Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Carlsbad Beach

751 Raintree Drive , Carlsbad, California 92011

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
81%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 134 reviews
81%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

134reviews

  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    11

Horrible experience

By

November 06, 2021

I do not recommend this hotel at all. My husband and I arrived and check-in into our first room. The room smelled horrible. We went back to the front desk to inform the receptionist about the room so she ended up changing us to a different room. This second room didn’t smell as bad as the first one but the shower door almost fell on my husband’s head. The conditions are bad people. It really needs a complete makeover. Very dissatisfied.

Read More
Read Less

Not up to Holiday Inn usual high standard.

By

October 14, 2021

I would avoid this hotel if you have other options. At check in the computer systems was not working, however we were given an early check in. The room smelled damp and musty even after we opened the window to air out the room. All the equipment in the workout room was broken. The breakfast as very poorly stocked and lacked variety. Then the toilet stopped up and we were force to use the restroom in the lobby all morning. I will avoid this hotel in the future. You should too.

Read More
Read Less

Room got BROKEN INTO here and ROBBED plus Mold Issues

By

August 02, 2021

We were broken into here on July 31st and had multiple electronic items (thousands of dollars worth) stolen from us. The hotel room doors are not secure and can easily be popped open by sliding something between the big gap between the door and frame. Our neighbor across the hall also had the same issue with the door lock and came up from dinner to her door open and unlocked but luckily nothing was of value in their room at the time so nothing was taken. The room doors are never secure so be sure to always carry all your valuables with you at all times and don’t leave anything in the room. The hotel staff and even manager, did not care one bit that the doors can be broken into that easily and are unsecure as well as they were also not surprised by this information so be very aware. Almost seems like an “inside job” to us. We had thousands of dollars stolen in electronics from our room and the staff and manager acted as if it was no big deal and they just said that there was nothing they could really do to help us. So we checked out a day early since we now felt unsafe in our own hotel room. At check out, we were charged the full price and not even given a discount or free night or anything like that for everything we went thru. We did file a police report but I hope the hotel is held accountable for their negligence.
To top it off the hotel has an active mold issue in many of the bathrooms, visible mold along with a pungent mold odor. The carpets are filthy in the halls and in the rooms.

So overall this was the worst hotel stay of our life and we strongly recommend never staying here unless you want to get robbed, deal with a health issue from active mold or be treated poorly.

Read More
Read Less

poor management

By

July 27, 2021

I checked into this hotel with Sarah on the night of July 07 with the intention of staying for six nights. Later that same night, the TV remote in the room was inoperable; when I asked Sarah for a new one, she informed me that because of new management there was no handyman or maintenance man available so they couldn't replace the remote. She did, however, reach into the drawer and replace the batteries. On July 09, I was notified that the hotel staff was going to clean out my room because I was over the checkout time; But I notified Sarah upon checking in that I wanted to stay six nights (07/07-12) which wasn't conveyed or understood by Sarah. During the stay there, I dealt with James, Sarah, and Trent... all the front-end "managers" stated that due to new "management" the hotel staff was understaffed, not prepared, or generally didn't care about the guests. I had to repeatedly ask for new towels, pool towels, turn-in services, etc. Having stayed at that location before, and being an IHG Rewards member, I was disappointed with my stay and will have reservations about going back to this location in the future.

Read More
Read Less

DON'T STAY HERE!!!

By

April 20, 2021

platinumelite

I have always stayed at Holiday Inn hotels because I trusted the quality and standard they provide. This hotel was so disgusting!! Worse hotel i have ever stayed at. The window tracks had about 1/4 inch of mold that was growing up the window. and the windows were covered in mud. The room smelled terrible, the furniture was full of stains and the coffee table looked like something you would pick up on the side of the road. The carpet was also filthy! I asked for another room and they gave me a key to go check it out and it was just as bad. When I spoke with the front desk person he told me he had someone else there yesterday taking pictures of how bad it was. I also took pictures and am going to contact Holiday Inn main office and file a complaint with them. They need to know this Hotel should not be representing their name!!

Read More
Read Less

Nice room, friendly staff!

By

February 19, 2021

I checked in at about 7pm and Brad was especially helpful with getting me checked in and settled in my room. The service was above and beyond what I expected. Thank you Brad!

Read More
Read Less

wingsangel

By

September 12, 2019

there was a problem with the bathroom shower! there was black on the caulking and the shower door kept coming off runner
first survey they deleted what we said wrong with hotel

Read More
Read Less

Carlsbad stay

By

August 11, 2019

club

I usually expect a quality stay at Holiday Inns but this last stay was awful. The room smelled really bad. We think it was from the air conditioner so we tried not to have it going a lot which made for an uncomfortable temp. The hallways were gross and needed a vacuum. I didn't feel it was entirely clean in our room including the headboards which were covered in dust and dirt.
The breakfast was good though. The only positive was that it was next to a Benihana which appears is to have a superb dinner.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable and quiet

By

October 21, 2014

platinumelite

Great location and really impressive staff. I highly recommend this HIE.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent Value

By

October 16, 2014

club

What a great place to stay, for couples or families. Close to everything. The beach was a short walk and we loved the shopping nearby.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Tingles- We want to thank you for staying with us while visiting Carlsbad during your trip from our neighbor to the north. We are delighted that we met and exceeded expectations and that you and yours had a wonderful stay! Our location provides guests a chance to walk to the beach, shop at unique boutiques & high-end stores, and dine at restaurants serving varied cuisines. Within the hotel, we hope you enjoyed the complimentary Express Start breakfast and enjoyed all the free amenities we have to offer. Next time you visit San Diego, we hope you select us again!
Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

October 14, 2014

club

Great location near the beach and LEGOLAND... clean, breakfast was good.. choices for the kids.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 16, 2014
acer2323- Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we able to provide a great value with our Express Start breakfast to you and your family. As you know, with LEGOLAND just a short 5 minute drive away and the beach within walking distance, our location makes for a great base for your exploration of Carlsbad. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon!
Read More
Read Less

great location - new property

By

October 10, 2014

platinumelite

great place.

This hotel is located close to the beach and "the village" which offer several great restaurant.
The traffic between the hotel and SAN was much better than I anticipated. it all worked for me and I will stay at this location on my next visit to Carlsbad.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Ralph1974- Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our favorable location near the beach, the freeway, and to the Village, where numerous dining options await our guests. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to making your next stay with us as memorable as your past stay!
Read More
Read Less