Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Memphis Southwind

4068 Stansell Court , Memphis, Tennessee 38125

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
78%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.9

based on 89 reviews
78%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

89reviews

  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7

Poor

By

May 25, 2021

The check in person was unwelcoming and unfriendly. Did not say a word of greeting or smile or make eye contact even once. The breakfast was meager, the room only adequate, the pool was not and had not been open. Things were as cheap as possible; yet the room ended up being almost $200 for one night. Only a few minimal towels were available and room had no information on tv channels, local sites or restaurants- nothing. This was a $75 worth room; and overcharged. It did not feel clean.

Read More
Read Less

Still Horrible Customer Service

By

February 27, 2020

Still no communication or resolution. Thank you for thanking me for being a loyal member and apoligizing. It seems that the IHG staff is lacking from a leadership perspective just as much as this hotel. Every time I call I'm told that someone will contact me in 48 hours and this never happens. However, when I call to follow up I'm always thanked for being a loyal member and told that IHG is sorry for my experience - not sorry enough to get a resolution - actually very surprising no one has the authority to do anything in such a large organization. I would never treat one of my customers this way.

Read More
Read Less

One night stay after Lynyrd Skynard concert

By

September 16, 2019

We came to Memphis so my son could attend the Lynyrd Skynrd Concert that was in Southhaven, MS. We were staying one night so that we could do more things in Memphis the next day. I made reservation a week in advance for a king bed with a sofa bed since there were 3 of us. When we checked in at the front desk, our original room # had been scratched out and another room # written in beside it on a different floor. I didn’t really care what floor that we were on, we were all tired and just ready to go to sleep. When we got to our room, it was only a king bed with a chaise Lounge chair. I called the front desk to let them know that this was not the type of room that I reserved since it only had a chaise lounge chair not. a sofa bed. She changed us to another floor in a new room but it was the same type room with a king bed and chaise lounge chair not a sofa bed. I called the front desk again and was told that they were sold out and there was nothing that they could do. She said that I would need to talk to the general manager on Monday. Since it was midnight by this time and we were all tired, my husband, 6 ft son and I all had to sleep in the king bed together. Needless to say, this was not a good nights sleep. Therefore I would not recommend this hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Rude Staff, charged for smoking even though we didn't and manager is avoiding us to have this resolved.

By

August 06, 2019

The hotel was nice, we enjoyed our stay the bed was very comfortable. It is in a nice location close to everything you could need. We swam in the pool with the kids, water and pool area was clean. Our troubles began after we left. I woke up with a $244 additional charge to my card. I called and they said we were charged for smoking in the room, which did not happen. I asked to speak to a manager who wasn't in (After multiple calls all day long, apparently they are never in nor return calls) and was transferred to a housekeeping manager. She got on the phone rude as could be calling me a liar and saying they smelled smoke in the hallway while we were there so she knows we were smoking and then hung up on me. I called back immediately and was hung up on again. I have contacted corporate and my bank as well to dispute this. Our room was literally right off the elevator and the hotel was full of guest, I am not saying she didn't smell smoke in the hallway maybe she did but how are they just going to pin it on a room without knowing for sure?? We did not smoke in that hotel room but were charged for it because she THINKS it was us. I will not drop this issue until I get my money back and I do not at all appreciate being called a liar. They were going to get a good review from me but not now. Customers beware ... they will charge you for things just because they can and if you have an issue nobody will respond to have it resolved. I would not recommend this hotel!!! We travel to Memphis twice a year and will go out of our way to avoid this hotel from now on. Oh and did I mention my husband works for IHG!!!!!!

Read More
Read Less

Poor Management

By

July 18, 2019

Do not stay here!!! This hotel has roaches, housekeeping does a terrible job in cleaning the rooms, there was pet hair, the linen wasn't clean, and they ran out of towels. The manager Denise is barely there when you need an issue resolved and when you can get in touch with her she is dismissive and acts like it's your fault their hotel is nasty. She doesn't respond in a timely manner and it takes her forever to resolve the issue. Very unacceptable, very poor service.

