Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Costa Mesa

2070 Newport Boulevard , Costa Mesa, California 92627

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 145 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

145reviews

  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    5

Safety hazards for guests

By

September 15, 2020

club

My daughter and I stayed here a couple of days for rest and relaxation from the heat. As we were returning from the beach on day 2 of our stay, we were shocked to find a caravan of guests in cars scurrying the parking lot in desperate search of a parking space. Very small lot, but wasn't that hectic earlier, so I asked my daughter to pull over as best as she can and I went to investigate. The lady at the front desk, Liz, advised me that they had an "event" going on in their banquette room and there was nothing she could do. She advised me we had to wait 20-30 minutes and event should be over by then. What??? we were just arriving back, along with 12-15 other guest, and we were hot, tired and hungry from a long day at the beach. Its 9:30 pm and I have to wait for parking? Tacky place, she never apologized. In the meantime my daughter was getting verbally assaulted outside by a guest who had arrived drunk and was angry because he too couldn't find a parking space! When I got home, I spoke with the manager Mr. "Gone zalez" who had absolutely no sympathy for our inconvenience. The hotel manager should have been immediately contacted when this happened. He said he was aware, but unable to do anything about it. Shame, never have had such a poor experience. I love the Holiday inn Express hotels, they are normally my favorite. We won't be returning to this one ever.

Read More
Read Less

Outstanding Hotel and Staff

By

October 18, 2014

platinumelite

Had a very pleasant stay at this recently upgraded hotel. I wish every Holiday Inn Express employed an employee like Tyler at the front desk! Tyler did an outstanding job, and he was prompt, friendly and courteous. It was an absolute delight to interact with this fine young man!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear USA Visitor1, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience. We also would like send our utmost gratitude towards you for staying with us as well! You were a real treat : ) And I appreciate the kudos, sir! : ) Myself, along with everyone else here are all about the Guests. You guys are our #1 Priority and we live by this motto each & every day. If you are ever in the area again we'd love the opportunity to welcome you back : ) I hope you're having a beautiful week! -Tyler Parkyn, Guest Service Agent
Read More
Read Less

Great Location, Cost, Room

By

October 15, 2014

platinumelite

Excellent location for a hotel, very convenient to my business needs; the cost was exactly what I wanted to pay to stay in the area - the room allowed me to work when I was not on-site, being both quiet and sufficiently equipped for my needs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stay in the area.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear dmuma, We here would like to thank you very much for the positive review and also for taking the time to leave one as well. It was a great pleasure having you stay with us! And please do not hesitate to call us at any time if you want to book with us for we would love to have you sojourn again : ) I hope you're having a great week! -Tyler Parkyn, Guest Service Agent
Read More
Read Less

consistent care

By

October 11, 2014

This location has become my home away from home. It is close to my Irvine Home Office, parking is easy and rates very competitive. Beyond logistics, my loyalty is driven by the friendly staff and consistently excellent operations.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Dear Charmore, First off, thank you very much for the positive review : ) and we send our utmost gratitude for not just the kudos for our staff but for staying with us as well : ) I hope you having a great week! -Tyler Parkyn, Guest Service Agent
Read More
Read Less

Good value, very good location

By

October 10, 2014

club

I have been to this particular HIE before the remodel started, during the remodel, and now this was my first visit after completion. The lobby was certainly an improvement from a card table in a hallway. Staff was very friendly. The rooms were clean and (obviously) have been recently updated. Breakfast is OK. There is enough variety that if you are just looking for something simple you are good to go. Certainly a step above Tang and powdered sugar donuts. My only issue is the parking, there just isn't enough. The front desk told me they would be going to rear view mirror hangers as some of the cars that park there are from one of the two neighboring businesses. I will see the next time I visit. And if I am staying in the area I will visit this HIE.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Dear LAsports, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We really do value the elucidation from our guests for it benefits us to stay updated on what we can improve on to achieve guest satisfaction. But more importantly thank you for staying with us yet again! During the times you have been staying and witnessing our progress in the new look of our hotel - we greatly appreciate you guys deciding to sojourn once again : ) It has been a lot of "fun" (one would say) during our past renovation and even more fun that we have now been completed since April of '14. We're very glad you guys got to see our new look. Thank you again for the review and I hope you guys are having a great week! -Tyler Parkyn, Guest Service Agent
Read More
Read Less

clean hotel, good food

By

October 09, 2014

club

Only problem no mat for shower, tub floor slippery

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Dear james the one, We appreciate you taking the time to provide some feedback : ) We do have bathmats upon request if any guest does need one. Thanks again for staying with us! -Tyler Parkyn, Guest Service Agent
Read More
Read Less

