Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area

160 Shoreline Highway , Mill Valley, California 94941

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
92%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 219 reviews
92%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

219reviews

  • 5 Stars
    138
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    6

Great place to stay!

By

April 24, 2020

We stayed here 12Jul2019 to 17Jul2019. We are a family of four and we traveled with another family of 3. Our boys are teenagers. So happy we chose IHG/Holiday Inn. We are IHG members.
It is a great location for going into San Fran or taking trips to points North. The breakfast in the morning was great had many choices. We used the free bikes (first come first serve) to take bike rides on the path right by the hotel. We picked up snacks for the room at the local Whole Foods. Went into the city for a few days using and had tickets for the 'hop on hop off' bus - great value and great tour. Went to Muir woods, rafting in Healdsburg. Went to the pool area every night with the kids and had cocktails by the pool. Missed having a restaurant/bar on site but that is under renovation. The hotel/grounds could use a facelift but the rooms were fine (clean, updated). The front office staff (Jeff) and breakfast staff were helpful and polite and had suggestions on area attractions. We would stay here again and look forward to going back to San Fran area. It is a quiet area and nice to have coffee outside in the morning with a view of the water. Oh - free smores every night by the fire in the courtyard.

Read More
Read Less

Far Exceeded All Expectations!

By

November 26, 2019

My wife and I were in San Francisco last week to see Hamilton and because of a large convention in town, room prices in the city for available rooms were insane. To try to make our trip more affordable, we started to look both North and South for someplace to stay. We had never stayed in Mill Valley, so based on reviews, we thought we'd give the Holiday Inn Express a try. We were so glad we did and pleasantly surprised that it was so convenient to everything in San Francisco and in such a beautiful setting on the estuary. Staff were wonderful at check in, they made sure we were oriented to the area and all of the amenities like the pool, spa and restaurant, available at the hotel. They made sure we knew about the free breakfast available and also about free bikes for guests during our stay. In hind site, we wish we had dedicated more time to just 'hang out' and ride around and enjoy the area. Our room was large and comfortable, the bed wonderful, and the shower was amazing. I could have stood under it for hours! Breakfast the next morning was really impressive with the availability of more items than I think I have ever experienced at a 'free hotel breakfast' meal. There was literally everything we could have asked for there from homemade cinnamon rolls, fresh fruit, eggs of different types, fresh pancakes, cereal, bacon and sausage, yogourt, juices and on and on, available for our meal .
One of the most surprising aspects of our trip was the convenience to downtown San Francisco. We were 15 to 20 minutes from the Orpheum Theater for our play, Chinatown, or Fisherman's Wharf. Traffic was easy too. All in all, a great and surprising stay and one that we will repeat anytime we return to San Francisco. Don't hesitate. You'll love your stay.

Read More
Read Less

Always helpful

By

August 06, 2019

I've been traveling for sometime now and as it happens I work graveyard. its very hard to get a room when my day ends at 10:30am and I'm ready to check in and sleep. Here the front desk lady Joanne has always taken care of my crew and I. She is always ready to help and not only help but make sure we are all happy and comfortable. It's the little things that make a work trip away from home more bearable.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent staff

By

June 22, 2019

I come in for work. Joanne is the best!!! Always takes care of me! I travel 75% of the year for work, and when you have great staff taking care of you, it makes it that much better when you can’t be home. Love the pool area and s’mores by the fire!

Read More
Read Less

5645354345435

By

November 29, 2016

club

564535434543556453543454355645354345435564535434543556453543454355645354345435564535434543556453543454355645354345435

Read More
Read Less

Friendly staff and fabulous accomodations!

