Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
96%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 271 reviews
96%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

271reviews

  • 5 Stars
    166
  • 4 Stars
    80
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4

Great Service yet again

By

October 21, 2014

club

Second break this year at the hotel,. Could not ask for better service.

Only real comment is please change your sausage supplier.

Read More
Read Less

Friendly helpful staff and comfortable room

By

October 18, 2014

club

Staff were really helpful and friendly and allowed us to check in early which was a big bonus. We could also store our cases on the day of departure.
The bed was very comfortable and extra pillows were provided on our request.
It would have been nice if bacon could have been provided at breakfast but i appreciate it is an Express Style Hotel and this breakfast is standard in the chain.
The breakfast options are not ideal for someone following a gluten free diet.
There was a shower with whilst not being a "power shower" was nice and warm.
We didn't notice any noise at night as the hotel seems to be in a quiet position but near to all that Edinburgh has to offer.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear Newton06 Thank you for your great comments about your recent stay with us and our quiet central location. It is lovely to hear that you appreciated the free early check in and baggage storage to make the most of your sightseeing time. We are more than happy to provide additional gluten free breakfast items for the buffet, just let us know in advance or on arrival the next time you are in Edinburgh. Thank you
Read More
Read Less

Efficient hotel in heart of Edinburgh

By

October 18, 2014

club

We stayed 5 nights for a sight seeing holiday in Edinburgh.Hotel ideally situated for this being just behind the Royal Mile. We came by train, a 10 minute walk from the station. Staff welcoming although outside of hotel spoilt by inevitable litter and cigarette butts..Clean functional room and bathroom, very quiet. However for the price of the room would have expected more exciting hot drinks tray and some toiletries provided in the bathroom over and above a simple hand/bath soap dispenser. Breakfast was self service on trays provided in a canteen described as The Great Room - adequate but unexciting, the fresh fruit being scarcely edible and bread rolls stale.The Great Room was very busy at the weekend but staff excellent at clearing tables quickly.Fine for a budget hotel but would have expected better for the price we were paying.
All in all a good experience apart from the price!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear Lizzie T Thank you for your valuable feedback which we appreciate to improve the facilities that we offer. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are glad that our quiet central location was ideal for seeing the city.
Read More
Read Less

faultless

By

October 16, 2014

excellent appointed hotel, cannot fault it in any way. location is perfect for the Royal Mile and near to Waverley station

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear geffers71 Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile. Faultless is high praise indeed and I'm glad that our location in the heart of the Old Town, 10 minutes walk from the station, was ideal for your visit to Edinburgh. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Read More
Read Less

Family room for four people

By

October 16, 2014

club

We had a nice three days in The Holiday Inn Express in Edinburgh, this was our second stay this year. The two kids slept in the same double bed (in our room) but they were happy with that.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast can be very busy if you leave it too late.
Available TV channels are very few and the quality of the sound is very poor making it difficult to hear properly at times. There is no TV program guide - it is a very old-fashioned system (kids notice these things).
Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear David_001 Thank you for returning to stay with us once more and for taking the time to post a wonderful 5 star review. I am glad you found your stay with us pleasant and comfortable and that our facilities, staff and location made your stay in Edinburgh an enjoyable experience. We hope to see you again for a third trip to Edinburgh!
Read More
Read Less

Great value comfortable hotel in good location

By

October 15, 2014

I would thoroughly recommend the Holiday Inn Royal Mile to anyone looking to stay for 1-3 nights in Edinburgh, it served as an excellent base and the room was clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was reasonably varied (toast, cereals, yoghurts, fruit, some cooked items such as eggs and sausages).
The lift was a little slow so be prepared to take the stairs, but as it's not a super high storey hotel, this shouldn't cause concern.
Friendly staff on reception, not so evident at breakfast (busy!).
Overall, a good experience and it earned me more IHG reward points!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 17, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast - our breakfast team work tirelessly ensuring tables are cleared and the buffet stocked and they do so with a smile! I hope to welcome you back soon so you can continue earning more reward points.
Read More
Read Less

Great location and good service.

By

October 10, 2014

Great location i the Old Town. Most of the attractions, shopping and restaurants/pubs is just a short walk from the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The guest-rooms are nice. Great offer for families with children, who sleeps for free in the parent's room. We would appreciate a little bit more healthy breakfast including vegetables and dark bread.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile. I am glad you found that our location put you at the centre of the sights and attractions that Edinburgh has to offer and that your family enjoyed their trip. Our Express Start breakfast offers a wide range which covers a broad range of tastes and I hope you enjoyed the popular choices we offer. I am also pleased that our team was able to assist your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Read More
Read Less

Exactly what I needed

By

October 08, 2014

I was looking for a very comfortable and conveniently located hotel in Edinburgh. After reading numerous reviews online, I settled on the Holiday Inn and I'm very glad I did. With a Holiday Inn you know what to expect, which is comfort, cleanliness and a buffet breakfast. The location was perfect, not exactly on the Royal Mile but one street down from it, so less noise and bustle, but a 2 minute walk away from the Royal Mile and a 10 minute walk from the Waverly Train Station. We stayed in a room with a double bed and a sofa bed, and while the sofa bed wasn't uncomfortable my any means I did wish the mattress was a bit thicker (but I can honestly say I slept on it for 4 nights with no complaints). If I come back, I'm definitely staying here again.

As a side note, the Pizza in the snack menu offered in the lobby is amazing.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your 5 star review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and received everything you expected and more. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read More
Read Less

A warm welcome and excellent accommodation.

By

October 07, 2014

This was by far the best hotel we have stayed in recently in Edinburgh. Great service and attention to detail.

Centrally located, excellent parking facilities and restaurants nearby. We hope to return and will recommend to our friends.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read More
Read Less

Great base in the heart of Edinburgh

By

October 07, 2014

club

This hotel is a great affordable base for staying in the heart of Edinburgh.

We didn't intend of staying in the hotel much as there is so much of Edinburgh to enjoy.

I can say that the staff were polite, friendly, helpful and efficient.

However if its luxury your used to this is not the hotel for you. Room size was small and breakfast limited. Mobile reception in our room was non-existent.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. Our staff are available 24 hours a day and are always happy to help. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Read More
Read Less

Hotel funcional.

By

October 06, 2014

El hotel está muy limpio y el personal es muy amable.
Sin embargo, las habitaciones me parecieron muy pequeñas.

Read More
Read Less

Good location and Nice

By

October 04, 2014

club

Good location in Royal Mile, just one block. Free parking in street right in front of hotel after 6:30pm daily. Hotel is clean and looks new.. Breakfast is excellent.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 06, 2014
Thank you for your review, There is free parking on the street from 6.30pm until 8.30am - outwith these times we can offer a discounted rate at a nearby car park. We are glad you enjoyed your Breakfast, there is lots of choice to start your day. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Read More
Read Less