Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Birmingham-Irondale (East)

811 Old Grants Mill Road , Birmingham, Alabama 35210

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
68%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.7

based on 95 reviews
68%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

95reviews

  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    15

Mouse on a sticky trap

By

November 24, 2021

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night. First thing we noticed were the towels having residual mascara on them.
Then we heard squeaking and found a poor mouse suffering on a sticky trap.
We brought it to the front desks attention and they were kind but didn’t offer much help. They just said the manager will be in on Monday and will give me a call. Tuesday rolls around and still no call. I ended up calling corporate and they refunded us thankfully. For more than $100 a night you expect more from a hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Lack of Amenities & Service

By

October 04, 2021

On Saturday 10/2/21, myself and my girlfriend stayed at this property to visit family and my children. We arrived very late to check in around midnight. Let me just start off by saying that every hotel should have some sort of leniency to offer later checkout for those who arrive for late check in, because you don't get you're money's worth, especially when prices are spiked like they were for Talladega Race weekend. We arrive and the front desk lady was rude through the check in process. There was nowhere to park in the paved lot, because they were full, so we parked in the mud and gravel with my new car. We also learned that all elevators were broken and that we were going to have to tote all of our luggage by hand up to the second floor up the stairwell, as well as from our parking we barely found roughly 50ft from the paved lot and building itself. We get up to the room and the air conditioner is barely working, so we report that to the front desk and she claims there's nothing she can do. We go to get ice for our room and the machine on our floor is out of order as well. It was the most miserable night. We would have had better sleep in our vehicle. The lack of hospitality, amenities and pricing above all doesn't match the IHG brand or what the media sites for this hotel advertise. I'm thoroughly disappointed that I spent this much money on such a pathetic place to stay. I would drive further away from where I was staying and deal with a more inconvenienced distance, so we could have a better hotel experience then do this again. Travelers beware...

Read More
Read Less

Unacceptable - Shockingly Bad

By

August 05, 2020

club

We have stayed at this property on 3 previous occasions, so we were shocked at the condition of the property.
1. Upon arrival, greeted by an employee, NOT wearing a mask despite postings in the lobby stating that masks were required in public spaces.
2. A half eaten breakfast "grab bag" and trash was laying on a table when we arrived... still there the next morning.
3. There was a large trail of crumbs down our hallway upon arrival...still there the next morning.
4. There was a huge area of something sticky on the floor of lobby and area near exit in several places, still there the next morning.
5. Several days later they attempted to run our charges through a second time. I had receipt and credit card verification. Their mistake...Manager refused to speak to me.

Read More
Read Less

Beyond Disappointed

By

July 28, 2020

club

We were shocked at how filthy this hotel was. We have stayed at this location before and were very pleased, so we went ahead and booked in spite of reading the poor reviews of late. #1 - the employee who checked us in was not wearing a mask despite signs stating they were required in public places. #2 - A half eaten breakfast grab bag was on a table when we checked in early evening... It was still there the next morning when we left. #3- Crumbs all down the hallway in the evening, still there in the morning. #4 - Sticky stuff in multiple places on the floor in lobby and near exit at the end of our hall. Still there the next morning. #5- People swimming in the pool, although signs said it was closed. They appeared to be employees' family or locals.

Will never stay there again. Have tried to contact IHG to complain. First time, told complaint office was not open yet. Second time, asked for supervisor, put on hold for 10 minutes... then just hung up. Guess they don't care.

Read More
Read Less

Daily, Rude Treatment of 2 Disabled Veterans w/ Service Dogs

By

October 17, 2019

Checked in on 11 Oct. The hotel had been advised that there would be two service animals in our group. We were being hosted, and recognized for public service, at Talladega, by Sugarlands Distilling. April was very pleasant when we checked in.

The morning of 12 Oct, the other Veteran and I were separately informed that we could not have our service dogs in the Breakfast area. The breakfast staff were rude and very unwilling to listen to an explanation of the Americans with Disabilities Act and how it applied to our situation. They kept stating that it was Holiday Inn Policy that absolutely no dogs be allowed in the breakfast area. Then they added that it was the Manager's Policy.

NOTE: NOTE: Each day I placed my service dog at the first table inside the breakfast area, away from the food. He stayed there the entire time; no barking, no jumping around.

We were under the false impression that April, one of the managers, sorted out the issue with her staff to insure they understood that persons with service dogs are permitted the exact same access and treatment as persons without service dogs; so long as the service dog is under the handler's control and not behaving in a disruptive manner. We departed early and spent the day at various functions planned for us.

Sunday Morning was a repeat of Saturday, only worse. The staff member working the breakfast area came by my table several times insisting i leave. He was vocal enough to get the attention of other patrons in the area. A very embarrassing and stressful situation for someone who suffers from PTSD among other ailments.

Next the worker went into a back office for a couple minutes. Then I was approached by a young lady who appeared to be a supervisor. Her name was Rainey. She approached where I was sitting and also told me I had to leave the breakfast area; stating it was due to health regulations, Holiday Inn Express policy, and the Managers Policy. I attempted to politely explain the ADA and its application to Service Animals but she just walked away and went into the area behind the breakfast bar. A few minutes later she returned to my table and informed me I could "sit at that table" and added sarcastically "enjoy your breakfast". this was all being witnessed by the other patrons while those further away continuing to stare at me like I was a criminal. I was so stressed out and under a "spotlight" that I could not begin to enjoy the remainder of my breakfast r even attempt to eat it.