By

October 19, 2014

club

We spent four nights on a family vacation. The location is perfect--convenient freeway access and close to San Francisco! The staff was incredibly friendly and the room was clean and quiet. My kids loved the free breakfast, especially the pancake maker (who doesn't??!) and the s'mores in the evening were an added bonus. We did eat dinner at the Italian restaurant next door which was very good but a little pricey. Only wish we could have stayed longer!!!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Dear Nan4787, Thank you for letting us know about your recent hotel stay and the Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley. We are extremly gratified that you had such a enjoyable stay as we do our best to make every guest stay a memorable one. Thank you for your kind comments and we do hope to see you again soon!
Read More
Read Less

Great Location and staff, dated and smelly room

By

October 15, 2014

platinumelite

The room and breakfast were not up to the standards I have experienced at other Holiday Inn Express' around the country :(

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear Jase11111, We do apologise that your hotel experience was not what you expected. Some details as to the particulars would have been helpfull to us as we do take all guest comments to heart. That being said please reach out to the hotel ditectly to discuss at 415-332-5700 ext 163 so we can remedy your hotel issues to your satisfaction. Thank you for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable and good staff.

By

October 15, 2014

club

Good place to stay at a good price.
The staff were friendly and efficient in their work.

Exercise room was small but had an excellent selection of weights to use; a flat weight bench was very much needed though and would have complemented the free weights nicely.

The spa was out of order when I needed to use it which was disappointing.

The guest room was nice and comfortable in all areas (bedding, temperature, outlet convenience, etc).

The breakfast options were the same everyday which got boring and the hot foods were not high quality. An option of eggs without cheese would have been nice.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear erdrick, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley. We do take all guest room comments to heart. We are clad to read that you enjoyed the staff and that they took good care of you. At one time we did have a bench in the weight room but had to take it out to be ADA compliant. I am sorry the heater outdoor spa was not operational during your stay. It has since been repaired and is operational. thank you for your comments and we do hope to see you again soon!
Read More
Read Less

noisy, smelly - perfect example of a poor hotel

By

October 14, 2014

Arrived, checked in....second front staff person was speaking so loudly that I could not clearly hear the person who was speaking to me. Got to the room.....paper thin walls and ceilings...sounded like people stomping on the second floor (we were on the first floor).
Exercise room - smelled like an old locker room (aromatic sweat?!).
AC/heater - wow, have not encountered a smell like that ever....had to open the windows to clear out the smell.
Would I go back? NO!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 16, 2014
Dear traveller_xx, I am sorry that your hotel experience was not up to your standards. We try our hardest to make sure every guest stay is a memorable one. I would like to discuss further in a effort to make amends. Please reach out to me at 415-332-5700 ext 163. Thank you for your comments.
Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel

By

October 14, 2014

What a great property with an awesome staff. My family and I really enjoyed the amenities, especially the smores around the fire pit in the evening.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 16, 2014
Dear Brian 77, Thank you your feedback from your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley. We do take all guest comments to heart and we are glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that you especially enjoyed the smore's by the firepit. Thank you again for your kind comments and we do hope to see you again soon!
Read More
Read Less

Beautiful little property.

By

October 13, 2014

The hotel is very clean, comfortable, and attractive, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. There is a wonderful restaurant adjoining the hotel, but there are not many others within easy walking distance. There is a lovely walking trail behind the hotel. Bring a warm jacket, as it gets cool and windy in the evenings year round.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 16, 2014
Dear WindySideOfCare, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent hotel experience at the Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley. We are glad to read that the hotel was to your liking. We are fortunate to be in scenic Marin county with so much to do! Thank you again for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!
Read More
Read Less

Clean room, filling breakfast

By

October 09, 2014

My bed was lopsided and worn. And though it is my only complaint, it is a major one.

I feel like I missed out on a good time with the S'more kit but I didn't go away hungry in the morning. Breakfast held a decent variety of options that ranged from healthy fruits to syrupy pancakes.

Being right off of the 101 freeway I felt that I was already "almost there" as soon as I pulled out of the driveway. The hotel is at a prime location for people travelling through, whether it be up or down the coast or to any other locales such as Mt. Tam, Muir Woods, or Stinson beach.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Dear B123tt, Thank you for your comments from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley. I do apologize for your mattress not being up to par. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the complimentary hot breakfast. Thank you for your comments and we do hope to see you again soon!
Read More
Read Less