Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chesapeake

2436 Gum Road , Chesapeake, Virginia 23321

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
71%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.6

based on 132 reviews
71%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

132reviews

  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    22

Filthy and had to leave

By

July 26, 2020

We booked this hotel for a 3 day stay while my husband was working in the area, our bathroom was so dirty we didn’t end up staying and left to go find a different hotel. There was Dirt and hair all over The floor and there was hair all over the “clean” towels. It was so gross we couldn’t even stay! The back of the toilet was gross and didn’t even look like it was put together the right way.

Read More
Read Less

Dirty Room

By

July 07, 2020

When checking in I should have been told the pool was closed and that there was no breakfast. I dont consider a whie bag with an orange juice and granola bar breakfast. The room had not been cleaned when I arrived. There were cheese its all around the couch. The night stand was sticky where something had been spilled. The air conditioner leaked on the floor so I could not walk on half the floor. This place was more like staying home cleaning up after other people.

Read More
Read Less

Not Your Normal Holiday Inn

By

August 12, 2019

club

Looks more like an Americas Best Value Inn Do not stay

Read More
Read Less

Nice place

By

October 07, 2014

club

It's a good Holiday Inn Express. The hotel was clean, the room was comfortable, and breakfast was tasty.

I wasn't a fan of the wall AC unit in my room. It needed to be on all the time, so even on its low setting it felt breezy as I was sleeping. This didn't hurt my sleep terribly though, so it wasn't a big deal.

Read More
Read Less

Wonderful stay

By

September 30, 2014

club

I was so grateful to find an available Holiday Inn Express near the location we were visiting. My husband and myself have been traveling more in the last few months and have found that we prefer the Holiday Inn locations over any other. They are now the first place we try when out or when making reservations.

Read More
Read Less

Great Location, Great Staff

By

September 29, 2014

platinumelite

Perfect for any reason. Grounds are quiet and clean.
Room was perfect
Matress was perfect
No complaints
Would highly recommend this property

Read More
Read Less

Whole in wall under the sink

By

September 24, 2014

club

Just an FYI....The hotel had obviously had a previous issue with the sink plumbing. There was a approx. 2 foot x 2 foot hole in the wall under the sink area. Suggest you complete repairs before renting the room.

Also, the tube needed to be re-finished. Rust spot around drain.

Read More
Read Less

Exceptional Hotel and Staff

By

September 17, 2014

club

The Holiday Inn Express experience is one of the best I have had in recent years. I have traveled extensively over the last 20 years and have stayed at most major brand hotels. Albeit, a five star hotel will give a five star experience, the overall experience at the Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake is unparalleled, including other HIE hotels, The difference and the x factor is the the attentive staff. From the Christine and property manager Shashi to front desk personnel, Whitney, Dru and Monica to other staff Sabrina and Britney, the staff is wonderful! They should be commended and are an asset to your organization!

Read More
Read Less

Good Price, good service, needs updating

By

September 17, 2014

club

The price was right, the room was not. For a Holiday Inn I expected more. Very outdated and in need of repairs. The hot tub had buttons missing, and the cold and hot water were reversed. TV stand was broken so I had to be careful tilting it or turning it. Furniture and carpet were in need of a deep cleaning. However, the bed was immaculate and linens clean and fresh. Slept very well. Food was good and had a nice selection. The fresh baked cinnamon rolls were great. Coffee adequate. Front desk service was friendly and helpful. Not sure if I would stay here again unless I had no other choice or they were recently remodeled.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 19, 2014
Dear cmh6652, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Member and being loyal to our brand. We appreciate you writing a review about your stay with us. We will be under going our renovations started in the 4th quarter of this year! We hope the next time you are in the Chesapeake area you will come stay with us again. Safe travels! Best Regards, Christy Morgan General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great peopleare employed here.

By

September 08, 2014

Great place to stay and relax. Nice people, clean rooms, good breakfast. Easy check in and check out.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 19, 2014
Dear Jo/Ja, First, I would like to thank you for being a GOLD IHG Rewards Club Member and being loyal to our brand. Secondly, thank you for the 5 star review of your recent stay with us. We try to ensure that each guest has a memorable stay with us. We hope that when you travel back to the Chesapeake area we will be your choice of stay. Safe travels. Sincerely, Christy Morgan General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Service

By

September 06, 2014

club

Everyone was friendly and attentive. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were nice.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 19, 2014
Dear nd2919, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Member and being loyal to our brand. Thank you for the 5 star review about your stay with us while you visited the Chesapeake area. We look forward to your next stay with us. Safe travels. Sincerely, Christy Morgan General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed but rooms need more attention

By

September 06, 2014

club

I have been staying at this location every time I visit the Hampton Roads area for over 3 years now. The staff is always pleasant and the beds are always comfortable. There are, though, little things that are causing me to consider a change. During my most recent visit, someone had removed the screws from the silver circular backing in the shower and it was hanging off when I checked into my room. To add to that, I had to wait for an additional towel because they were drying them. There have been other little things during previous visits and little things start to add up. Oh, and I received absolutely NO recognition as an IHG Rewards member for the second time in a row.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 19, 2014
Dear AndiiCCY12, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Member and being loyal to our brand. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I have addressed with maintenance, housekeeping and front desk your concerns and I can assure you that they have been corrected. Please feel free to call me at the hotel to talk in more detail about your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us. Safe travels. Respectfully, Christy Morgan General Manager
Read More
Read Less