Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Berkeley

1175 University Avenue , Berkeley, California 94702

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
93%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 135 reviews
93%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

135reviews

  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    5

Great staff; central Berkeley location; free parking

By

July 01, 2021

club

We had a 4-night stay. This is the best value I found in the Oakland / Berkeley area. We had a rental car, so the high cost of parking at other hotels led me here. It was a good choice. Staff is friendly and helpful.

I appreciated that most breakfast items were individually wrapped or single serve. This is a good idea -- even after concerns about COVID are past.

Having a refrigerator in the room was a plus. We could store leftovers. Numerous restaurants are near-by. We enjoyed some treats from Foster Freeze just down the street and great meals at Mexican and Italian restaurants nearby.

Yes, there are persons who don't have a house who live on the streets in Oakland. But I found no reason to be fearful of anyone we passed by. People need to stop being so frightened by "homeless" people.

Read More
Read Less

Better than Expected

By

October 20, 2014

club

This location was a bit far out from San Fran but using BART it wasn't to bad of a day getting to and from downtown San Fran for the DreamForce Convention. Very clean location, roomy and friendly people.

Read More
Read Less

Nice Place but I'm allegic to the bed and pillow

By

October 17, 2014

Looks nice and has a good staff, but due to poor bathroom ventilation, it fired up my allergies.

Read More
Read Less

Good location

By

October 16, 2014

The facility was in a good location to see sights in San Francisco, Oakland and Berkley. Convenient walk to the BART.

Read More
Read Less

A comfortable atmosphere and great location

By

October 16, 2014

club

This was another great stay in the Berkeley area. The bus stop is less than a block away which makes it easy to get anywhere. The staff is very helpful, the breakfast great, housekeeping service perfect, and the hotel was nice and quiet. Just what we needed to give my daughter a break from the dorm for the weekend. We will definitely return!

Read More
Read Less

Good hotel, good bed and good service

By

October 11, 2014

We arrived 4 hours before check-in time, however, we could use the room immediately. Room was good and bed was very good, we slept very well. Staff was friendly and answered all our questions. In relation to the fact that it is an “Express hotel”, the breakfast was good.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Dear RandH, We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and rested comfortably. I hope that we are your choice when you return to Berkeley. Regards, Greg Liversedge General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel

By

October 10, 2014

club

This was by far the best Holiday Inn Express we have stayed in. It was quiet and peaceful. The staff was very helpful. The next time I have to come to Berkeley, I will stay in this Holiday Inn Express.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Dear Older then Dirt, It's great to hear you found our property quiet and peaceful. We look forward to hosting you next time you're in Berkeley. Regards, Greg Liversedge General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Excellent customer service , comfortable room!

By

October 10, 2014

platinumelite

Feels like a home away from home, customer service is consistent .....amazing , staff member Amrita always has a smile and is very professional. The hotel is very clean , the bed is extremely comfortable. The icing to the cake.....leaving with a fresh cup of coffee. Always have a wonderful experience when I stay at the holiday inn express berkely!!!! Home away from home!!!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Dear Lupeb, I'm thrilled to hear you find our property comfortable and our customer service excellent. I will certainly share your comments with our entire staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Greg Liversedge
Read More
Read Less

comfortable and relaxing room

By

October 09, 2014

platinumelite

nice relaxing place. quiet room. upgrade was nice. parking lot clean and good lighting.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Dear r ski, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, during your recent trip to the Bay Area. I'm pleased to hear you found the room quiet and relaxing. I hope that we will see you again soon. Regards, Greg Liversedge General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great staff

By

October 08, 2014

platinumelite

The staff is superior in every manner. I travel a lot and have rarely seen the effort, professionalism and just plain courtesy of a hotel staff. Win stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

UC Berkeley Campus Tour

By

October 03, 2014

Our stay was what one would expect from a Holiday Inn.
I always enjoy the free parking, free wifi, and free breakfast. The front of the Hotel and parking lot needed some cleaning. Leaves and trash were scattered about. Unappealing upon arrival. Staff was friendly and courteous. I would consider this property again when staying in the Bay area.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 06, 2014
Dear MDP619, I appreciate your feedback in regards to your arrival experience. We have recently made investments to improve our parking area and hope that you find it more appealing during your next visit. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Greg Liversedge General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Very good overall

By

September 26, 2014

club

If staying n Berkely then a good choice of Hotel.
Staff curtious, friendly and helpful.
Family room was excellent and spacious.
Breakfast chocie better than I expected.
Location not perfect but happy enough.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 30, 2014
Dear Redrich, I'm pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to hosting you again when you return to Berkeley. Greg Liversedge General Manager
Read More
Read Less