Great Service

By

September 19, 2014

club

Staff fast and friendly, met me outside in the parking lot. Met all my request.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 23, 2014
Dear AHH3, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Much obliged for staying as well : ) I hope you're having a fantastic week and thanks again for the review! -Tyler Parkyn, Guest Service Agent
Read More
Read Less

Outstanding Staff, Very Comfortable Accommodations

By

September 19, 2014

I was greeted by a very professional front desk check-in staff. Check in was fast, check out the same! Found the room very comfortable and clean. Bed very comfortable including the pillows. Breakfast the next day was just a plus. My stay was short as I was there for just one nite for a funeral the next day in Newport Beach. I would definitely recommend this HI INN and I will return. Overall I would rate my stay a 9 .

Posted byHotelStaff
September 23, 2014
Dear linda4762, Thank you very much for the positive review : ) and thank you also for sojourning with us as well, you were a real delight : ) We are very pleased to hear that your stay went well during your visit to Newport Beach. I hope all is well and if you are ever in the area we'd love to have you stay again, for you are most welcome : ) Thanks again for the review! -Tyler Parkyn, Guest Service Agent
Read More
Read Less

poor entrance

By

September 13, 2014

club

I arrived around midnight. I had to call the front desk to meet me at the front door It took me over 15 min to find the hotel entrance. There was a large trailer parked in front of the hotel entrance and blocked view of the door. The front desk asked us to park at the garage while there was an empty space close to the entrance. The room was not completely ready. There was a bloody smear on the toilet seat. The bathtub appeared old and the caulk was very dirty.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 17, 2014
Dear hamberger, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize for any & all inconveniences that occurred during your recent stay. Please give us a call if you have any other further questions or concerns 949-631-6000. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope you're having a great week : ) -Tyler Parkyn, Guest Service Agent.
Read More
Read Less

comfortable bed, clean, cozy

By

September 13, 2014

club

Hotel was clean overall. The room was large and comfortable. Only complaint is that they were painting the stairwells so the smell throughout the entire hotel was awful! It was very strong and overpowering.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 17, 2014
Dear hmor705, Let me begin by thanking you for staying with us recently here at the Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa. We are so very glad to hear that you've enjoyed our rooms : ) Also thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience, in particular with our newly painted stairwell. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the smell that occurred in the duration of your stay. Please know that our stairwell has been completed with the new color & look. If you are ever in the area we would love the opportunity to welcome you back again, and maybe you can take a gander at our new stairwell : ) Thanks again for the review. I hope you're having a great week! -Tyler Parkyn, Guest Service Agent
Read More
Read Less

clean, great service

By

September 11, 2014

club

room was clean but beds and pillows were uncomfortable

Posted byHotelStaff
September 17, 2014
Dear Perry4, Thank you very much for the review! We appreciate you for not just staying with us but also for taking the time to write a review : ) -Tyler Parkyn, Guest Service Agent
Read More
Read Less

Excellent stay & staff!!!

By

September 10, 2014

I stayed recently at the hotel and was very impressed with renovations that I've heard and read about. They have a new pool & new fitness center which I used both and were really great. The staff is very friendly & polite and super professional, Tyler, Donnette and Frankie deserve big kudos for providing superb customer service. The rooms were excellent very clean and quiet which I love! rooms very spacious. At check in I asked about local restaurants and the young gentleman at the desk referred the triangle square plaza and it was a great suggestion. They have many restaurants, I got to try one and they have a movie theater and caught a flick after dinner. Breakfast was delicious and THE perfect way to start the day esp with the b-fast staff with Maria (I think her name is) she was such a sweetheart. I asked for extra towels and housekeeping provided quickly with such big smiles. Will come back to stay on business very soon and I will definitely come back again.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 17, 2014
Dear Anonymous, Thank you very much for the 5 Star Review and taking the time to share your experience! We very much appreciate you staying with us recently, you were very delightful I might add : ) Our utmost gratitude is extending towards yourself for the kudos to our staff, I will be sure to pass this down to all staff members. If you are ever in the area or looking to book with us again please give us a call at any time and we'd be more than happy to set you up & welcome you back again : ) Thanks again for the positive review! I hope you're having a great week. -Tyler Parkyn, Guest Service Agent
Read More
Read Less