes to great lengths to acquire and confirm acceptable accommodations, and a unexplained switch like this happens, you never want to do business with people like this again. And I won't. But we did find a lovely hotel in the area of the Holiday Inn Express and Suites we will use in the future.

Read More
Read Less

Great property, but not during COVID

By

August 04, 2020

club

The rooms had comfortable beds, were spacious, with great views. The location was convenient, with easy parking and able to easily get around town. The room had some scratches and marks all over the tub, and the panel on the AC unit was broken, but the room was otherwise in good condition. The issue was with their COVID system. The front desk has a clear screen in front of the staff- except there's a big hole for cards etc to be handed through, and the hole happened to be right in front of my face, and much larger than typical to pass items through, defeating the purpose of the screen. There was only ever 1 person at the front desk, even when a long line formed, and it caused significant crowding at the front door, making it impossible to get through without being near many people. There are chairs in the lobby, and on multiple occasions, people were sitting in the chairs without masks on. Breakfast has around 5 items, and you order them from an attendant to minimize people in there and contact with the food which would be great except a very large family decided to sit at the tables closest to where the attendant was working, and all sat there without their masks on (to eat their food). The pool was supposed to be limited to 12 people max; we checked back around 5 times during our stay to try to get into it, and 3-4 of the times there were closer to 20 people in there, and we never got to use it. It's first-come first-served unlike other hotels allowing people to sign up for usage. No one in the pool area wore masks, and on multiple occasions we tried to get on the elevator but there were too many people and some not wearing masks. The lack of enforcement of the rules seemed to lead to a general environment of too many people just going around without masks or taking precautions. We would return to the hotel only after COVID precautions are no longer needed.

Read More
Read Less

Amazing Staff

By

July 21, 2020

platinumelite

Best hotel in Astoria, the manager is very friendly and helpful, staff and house keepers are great. Rooms are nice and have the best view in town. I’ve stayed at all the hotels in town and this is

Read More
Read Less

Great views+great staff.

By

June 10, 2020

club

We stayed here two nights. We had our dog with us, and we felt at home. Amanda, at the front desk, was very pleasant and accommodating. She called me by name every time she saw me. (Very unusual, in these days). The view from our room was great. I watched the ships pass under the bridge and travel up the Columbia.
Amanda is a great employee and made us feel at home.

Read More
Read Less

Quiet no-hassle stay

By

October 17, 2014

The digital thermostats make all the difference, I didn't have to get up and turn down the Sahara-worthy heat storm that regular hotel heaters with a turn knob produce.

The windows DO have dark curtains - you just have to look behind the day curtains for the shade-providing full draperies. First night that I stayed, I had only the tulle day curtains closed because I thought that since I had an ocean view, they didn't provide the full curtain set, until a person staying on the same floor told me to check behind the two sets of decorative curtains.

Read More
Read Less

I think this was the best Holiday Inn Express

By

October 16, 2014

I have stayed at a lot of IHG properties and I think this has to be the best overall stay that I have ever had. This location in Astoria is just beautiful. The property is well maintained and everything was top notch IHG. Every staff that we encountered we very nice and professional.

Would love to stay there again.

Read More
Read Less

Great suite, wonderful stay.

By

October 16, 2014

Our room was very comfortable and spacious and had a wonderful view of the Astoria bridge and the Columbia river.
The only complaint I have is the breakfast. The english muffins and the regular muffins were very dry. But that is not something that would keep me from going back for another stay.

Read More
Read Less

Beautiful View- Great Hotel

By

October 15, 2014

club

The whole ambiance of the Hotel was lovely. The landscaping, lobby and friendly front desk staff created a perfect first impression. The room was laid out beautifully with all the amenities I would need. The gorgeous view was just icing on the cake. The bed was comfortable with hard and soft pillow options. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Read More
Read Less

Exceeded Expectations! Great Place!

By

October 14, 2014

platinumelite

The HIE in Astoria, OR exceeded my expectations. The hotel staff was very friendly, the guest room was very nice and extremely clean, the bed was comfortable and I slept well, and the view from the room was great. The location is very convenient to many local attractions and restaurants. I would highly recommend this HIE to anyone visiting Astoria, OR.

Read More
Read Less