Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown

440 W. Martin Luther King Blvd. , Chattanooga, 37402

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
91%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 167 reviews
91%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

167reviews

  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7

Bed of Rock and Dirty room

By

April 27, 2021

club

This stay alone made me never want to be in an IHG hotel again. We couldn't wait to get home because the beds were hard as a rock. There were ants crawling on our breakfast table, the hand sanitizer by the elevator was empty all three days we were there, there was enough hair in our shower to made a wig - and the housekeeper "cleaned" it by dusting it from the toiletry bottles onto the sides and basin of the tub. They aren't cleaning rooms daily, which is fine - but if you want clean towels amd washclothes, you have to bring the dirty ones to the front desk to exchange. They wouldn't even give us one washcloth to start the toddler's bath until we went up, and got one to exchange. Felt like we were in a roadside, dirty motel. We had to switch rooms 2 days in because of ants taking over by the air conditioner and we were moved to a room with dirty tissues and an empty water bottle under the sofa bed, brown oily spots on the bathroom ceiling after taking a shower, and lids from drinks we never had under the side table.
Is this IHG's Clean Promise? There was never even an apology, we were made to feel like somehow we just shouldn't be complaining, especially about the hair. An email to the property after was answered by saying, "Stay with us again and let us show you this was an exception." My whole family ended up with strep a few days after this trip and I have to wonder if it was due to the unclean conditions of this property. I will never stay there again and because of the response, I will avoid IHG hotels in the future as well.

Read More
Read Less

Renovations were not a problem...

By

July 22, 2019

We needed a one-night stay to finish up our trip to the Chattanooga area. We have always enjoyed our stays with Holiday Inn Express, and this one was close to where we needed to be, so we booked the night. I had read reviews complaining of all the renovations that were ongoing and how many guests were not recommending this location, but we decided to stay anyway. The renovation appears to be in the last stages, but did not present any difficulties to our stay at all. The check-in desk was complete and updated. The young lady serving check-ins was very friendly and gave us an update on what we might experience due to the renovations. Our room appeared to have been completely remodled...really loved the lighting arrangements...beds were great...everything smelled new. They aren't completely finished yet...the main thing you would notice is the lounge/breakfast area when you enter the hotel...still a work in progress, but you can see it will not be long. In the meantime all the breakfast items had been relocated into the Business Meeting Room. The breakfast was fine and the hostess was extremely friendly, The only small negative was that the room was a little smaller than what the updated breakfast area will be...felt a bit tight.
It's going to be a great location when the final touches are in place...we would come back without hesitation.

Read More
Read Less

Everything was good

By

October 17, 2014

club

Everything was good in line with the class of the hotel. One exception, The radio was plugged into the receptical controlled by the wall switch at the entrance thus the wall lights and radio and clock would go off when one left the room. If you reversed it the radio would stay on and the bed side light would activate from the wall switch. but if you wanted to turn the bed side light off the wall lights would stay on.

Read More
Read Less

Great Time

By

October 16, 2014

Great Hotel, everything was wonderful, pool, breakfast,

Read More
Read Less

Excellent Property

By

October 15, 2014

platinumelite

Outstanding staff, clean and tidy hotel, and accomodating to personal needs. I highly recommend this hotel in Chattanooga.

Read More
Read Less

Great Location

By

October 10, 2014

platinumelite

I love the area, butt the room was a bit expensive.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the 5 STAR REVIEW! We do have a great location. Please stay with us again the next time you're in Chattanooga. Mike W. General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and great service

By

October 10, 2014

club

Great stay... Good breakfest. Located very nicely downtown in Chattanooga. I recommend the hotel

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words Mrs. Houston is one fine cook, and she's always smiling which always brightens up breakfast. I love our location too. Mike W. General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great location, awesome staff, quiet room

By

October 10, 2014

club

I highly recommend this hotel. It is not in the hussle and bustle of downtown, but it is just a few blocks away from downtown -- perhaps a 10-15 minute stroll. The hotel looks new or recently refreshed. The hotel and grounds were very clean. Very nice property with plenty of parking around back in a fairly secure lot that is well lit. Everything was ready for us at check-in and our was great, - very clean and just as we reserved. We asked about going downtown for dinner and the front desk was helpful with suggestions and offered information about weekend activities and parking suggestions. The breakfast bar was well stocked, well laid out, had plenty of coffee, and even had some gluten free offerings available. Our stay was nice and quiet - I think that perhaps the hotel was sold out Saturday night, but the hotel remained quiet and we were able to get a great sleep on both nights we stayed.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Thanks for the 5 STAR Review! Spent a weekend in Holly Springs. There was this restaurant called The Little Hen, great place, nice people. Thanks for your kind comments about our hotel and the staff. We really appreciate it. The healthy options at breakfast is something new – thanks for noticing! We're proud of Chattanooga and do our best to be great ambassadors. Mike W. General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and great service

By

October 09, 2014

club

Even the night front desk attendants would replenish the coffee pots. The only minor issue were the pillows on the bed. Most were too soft and would not stay fluffed. The bed itself was very comfortable.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Thank you for the 5 STAR REVIEW! We take our coffee seriously in Chattanooga. Our particular property uses the same coffee company that roasts the beans for a famous donut company that likes to dunk their donuts. Good stuff. Please visit us again the next time you're in Chattanooga, Mike W. General Manager
Read More
Read Less

good

By

October 07, 2014

club

overall a good stay - perhaps it is the southern hospitality - but the stay here felt better than in buffalo NY.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Thank you for the great review. Southern hospitality . . . we try our best. Please visit next time you visit the Scenic City. Mike W. General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great location for UTC campus visit

By

October 05, 2014

platinumelite

This hotel is close to the UTC campus, but not within walking distance of the riverfront restaurants. Common areas

Posted byHotelStaff
October 09, 2014
Thank you. As the preferred hotel for people visiting UTC and as a UTC alumni, a 5 STAR Review is always good news! And we are close to UTC, just take MLK to Douglas, take a left and there you are. Next time you're looking for a Hotel in Chattanooga, stay with us again. We're close to all kinds of places. Mike W. General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Clean Hotel with a great staff

By

October 03, 2014

club

This hotel was one of the cleanest and most well maintained hotels I've ever stayed at. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the bathroom was clean and well supplied. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was outstanding.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 09, 2014
Thank you for you kind comments about the staff. If you hire the right people everything else falls in place. We're big believers in hiring happy outgoing people and supporting them with lots of training, after all, its a people business. Mike W. General Manager
Read More
Read Less