Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

The Racecourse New Crane Street , Chester, CH1 2LY

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 341 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

341reviews

  • 5 Stars
    140
  • 4 Stars
    126
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    11

Great location, good breakfast.

By

October 19, 2014

club

Have previously stayed at this hotel. Great location for Chester town centre. Free parking and good breakfast make it a good choice.
Only negative was the fact the mattress was very soft and in need of replacement.

Read More
Read Less

Visit to Chester Racecourse Hotel

By

October 17, 2014

club

This hotel is fine for a short stay.
The only down fall for us was the continental breakfast.
Plenty of eating places in Chester if you would like a traditional English breakfast.
We will visit the racecourse hotel again.

Read More
Read Less

More than adequate for my particular needs

By

October 16, 2014

club

Over-all I was very happy with the room. This year I was able to have a room overlooking the racecourse which was infinitely better than being above the road. Staff were pleasant and the food (breakfast) was adequate and substantial (slightly over cooked sausages).

Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Chester racecourse

By

October 16, 2014

Nice clean hotel, good value and location.

Breakfast was a little disappointing though.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

October 15, 2014

club

Great clean comfortable hotel very close to city centre

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable Hotel with great location

By

October 13, 2014

Hotel is very central in Chester, with friendly staff and modern appearance. Wi Fi was also good and allowed me to work from room and bar area. Would stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Road noise , unable to sleep

By

October 12, 2014

A very disappointing stay, we were unable to sleep as the noise from the adjacent road could be heard all night long. As we had been told the hotel was full we didn't complain until the next morning only to be told we should have said something to the night receptionist. Very dissatisfied with the manager's response to our complaint.

Posted byCustomerCare
October 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We always strive to provide great service to all of our guests. However, on this occasion, we apologize your stay was negatively affected by the accommodations and noise levels encountered. We would like to address this further and have sent you a private message. Sincerely, Zelyn N Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

Lower Standards

By

October 10, 2014

club

Disappointed as standards seem to have slipped at Chester. We often stay at Holiday Inns Express, but this is the first time that I have not been entirely satisfied.My complaints may seem trivial but they add up. For example, the room had not been cleaned too well, water did not drain properly from the sink,Wi-fi did not work in the bedroom although it did work in the lounge, the heating hardly worked.

Posted byCustomerCare
October 21, 2014
Dear Barnkeeper, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered on some aspects of your stay. Please note that your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We sincerely hope that the next time you are in Chester you will give our hotel another try. Sincerely, Karen G. Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

Lovely room overlooking the racecourse.

By

October 10, 2014

I enjoyed 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Express Chester and would most certainly go back again. Lovely relaxed atmosphere, very friendlly staff and all round an ideal spot for visiting Chester.Breakfasts were good although I would have liked some bacon instead of sausage but there was plenty of other choices.

Read More
Read Less

Great place to stay in great location

By

October 09, 2014

club

A lovely clean hotel - had all the facilities needed for an over night stay. Ideal location for walking into the centre of Chester and great that you had parking for the car. We would look to stay in this hotel again. Only point was we asked for a family room with a cot for our daughter - we were provided with a toddler bed for her- next time we stay we may bring our own travel cot to avoid her getting in and out of the toddler bed as she is not yet in a bed at home- just a minor point though as she did manage to sleep in the toddler bed once she had got used to it.

Read More
Read Less

Highly rated

By

October 09, 2014

wonderful stay
We had a lovely stay here. The room was clean and very comfortable with a really nice ensuite with excellent shower. We overlooked the racecourse so it was quiet. All the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and had a relaxed atmosphere. It is only a five to ten minute walk to the centre of Chester depending on pace and we liked the fact that we could park at the hotel. There is also free wifi in your room as well as tea and coffee making facilities. We would have no hesitation about staying there again and in fact plan to do so in a month or so. If you want a nice relaxing comfortable informal and friendly place to stay with a competative price, then this is the one for you. We will now make this our destination hotel everytime we visit chester.

Read More
Read Less

Staff were very nice, rooms were looking tired and housekeeping was poor

By

October 09, 2014

platinumelite

The staff and atmosphere was great, however, housekeeping let them down and the room décor is looking a little tired.
My specific concern was the dust on the fan in my room and at the breakfast room looking out of the window there was 2 large spider webs which looked like they hadn't been cleaned for weeks.

Posted byCustomerCare
October 19, 2014
Dear Mark1120, Thank you for sharing your experience online. We are glad to read that you were satisfied with the location and found the staff nice. On the other hand, we are very sorry for any inconvenience or discomfort due to the overall cleanliness and condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from valued guests, like you, enables us to monitor and continually improve the quality of our products and services. We would definitely love to have you back and provide the excellent accommodations you were expecting. Kind Regards, Tracy V. Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less