Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Stationers Place Apsley , Hemel Hempstead, HP3 9RH

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
94%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 265 reviews
94%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

265reviews

  • 5 Stars
    154
  • 4 Stars
    83
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    7

Great staff and location

By

January 18, 2022

Stayed here a few times in the past as just across the road from the rail station and not far from the M25. The only problem I encountered this time was my room key failed to work on 3 occassions including when I was about to check out. Harry, who was clearing tables at breakfast, came to my rescue and quickly sorted it out. Thank you.

Read More
Read Less

Great staff and location

By

January 11, 2022

Have stayed here a few times I am always happy to return. Good value, nice room, good food and helpful staff. Being very close to the station and not far from the M25 being useful. I did encounter a problem with my room key which failed to let me in on three occassions including in the morning shortly before checking out. Harry, who was busy clearing tables, came to my rescue and opend my door- thank you.

Read More
Read Less

Amazing Staff

By

October 26, 2019

club

I just returned home from a week and 1/2 work trip there in the UK. This was my first time there and did not know what to expect. The Holiday Inn Express Hemel staff was absolutely amazing during my stay, especially the evening and night crew. I did want to give some individual praise to Amelia that works there. She went above and beyond to make me feel welcome and comfortable during my first time stay in the UK. She provided not only the highest level of customer service one could expect, but also her friendship.
I will be back at this location for more work/stays in the future. On behalf of my company and myself, I wanted to say thank you all.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent Stay

By

October 20, 2014

Excellent customer service! Great food and cleanliness. Amazing value for this high standard hotel!

Read More
Read Less

Mixed

By

October 15, 2014

Booked an Accessible room which was not ready when we attempted to book in at 15:30. Offered a non-accessible room (doh!) Allocated a replacement Accessible room. Arriving on a Sunday it was disappointing that there only appeared to be two members of staff to run the hotel. The Sunday night dining experience was a nightmare - poor service and very poor and overpriced food. Definite improvement on the Monday and the Tuesday but first impressions count. Room was OK, but why a double room with only one chair? Food is overpriced for what is offered and it seems to me that this is a deliberate ploy to persuade guests not to dine at the hotel - it worked for us!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for you review on your recent stay with us. I would like to apologise for your disappointment, not something we want our guests to feel when they book with us so I would like to assure you that we have taken all of your feedback on board and discussed these items as a team to ensure we deliver on our guest expectations in future. We do therefore hope you can give us another try when you are back in the area so we can welcome you back and show you that we can get it right. Kind regards, Suzannah
Read More
Read Less

Pleased!

By

October 15, 2014

We stayed here before visiting Harry Potter world recently, which is only about 10 minutes drive away. The room was lovely and clean, breakfast is free (lots of choice too) and it overlooks a lovely canal with boats. I was really impressed with all this. The only thing I would say is they could do with more choice on their menu for evening dining, we just had a burger and chips which was fairly expensive for what it was. Communal areas very clean. Overall, pleased though.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our property and its great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The comments you have made will be communicated with our team at our next meeting and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Michael
Read More
Read Less

Not the best experience

By

October 14, 2014

What a shame this hotel did not match other same brand hotels in the chain... the long delay at check in was less than inviting but could have been excused if the rest of the issues didn't keep clocking up. There seemed to be a shortage of staff so ordering and check out also had delays. Our room had a comfortable double bed, which was a positive and quiet enough for sleep. The issue was the bathroom - dirty shower seals and a broken glass shelf that ought to have been replaced! Our bar food was cheap, so that was a positive but no one came to clear our table so our meal was eaten with previous occupants dirty glasses - one meal was nice and hot and tasty, the other was luke warm (clearly not microwaved long enough). When we arrived at breakfast, there was only the scrapings of rubbery scrambled egg left in that hot container and sausages (which I don't eat) so whilst this must have been replenished at a later point, at the time we were "served" the only hot food was toast and a very small spoonful of egg between two... we ended up abandoning our breakfast and purchased brunch after finally checking out. Our other experiences of Holiday Inn Express have been wonderful - if this is the service provided for guests when they "cash in" loyalty reward points, it's really poor and based on this experience, my "loyalty" was wasted!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our property and I'm sorry on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. The comments and feed back you have provided have been discussed with the team and appropriate actions put in place. On your next visit our Food and Beverage offering will be up to scratch. Kind regards, Michael Operations Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great sleep in Hemel

By

October 14, 2014

club

In 20 years plus of going around the world for the oil industry Hemel Hempstead has been the only hotel that i have slept like a baby the room was clean and the staff where helpful to a tee and would feed me at any time of the day and night due to long working hours. The staff could not do any more in my book like taking the house with me on work . Great stay simple to book in and the car-park easy to jump on the drain into London for meetings. There was a young lady on the front Desk who was a Dream i will only use her first name what a star Charlotte good job well done.

Read More
Read Less

Provided all we needed

By

October 12, 2014

club

This was a long w/end to visit family, friends and go to see Watford Football Club play Brighton.

The hotel is such an easy access from and to the M1, A41 and towns in the area. Simple easy access to car park. Also friends came to see us from Sussex for the day so Watford Junction and Hemel Hempstead stations were close.

Read More
Read Less

First class staff

By

October 10, 2014

Excellent value hotel. The staff here were as pleasant and helpful as they could possibly be.

Read More
Read Less

Nice hotel

By

October 09, 2014

club

We had a long stay and were pleased with the great service by the hotel staff. They were all very pleasant and made us feel welcome. Our room was comfortable and well maintained and the maid service excellent. The complimentary breakfast surpassed our expectations. We enjoyed the location by the canal and the dining places in the marina. The restaurant/pub next door made a good meeting place for all my family, but we would have preferred a more traditional style pub. That said, the food was good and the staff very accommodating. Overall we
enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely go back to this hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 12, 2014
Dear Guest Many Thans for taking the time to leave a review I am so glad you had a great time here and we look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon. Ron GSM
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable base for visit to relatives.

By

October 08, 2014

The hotel is very comfortable with friendly staff. An unusual bonus is its proximity to the Grand Union canal and the chance to enjoy a stroll along the towpath and watch the wild-life and canal boats..

Posted byHotelStaff
October 12, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for your great comments. The staff are rightly proud of our locations and also like looking out the windows to see the boats passing, although I should not mention this when we should be working! Hopefully we will see you in the hotel again soon. Regards Ron GSM
Read More
Read Less