Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Memphis Medical Center Midtown

1180 Union Avenue , Memphis, Tennessee 38104

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
83%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 258 reviews
83%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

258reviews

  • 5 Stars
    143
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    12

horrible experience

By

April 07, 2021

We had two very unfortunate events that occurred during our stay and we would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Upon check in we were given a room that was already occupied and no one at the front desk had any idea there was already someone in our room. This should have been our clue to leave. I then inquired at the front desk as to the safety of the parking lot and the front desk attendant assured me that they had security in the parking lot at all times at night. The next morning, our car, along with 5 or 6 more, were broken into. A different front desk attendant told us this happens frequently and she would comp our room. There was no offer to ask what we needed to be able to continue our drive or even any assistance in contacting law enforcement. I requested a receipt showing that the room had been removed from our credit card and the front desk stated they couldn't do that but they would email me the statement. They did not remove the charge and never sent me the email receipt. I sent multiple emails to the hotel manager, with no response and then spoke to a manager on the telephone who assured me the room would be taken care of and they would send me confirmation that the room charge was removed. To date, the charge has not been removed and no further communications was received from the hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Poor management, dingy and smoky smelling rooms.

By

March 08, 2021

My boyfriend and I planned to stay at this hotel for 2 nights. It took several minutes of waiting at the front desk in order to check in, and when the employee came to do so, he mentioned to us that he was the only one working the whole hotel. Then after passing two homeless-looking people who smelled like cigarettes and marijuana, we got up to our room which ALSO smelled like cigs and weed.

I had requested 2 extra blankets that were not provided. We immediately turned on the A/C to find that it didn't run consistently. My boyfriend states that the bathroom appeared as though it was not wiped down. The bedspread was dingy in appearance and I am glad to report that we did not have to explore the bed further, since that was the point we decided to leave.

These things are inconvenient, unacceptable, and a sign of a poorly-run hotel. But an even bigger sign of a poorly-run hotel is the fact that these managers are immensely difficult to reach. It took me a solid seven days of calling the hotel requesting managers and leaving voicemails to get ahold of them. Even today, 13 days after the bad experience, I'm still struggling to speak to who I need to speak with (John Patterson).

This hotel has charged me the full $234 for 2 nights, even when we were only in the room for 10-15 minutes before getting out of there. One manager has told me they would refund me, while the other manager said "nah, just kidding, no refund." The professionality is pitiful. The stress I've endured in an effort to talk this through with them is insane.

Bottom line: just don't do it.

Read More
Read Less

Best Staff

By

February 02, 2020

6 of us just spent 2 nights here. Everyone agreed it is an excellent place to stay, Staff is very friendly, Everyone greets you with a smile. Rooms were very clean and quiet. Breakfast menu was excellent, good choices, and Zee and Wendy made sure everything was alright. I would highly recommend staying here, plan on being back next year.

Read More
Read Less

Breakfast

By

August 21, 2019

club

We stayed two nights here and enjoyed the casual but comfortable breakfast area. The area was always staffed, and there was always food available. The cinnamon rolls are world famous. We received excellent service from everyone, but a particular shout out to Zee. She went out of her way to see that we had what we needed.
If we return to the Memphis area, we'll definitely stay here.

Read More
Read Less

Overall just a great experience

By

May 14, 2019

club

In about a month, I'll be moving to Memphis for a job. I came here with my mom to view apartments in the area (which is an area that I am very unfamiliar with). Upon being greeted by G, he gave me some insights on places to check out. The help was so nice too - especially Doris and Wendy during breakfast. Finally, having Ms Rena drive us around town to view apartments and other famous sights made the stay even more enjoyable.

I had never been to Memphis prior to this trip and, being from Michigan, I was pleasantly surprised by everyone I met on my trip. I can't wait to move to this city in June and I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Read More
Read Less

Nice Hotel

By

October 19, 2014

club

We always stay here when in Memphis. Clean, nice staff, good location.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Hi B6family, We just wanted to thank you for your loyalty to the IHG brand and your loyalty to our hotel when you are in Memphis. Thank you for your 5 star review. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Memphis.
Read More
Read Less

Still has smoking rooms

By

October 18, 2014

Clearly I wasn't paying attention when I booked my room because somehow I booked a smoking room - I thought most hotels had done away with this practice so I was pretty surprised when I got to the room. The room had a bit of a smoke smell but it wasn't offensive and basically went away after about 30 mins of using the A/C. The main bedroom part of the room was clean, the bed was comfortable but the pillows were a little flattened (even the firm ones). There had been some obvious upgrades to the decor in the room. The bathroom was another story. It had an old tub surround and the wall paper/ceiling were peeling. I'd say the cleanliness was average - the light switch and inner part of the door around the handle needed a good wipe. There was little to no noise which was great.

The hotel is not a far drive from downtown if you want to spend some time on Beale St. The cab fare is probably around $10. The reception folks were fantastic - super nice, very helpful and gave us some bottled water. The wifi worked great and the breakfast also had good selection. I would probably stay here again as likely the non-smoking rooms are better but clearly I need to be more attentive when booking!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
xtinecarmen, I just want to thank you for your review. We appreciate your recommendations. I am sorry that you mistakenly booked the wrong room type. It does happen to other people as well. Believe it or not , there are still many people who love the fact that we offer smoking rooms. If we have a non smoking room available during your stay, we always try to accommodate the guest with a room move. We look forward to seeing you again on a future stay.
Read More
Read Less

Nice view of downtown at sunrise.

By

October 17, 2014

I have enjoyed staying here a few times now but the bed was low this time.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for your 4 star response about your stay. We really appreciate the times that you have stayed with us. I am sorry that you were not comfortable with your bed height this last time. This is something that we will check into and make sure that our bed height meets all of the standards. We hope that you will continue to stay with us in the future and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Read More
Read Less

great place to stay

By

October 16, 2014

club

I found this Holiday inn Express to be one of the better properties I have stayed at. Great staff, comfortable room and bed.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel and our staff. We really appreciate your encouragement. This really helps to keep our staff motivated in continuing to give great service.
Read More
Read Less

Great service and amenities

By

October 15, 2014

club

ENJOY!

ENJOY!

ENJOY!
Just the hotel name along is of great quality. The Holiday Inn has been around for years and is very favorable and memorable to the consumer. I was very pleased at all the different services it presented and the environment that it stood for during my visit.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 17, 2014
Gwendi , We would like to thank you for your loyalty to the IHG brand. Also a big thank you for your awesome comments about our particular hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to provide you with great service and to always maintain an environment that is welcoming for our guests. We would love to have you come and stay with us again if you are ever in Memphis.
Read More
Read Less

Friendly helpful staff

By

October 13, 2014

Repeatedly saw the general manager doing odd jobs and repairs. Had his hands in everything it looked like... making sure the hotel was in good shape and the customers were satisfied. A good sign in any hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
On behalf of our general manager ,David Winslow, I would like to thank you for your review. He has been here only a short time but has implemented many improvements to our hotel. He inspires the staff by his hands on approach to everything he does and is an encouragement to the staff to continue to give 100%.
Read More
Read Less

Good choice and value

By

October 12, 2014

Courteous staff upon arrival, quick check in, this hotel is convenient to down town activities and attractions. If looking for fancy, this is not the place. If looking for convenient, clean, reasonable rate room, with good staff in Memphis, this IS the place.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this awesome review and recommendations. We really appreciate you and look forward to being able to serve you on any future visits to our hotel.
Read More
Read Less