Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Birchwood Road, Off Ipswich Road A12 (Southbound Shell Garage) , Colchester, CO7 6HS

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
84%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 277 reviews
84%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

277reviews

  • 5 Stars
    122
  • 4 Stars
    97
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    10

CoS visit

By

October 20, 2014

club

Hotel excellent. Food terrible. Staff poor. Overall good, just eat elsewhere!

Read More
Read Less

A good hotel for a short stay.

By

October 18, 2014

club

A quiet and clean hotel, great for a short stay either for business or pleasure.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear Cypriot, We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG. Sincerely, Ashley Walker General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Nice room

By

October 17, 2014

club

A Nice clean and tidy room so you will sleep well, but the food is terrible and the restaurant is not very clean. My advice to is to stay here but dine elsewhere.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear Barry47, We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay and I am sorry you didn’t enjoy our restaurant. Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG. Sincerely, Ashley Walker General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable stay.

By

October 16, 2014

club

After sorting out room problems after check in all was perfect for our 2 night stay. Breakfast OK with good choice. Room great after a long drive we got 2 good nights sleep.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear Isle Of Bute, Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG. Sincerely, Ashley Walker General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Excellent as usual!

By

October 16, 2014

club

Excellent as usual.
5th time I've stayed there now.
Dinner menu is limited and not really worth £9.50 for the beef madras, but then it is in a prime location so guess price has to allow for that. But as far as the rooms, they are excellent quailty and very comfortable. Free wifi and nice desk to work on it required. I've seen some poor reviews for the breakfast, but they have to remember it's free and unlimited. Sausages, scammbled eggs and beans for the hot buffett isn't bad at all. Plus you get pastries, toast, fruit, muller lights, hot drinks, apple & orange juice. You can complain about that! Clean and tidy all round. Deserves this good review. Thanks!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear FromPortsmouthWithLove, Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Colchester a leader in excellence. Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG. Sincerely, Ashley Walker General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Good Stay

By

October 16, 2014

club

Very pleasant stay in a super new, clean and accessible hotel to the Constable country. Bed very comfortable and choice of pillows-perfect for mid 70's couple. Bit noisy at night as could hear a baby cry in an adjoining room. Brought back memories!
A continental breakfast a bonus and the limited dinner menu perfect for us as we didn't have to leave hotel on a rainy night and go to a pub. Will stay again.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear Ex Pat American, Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Colchester a leader in excellence. Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG. Sincerely, Ashley Walker General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Good value stay

By

October 14, 2014

club

Great value stay however very dirty stained
Carpet under bed side table , it was not
noted until bed time. I was concerned as
The splash stains on carpet & wall were
quite visible & may have being incorrectly
Billed for the damage ? However first stay at
Holiday Inn Express which was excellent
Value & very friendly & helpful staff. Will be
Staying at same location next month.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear Cooper7, Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. Thank you for letting us know about the stain in the carpet we shall try to remove this at once for our future customer. We hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, Ashley Walker General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Cheap, clean and very good value

By

October 12, 2014

Was a little apprehensive on staying at this Holiday Inn after reading the reviews but I must say we had no complaints whatsoever. Room was very nice and very clean, lovely walk in shower and bed was comfortable and no noise at night. Ok the breakfast was basic but still adequate and what was available was nice. Staff very friendly and helpful and would definitely use again.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. Sincerely, Ashley Walker General Manager
Read More
Read Less

clean room, polite staff, good food, good value

By

October 07, 2014

club

Staff all polite and friendly, good choice and plenty of food at breakfast. Room was clean and spacious. Good value for money :-)

Posted byHotelStaff
October 09, 2014
Dear LadyJulie, Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your delightful experience during your recent stay. I hope you come to visit us soon again. Sincerely, General Manager Ashley Walker
Read More
Read Less

Good hotel. Great value for money.

By

October 06, 2014

club

Needed room for a family overnight stay. Room was very well furnished and very quiet. Would certainly return in the future.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 08, 2014
Dear neila64, We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay and we hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, Ashley Walker General Manager
Read More
Read Less

A shining light in the darkness

By

September 30, 2014

club

Due to many reasons we were extremely late, hungry and very tired when we looked for the Holiday Inn Express on the A12 as we had stayed there before.
We arrived well after 9 o'clock without a booking and expected to have trouble getting a room, pay over the odds and probably unable to get a meal.
All concerns proved totally unfounded when a lovely receptionist organised a very nice room at a competitive rate and kept the kitchen open after hours to provide a good meal (and a pint!).
The breakfast, which was included, had improved since our last stay though the sausages/eggs could be better.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 02, 2014
Dear Slo1, Thank you for your kind comment, it’s so rewarding for not only me to read but the team. This comment inspires us to keep our standards high and improve constantly to serve our valued guest even better in the future. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Colchester for your future travel needs. Sincerely, Ashley Walker General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Mr

By

September 30, 2014

club

Great place to stay, staff are very friendly and the rooms are great

Posted byHotelStaff
October 02, 2014
Dear Cumminni, Thank you for your kind comment, we hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, Ashley Walker General Manager
Read More
Read Less