Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
82%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.7

based on 54 reviews
82%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

54reviews

  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    4

Top Staff

By

October 20, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on quite a few occasions and the staff there are excellent. Always willing to help, friendly and the refurbishment looks great.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 23, 2014
Many thanks for this TOP review. We are so happy you like our new style! Looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards Olivier DE VUYST | General Manager
Read More
Read Less

comfortable bed and clean rooms

By

September 30, 2014

club

good room, furniture good. Renovation in progress at the reception and dinning hence cramped and untidy

Posted byHotelStaff
October 08, 2014
Thank you for your comment. The renovation in our Great Room is finished by now. Looking forward in welcoming you back in a way we get a 4* quotation next time. Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Not the best

By

September 30, 2014

club

Far from it, when you consider the price. That's the main issue - it's just not worth the price you pay.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 08, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for expressing your experience, we will evaluate your specific Rate/Room to see where we can improve our services and product. Olivier DE VUYST | General Manager
Read More
Read Less

building site

By

September 04, 2014

club

could be a nice hotel. When I visited it was a building site and I was not informed at any stage of my booking that this was the case. Also got stuck in a twin room instead of the double I booked. Great location and I guess when its all finished it will be a good place to stay but on my visit I was very disappointed.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 19, 2014
Dear Ste1962, I would like to thank you for sharing your findings about our hotel and the renovations that we were underongoing at that time. We completey understand your feelings and I sincerely apologize for this. I am pleased to be able to announce that the renovations of our entire ground floor area are finished and that the hotel is again fully operational and up to standard. Please again, accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences this has caused to you. I hope that this will not withhold you from coming to us again the next time you travel to Mechelen. Kind regards, Joris Keimes
Read More
Read Less

Great hotel with friendly Staff

By

August 27, 2014

When traveling on business or leisure it is the ideal location, centre of the city, car parking underground, helpful and friendly staff and clean functioning rooms with all the necessary room features.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 19, 2014
Dear Reykie84, Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic 5-Star review of our hotel. I can see that our location served you well, I am thrilled to see that our team was up to your expectations.Please be assured that i will pass on all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time. Kind Regards Joris Keimes
Read More
Read Less

Good choice

By

August 25, 2014

Improvement seen over de last year and I can honestly recommend this hotel now. Staff is very friendly and all is taken care off. Will visit more often!

Posted byHotelStaff
August 29, 2014
Dear Steven9754, Thank you very much for this 5 star review! It is a pleasure to read thay you enjoyed your stay! I hope you will like our new and improved, renovated rooms and ground floor next time you visit us. Kind regards, Joris Keimes
Read More
Read Less

Mechelen HI undergoing serious renovation

By

August 13, 2014

club

This hotel is undergoing serious renovation. If you want to be woken up at 7am by a skip being replaced outside your window, or by drilling/hammering all day and early evening every day from Monday to Saturday, having 'breakfast' in a marquee, no hotel bar at all (a few cans in the 'lobby' fridge doesn't count!), and no access to the car park except via the ramp, then this is the hotel for you.
If, on the other hand, you would like to sleep until your alarm wakes you up, have a leisurely breakfast indoors, maybe an afternoon snooze and a beer in the evening, go anywhere else.

Posted byCustomerCare
August 23, 2014
Dear DoNotBook, Thank you so much for your recent comments. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced. We are truly sorry your stay was negatively impacted by the renovation works during your stay. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you would give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. Again, thank you for your time and for staying with us. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

Find out if the refurb has finished

By

August 11, 2014

Stayed here in a group of 11 or so, some booked via the internet, some by phone. None of us were told that the hotel is undergoing major renovation! For your enjoyment the reception area is down a scabby alley, is tiny and whoever is unlucky enough to be managing it also has to deal with phone enquiries too, just imagine the queues to check in and out!

Once you've dealt with that fun you will be treated to near constant drilling, hammering, banging throughout the day including at weekends, just to add to the fun it starts nice and early too!

So you get woken up early, may as well go to breakfast right? Did the hotel mention to you that you would effectively be camping? The main b/fast room is tiny with a few tables but there are plenty more available in the tent outside, you can sit there in the cold nicely sheltered from the pouring rain. That said, there appears to be one woman dealing with the entire breakfast area herself.... so this morning the following items were unavailable. Knives, plates, glasses for orange juice, cups for coffee (didnt matter because the coffee machine had run out of coffee). On top of that there wasn't really a great deal of of food on offer either. Once complaints were made I managed to secure a warm bread roll for breakfast, yum!

We complained about the constant noise later and were given an apple and a banana to say sorry.... it made up for the lack of breakfast I suppose!

From what I could see the staff count for the entire hotel was about 25, unfortunately 23 of them were busy with drills and hammers.

Posted byCustomerCare
August 21, 2014
Dear Walkindude, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding the Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, Belgium. We regret that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. We have sent you a private message to discuss your concerns further. Sincerely, Charisse V. Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

Nicer than expected

By

August 09, 2014

This is ideal for a visit to Mechelen town centre. Everything was as it should have been or better. I would definitely stay again

Posted byHotelStaff
October 08, 2014
Many thanks for this recommendation of our hotel! Looking forward in welcoming you again. Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Pleasant Surprise

By

July 27, 2014

I chose the Holiday Inn Express at Mechelen City Centre to be near the Brussels Airport without the higher cost of staying directly in Brussels. Not only was the hotel clean, compact, modern, and good value, but it was steps away from the heart of the city, which was a delight to visit. The friendly staff provided me with good advice and seemed very well informed. Next time, I will stay a little longer at this hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 29, 2014
Dear RAK1, Thank you very much for this great 5 star review. This makes our day here at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen, This is again an extra boost to give our best everyday to make our guests feel at home. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Joris Keimes
Read More
Read Less

Very good holiday package

By

July 11, 2014

The hotel is clean, friendly and nice, all in all.
the only problem is the beds quality. Could be better.
Great staff, breakfast and very handy parking.
Thanks!

Read More
Read Less

Gute Preis/Leistung im Herzen Mechelen

By

July 07, 2014

Das Hotel kann ich empfehlen ob geschäftlich oder privat. Sauber und ordentlich und das Stadtzentrum fussläufig erreichbar.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 10, 2014
Lieber Gast, Vielen Dank für das Feedback.Wir freuen uns zu lesen dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt genossen habt. Wir hoffen Sie in den Zukunft wieder zu begrüssen. Mit freundlichen grüssen, Joris Keimes General Manager
Read More
Read Less