Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport

Port Road Rhoose, Barry , Cardiff, CF62 3BT

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
87%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 215 reviews
87%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

215reviews

  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    8

Great stay with comfortable beds

By

October 18, 2014

club

Overall my stay was excellent and could find no fault with the accommodation, but very disappointed with the breakfast!! hoping to have a cooked breakfast but was informed because it's called Holiday Inn Express the breakfast was only continental.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and your experience on our website. We do offer hot favourites from 6 am which includes sausages, beans and scrambled eggs. We only serve continental breakfast between the hours off 4 am until 6 am. My apologies that that has not been made clear to you when you made the booking or checked in. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Jessica Deputy GM
Read More
Read Less

very early morning breakfast

By

October 17, 2014

club

Having to leave the hotel just after four, we wanted a quick bite to eat, and coffee. the area was lightly barricaded off, so we skirted around it to grab a croissant and coffee.
Knowing the first flights from Cardiff are at 6.ooam, it would have been nice if the cling film etc had been removed and more lights on, however I do realize this was extremely early.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for sharing your comments and giving us 4 stars. Breakfast does not start until 4 am so I am sure the night staff were in process of removing the cling film and switching on the lights. I do hope you have enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Jessica Deputy GM
Read More
Read Less

Good Place

By

October 14, 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Cardiff airport for a few weeks, If there is a problem with the room the staff will tend to it.
There is an evening menu available.

The car park is monitored so make sure you enter your car reg at the reception desk.

The only issue you will have to excuse is the beans,eggs and sausages at 7am could be a bit over cooked/dry because breakfast is serverd at 4am/4.30am due to people leaving early to catch their flights at the airport.

Read More
Read Less

good service

By

October 13, 2014

platinumelite

Karl provided excellent service, rooms are tired and need urgent renovation

Posted byHotelStaff
October 16, 2014
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your comments and your high scores. I am glad that Carl provided you with excellent service and went the extras mile to make your stay comfortable. We are in the process of renovating our rooms during the autumn and winter period so hopefully you will see a difference the next time you are staying with us. Kind Regards, Jessica Deputy GM
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and great service.

By

October 11, 2014

As ticked in all the previous pages are OUR thoughts. We are a married couple 60-65,the survey suggests answers for single person.
We enjoyed our short stay and would return in the future.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 16, 2014
Dear Sir and Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out our online guest survey and for opting in to put it in on our website. I am very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you would return in the future. Kind Regards, Jessica Deputy GM
Read More
Read Less

Terrible bed

By

October 11, 2014

club

So close to the airport so very convenient. Hot food in the evening was tasty and there was a decent choice for the complimentary continental breakfast to. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and everything worked fine (though both the bathroom tap and cistern flush button were very stiff and would be difficult to use easily for anyone with arthritis, say). Unfortunately, we didn't manage to sleep well because the bed was wobbly (I had to tighten the legs) and the mattress was terrible! Shocking for such a well known chain. You could feel the lumpy springs... just felt old and cheap and totally sub-standard. We took the mattress off and slept on the bed base. No apology in the morning when we complained. Unlikely that we will stay here again... There are other choices close by.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 16, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on our website. Would you please be so kind to get back to me under deputy@hiexcardiffairport.co.uk. to let me know in which room number you have stayed in so we can investigate the mattress issue. I am so sorry that nobody apologized to you when you checked out but please be assured that when I get the details of you I will investigate the whole incident. Kind Regards, Jessica Deputy Gm
Read More
Read Less

amazing service

By

October 10, 2014

i highly recommend staying at the holiday inn express at cardiff airport.First class rooms and the most amazing staff.amazing.Will definately stay there again.1st class.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you so much for your kind words and your high scores. I am so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that all facilities and services have been to your satisfaction. Thank you very much for recommending us to family and friends and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards. Jessica Deputy GM
Read More
Read Less

GREAT STAY

By

October 09, 2014

club

WE HAD A GREAT STAY AT THE HOLIDAY IN AT THE AIRPORT.
THE STAFF ARE JUST THE BEST AND MADE US FEEL VERY WECOME INDEED. I CANNOT FAULT THE INN ON OUR STAY. ALSO THE BREAK FAST WAS ALSO VERY GOOD. AS WELL AS OUR EVENING MEAL. ALL IN ALL I GIVE IT A 10 OUT OF 10 FOR EVRYTHING. CANT WAIT TO GO BACK AGAIN.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you so much for your kind words and high scores. I am sure the staff will be thrilled to read your comments. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Jessica Deputy GM
Read More
Read Less

Excellent airport hotel

By

October 09, 2014

platinumelite

A very pleasant brief stay, from check-in to check-out. The hotel is literally a 2 or 3 minute walk from the airport, although the hotel also provides a free shuttle to/from the airport if you prefer. I experienced no noise issues despite being so close to the airport. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was decent, and starts at 4am which is very useful if you have an early flight. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel with frequent buses to Cardiff Bay and Cardiff City centre, which made getting around very easy.

Would definitely stay again!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay on our website. I am very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that all facilities and services have been to your satisfaction. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Jessica Deputy GM
Read More
Read Less

Relaxing

By

October 08, 2014

club

Exceeded our expectations. Efficient, polite and friendly reception staff. Nothing too much trouble. Needed more pillows that was no trouble and then needed more coffee and tea milk etc and was given more immediately. Car parking facilities very easy to follow and accessable.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay here on our website. I am very happy to that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that all facilities and services offered to you have been to your satisfaction. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Jessica Deputy Gm
Read More
Read Less

very overcrowded car park

By

October 08, 2014

club

The hotel is the usual HIE standard, clean , well maintaned, reasonable breakfast, nice little bar open till late and superb frinedly and helpful staff.

The gripe I have and this is my second visit is that the car park gets totaly full very quickly due to airport parking and hotel guests may end up parking at the far ends of the site which is not good at niight or when you arrive with baggage or have a mobility impairment. I came back late and there were no spaces at all and had to park on a corner. The staff were good but are obviously stressed out by the crazy parking situation and numerous complaints.

There are a few disabled spaces but they are usuualy full and there is no visible deterent to stop able bodied drivers using them.

The disabled adapted rooms are good but the fold down shower seats are small cheap plastic ones that I dont think are safe for many of the people who are likely to need to use a shower seat.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience here on our website. I am really sorry that you have experienced issues with the disabled parking space. Unfortunately we do have customers who are leaving their cars in the disabled space while they are going on holidays despite the fact that we are telling them not to. We are informing them face to face and by letter. Regarding the shower seat , we have actually purchased a larger portable seat, which we are waiting for, as it has been brought to our attention previously that the chairs are too small. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Jessica Deputy GM
Read More
Read Less

Overnight stay before flight

By

October 07, 2014

Arrived at the hotel fairly late check in was very quick and helpful. We were told that their would be no room on the free shuttle bust to the airport the next morning as it was already booked up. If we had known I would have called in advance for the service. Room was clean and comfortable was really looking forward to a bath after travelling but the room only had a shower so I was disappointed but the shower was ok. On check out the next morning reception staff were very helpful and apologised for having no space on shuttle bus but the reception staff showed us a shortcut to walk and to be fair it only took us 10 mins to walk and we didn't have much luggage, as it was early hours and the roads were quiet it was fine and easy to get to. Overall I would stay here again but would be aware of booking the shuttle in advance if needed.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear Madam, Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay here on our website. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am terrible sorry that you expected a bath but all of our rooms are equipped with showers. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Jessica Deputy GM
Read More
Read Less