Read More
Read Less

Enjoyable getaway

By

July 06, 2019

Just a short 3 day visit to Memphis, hotel was a bit of a distance from our chosen activities but expressways were close and traffic was not terrible. I agree with other reviews that room was clean, breakfast was sufficient and plentiful and staff we interacted with were very friendly. Would definitely stay here again. Our only con was returning one afternoon at 3:30 and had to wait for the room to be cleaned.

Read More
Read Less

Average because of the small stuff

By

October 21, 2014

platinumelite

Hotel is almost renovated and the rooms are good. I have stayed several times at this hotel and it unfortunately never wows me. The staff are hit and miss. They are either fantastic or they just don't care (FYI the breakfast ladies are the best in any Holiday Inn I have been at so it is a great way to start the morning). The hotel is clean and it has everything you need, but their inability to execute on the small stuff makes it frustrating, especially when you stay for many days over and over. Not replacing the shampoo or coffee, not following up on service requests, no replacing the mugs, leaving cleaning supplies in the room, having to fix the rate when you check in, etc. etc. I know this sounds like nit-picking but it shows their inability to be consistent. Internet has improved greatly over the past year which is great. I continue to stay at this hotel but more for the points than for the experience.

Read More
Read Less

comfortable bed

By

October 08, 2014

club

The rooms very nice, plenty of space to spread out. It was nice to be able to relax and read on a sofa and not the bed. Breakfast area was very clean and the food was excellent.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
We are pleased to know that you were happy with our room accommodations and the breakfast served lived up to expectations. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, and appreciate the feedback we receive as it is crucial to our success. Thank you again for posting your comments. We look forward to having you visit us on your next trip to Memphis.
Read More
Read Less

the worst experience ever

By

October 08, 2014

club

Room had big dirty stain in floor. Ceiling over table peeling. Carpet very dirty. Child feet became black from walking on carpet. Clerk that check us in was very loud rude and unprofessional. She is in wrong field. When mentioned room status she just stated that she let housekeeping know. They were gone for the day. I would like to request doubled points back to account I was not satisfied at all.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to make us aware of your experience while you were a guest at our hotel, Holiday Inn Express Southwind. On behalf of myself and staff, I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. It is our goal to ensure that all of our guest has a pleasant experience. There are no words or excuses that would make your experiences acceptable. We would like to speak with you concerning your experience at our hotel, please feel free to call us at your convenience to speak with management concerning your visit; our goal is to ensure your complete satisfaction.
Read More
Read Less

Clean beutiful room excellent service

By

October 03, 2014

Room was very clean and well decorated, bed was very comfortable, room was quiet even though we were close to the highway, staff was very courteuous, freindly,
professional and helpful with their knowledge of places to eat and visit while in the area. Breakfast was very good. only problem was we could not use the pool because it along with several other areas were under construction. Even though under construction we did not here any noise from it. overall was a great stay while we were on vacation enjoying memphis sights.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 06, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Memphis Southwind. We appreciate your honest feedback and are so happy you took the time to share your experience. We are so happy that you had a great stay while you were our guest. Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and great service

By

October 02, 2014

club

Great room for the price! Service is above average! Hostess noticed I was not a rewards member and set up my account and I was able to get credit for my stay!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 06, 2014
We are pleased to know that you were happy with our room accommodations and the breakfast served lived up to expectations. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, and appreciate the feedback we receive as it is crucial to our success. Thank you again for posting your comments. We look forward to having you visit us on your next trip to Memphis.
Read More
Read Less

Good bed, quiet room

By

September 22, 2014

Hotel was under construction when I stayed which didn't help anything.

Posted byCustomerCare
October 02, 2014
Dear stangapds, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We have sent you a private message addressing your concerns. We trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services. Sincerely, Dhan M Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less