I immediately researched the ADA and State of Alabama policies on Service Animals and attempted to show those policies/laws to Rainey at the check-in counter but she just held up her hand and walkied away.

This was witnessed by Hilde, a new employee, who was apparently very familiar. She told me the Manager, April, was off and would be in first thing Monday morning. She also attempted to explain the ADA to Rainey. It is hard to believe that these encounters were not reported to the Holiday In management, but the fact the rude behavior and exclusion actions by Holiday Inn employees continued, reinforces the employee statements that they were following management policies.

Monday morning there was a different individual working the breakfast area. He came immediately up to me as I was sitting at a table and very loudly "Directed" I put my dog "out there"; pointing outside the breakfast area. Once again, I attempted to politely explain ADA policy on service animals; he held his hand up in my face and walked away.

Cleaning staff in the are were staring at me with hateful looks. Patrons in the area started coming to my table telling me they were aware of the law and I should not leave. Several went to the front desk to complain.

I went to the front desk and asked if April was in. After explaining this latest round of harassment to Hilde. She apologized for what had happened, stated the owner was in, and went to talk with him. I returned to the breakfast area and got a cup of coffee. The breakfast area employee came by again telling me to leave. At this point some patrons came and sat at my table to lend moral support.

Next I was approached by a man who asked my name. I asked if he was the owner and he replied he was the General Manager. I identified myself and he then said he apologized for the actions of the employees.

However, the fact remains that the harassment by the Holiday Inn employees was repeatedly backed up with the statement that it was the managers and owners policy that no service dogs were allowed in the breakfast dining area.

You may think that our Service Dogs were not Legitimate but you check us out at https://vetpuppyforlife.org. These dogs endure multiple assessments throughout their year-long training that include a 1.5 hour assessment and culminates with a 3 hour assessment.

I am a 62 year old 100% disabled veteran. The other Veteran is a Vietnam Purple Heart recipient. We served our country honorable and do not deserve this kind of treatment from anyone. In fact, no one with a legitimate service animal should have to undergo this harassment and public humiliation.

Read More
Read Less

Poor channel selections on TV

By

October 20, 2014

club

I like to watch various cable channels when traveling. They did not have History or Discovery.

They did have 4 HBOs channels. But, HBO showed the same movies / shows over and over.

Not able to rescan TV to see if channels had been updated.

Staff seemed nice and friendly.

Breakfast was generally varied and worth a stop in the morning. Used the mini omelets, turkey sausage and croissants (or bagel) to make my own breakfast sandwich.

Read More
Read Less

Nice hotel

By

October 20, 2014

platinumelite

Stayed one night on my way to North Carolina. Hotel was clean, convenient, and comfortable!

Read More
Read Less

CLEAN ROOM AND GREAT SERVICE

By

October 20, 2014

club

GOOD CLEAN ROOMS AND A GREAT BREAKFAST! BUT I FELT THE ROOM WAS A LITTLE OVER PRICED FOR THE AREA

Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Express never fail me!

By

October 09, 2014

My staff at Holiday inn express was great for my stay in Irondale. It was clean and comfortable for my getaway to AL. I'm always impressed with the customer service given by the staff.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear Ms. Kim, Thank you for your kind feedback about our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to tell us how we did. Thank you for being a Gold member we appreciate your loyalty to the Holiday Inn Express brand. We are happy to have made your stay a comfortable one and hope to see you again when you visit the great city of Birmingham Margarita Colon General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable and serene atmosphere

By

October 08, 2014

club

My overall stay was excellent with the exception of the breakfast menu. I prefer fresh prepared eggs and sausage(cooked throughout the morning), and fresh mixed fruit...but here I was offered processed eggs wrapped in cheese and old over ripened bananas.However, I did enjoy the yogurt and biscuit with gravy, so I was glad I had a selection of food to choose from.

The rooms were very clean and modern/up-to-date and the young man at the front desk clerk was very cheerful and polite when we checked and and checked out. My overall stay was excellent and I will definitely return soon in the upcoming holidays.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 10, 2014
Dear Dell68, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that your stay was excellent and that you enjoyed it. Thank you for being an IHG Gold Member your loyalty to the brand is appreciated. We hope to see you around our neck of the woods on your next visit to the Birmingham Area. Margarita Colon General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Good stop on the road

By

October 07, 2014

club

Easy to access, clean room, quiet. Quick check-in was very helpful for a very late arrival.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 09, 2014
Dear FreyaVT, Thank you for comments. We are elated that your experience was a positive one. Thank you for being an IHG Reward Club Member you feedback is much appreciated. Please visit us again on your next visit to Birmingham. Margarita Colon General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Birmingham stay.

By

October 03, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel. The hotel is currently being renovated and you can hardly tell that work is taking place.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 09, 2014
Dear SWatt315, Thank you for your kind recommendation of our hotel. We are glad that the renovation was not noticeable to you. Thank you for being an IHG Reward Gold Member. Please make sure to visit us next time that you are in the Birmingham Area. Thank you again for your feedback Margarita Colon General Manager
Read More
Read Less