Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City

1645 East Plaza Boulevard , National City, California 91950

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
84%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 82 reviews
84%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

82reviews

  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5

Terrible Service by the staff

By

September 16, 2020

The toilet flowed over so I called the front desk to inquire of someone coming to the room to resolve the issue. I heard a knock at the door about 5 minutes later, opened the door and found a toilet plunger next to the wall. This infuriated me so I called the service desk again and was told due to Covid19 the staff was unable to come into the room while the guest is present. I explained to her I'm 55 y/o and has never unstopped a toilet before and my mother is 81 y/o so which one of us was to do the duty of your maintenance worker? I told the employee we can go stand in the hallway while someone plunger the toilet but again she say the staff is unable to come into the room. I did what I had to do to resolve this, and was VERY angry because I paid to reside temporarily at this property but I had to perform my own maintenance work. Someone knocked on the door about 20 minutes later and go and behold it was the maintenance guy. He asked if I was still having issues with the toilet. He apologized for the delay but he was to lunch and was just informed when he returned. I noticed he had gloves on so I inquired if he came to plunge the toilet - he stated yes. So the service desk employee LIED to me, it wasn't no one couldn't enter the room it was no one was available at that time so she fabricated a tale to cover the hotel. We traveled to San Diego from Louisiana in a group of 15 family members and must return for 3 additional days in 2 weeks. My cousin stated this time we all will reside together at one hotel - I told her DO NOT book us at this facility.

Read More
Read Less

Phalen is THE BEST!

By

May 22, 2019

My family and I stayed here for one night to attend my sons graduation from SDSU.

The staff at check in was awesome. He gave us a cookie, thanked me for being a rewards member and seemed to enjoy his job.

Upon entering the room we noticed a "smell" but tossed it off to being strong cleaning solution. My son and I went to the jacuzzi. When I returned my wifes face was swollen, she had a headache and said she felt very sick. I went downstairs to see if we could trade rooms but Phalen said they were completely full. I went back to the room and the "smell" seemed to be getting stronger. We searched for another IHG but many were sold out or raised prices for graduation. I shut off the AC to see if that helped. I went down to see if Phalen had a fan we ciuld use and she did. I opened our hotel door and positioned the fan to blow air out to the hallway. After a couple hours the "smell" subsided. My wifes headache had lessened a little. I closed the hallway door and we left the AC offthe rest if our stay. It was hot in the room of course but the "smell" had dissipated.
Phalen called up and spoke with my wife. She apologized for not being able to move us. She was very sincere and caring. She is truly a people person and we appreciate her kindness
The room was clean and seemed to have been updated.

Read More
Read Less

National City

By

October 15, 2014

Very good location. Easy to get to off the 805 and short distance to the water front areas and Gas Lamp District. Front Desk staff very friendly. Rooms very comfortable and dark. I will stay here again.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear Brett G, Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to review your recent stay with us. We're very happy that you found the location convenient, the rooms comfortable and the team friendly. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to San Diego! Sincerely, Eric Loft, CHA General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Accomodating

By

October 06, 2014

club

In a pinch; family emergency, I drove from LA to SD and needed to stay the night. I directly sought Holiday Inn Express. With no reservationa and as late as it was for a Friday 9:30 pm; the front desk (Sarah R) was very friendly and accomodating. Offered to help me find my HIE Rewards number

Posted byHotelStaff
October 09, 2014
Dear Grateful Visitor, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I'm also certain that Sarah will be very pleased to hear that you found her friendly and accommodating. All of our staff strive to provide excellent guest service and any time they are mentioned in a review, they are always a bit surprised and very pleased by it. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Diego. Hopefully for a bit of relaxation rather than a family emergency though. Sincerely, Eric Loft, CHA General Manager
Read More
Read Less

great hotel for me and my employees

By

October 02, 2014

club

Hotel was very nice for my self and my employees We travel usually 15 to 20 days a month and it is very important that we all feel comfortable while away from home this facility did just that. We will gladly be staying there on our next trip down there. I do recommend this hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 06, 2014
Dear Caseyb2014, Thank you very much for reviewing you recent stay with us. We are all very happy to hear that you and your employees enjoyed the hotel! If you or your team will be regularly staying with us, please feel free to contact me directly and we can see about setting up a corporate rate plan for you! Sincerely, Eric Loft, CHA General Manager
Read More
Read Less

bugs

By

September 22, 2014

i seen 4 roaches in my room over 4 days. If not for my busy sched i would have left and checked into another hotel. I also didnt like the heat in the halls and common areas

Posted byHotelStaff
September 25, 2014
Dear Mr. McAbee, I'm very sorry to hear about your poor experience at our hotel. It is not acceptable for us to have any pests at our hotel - we have a contracted pest control company, Terminix, that we pay well to keep the hotel free of them. I wish that this issue had been reported during your stay, as we would have been more than happy to change your room for you. As it stands, when we received your guest satisfaction survey, we contacted Terminix immediately. They were here today and while they did not find any activity in your room or any of the surrounding rooms, they did do preventative service on them. I also do apologize that the public spaces were too warm for your comfort. While the vast majority of the year, this is not a problem, during the recent heat wave, our systems have struggled to keep the public spaces cool. We are happy that the guest rooms have no such issues, as each room has a unit that's designed to cool an area much greater than our large guest rooms are. Thank you for your feedback - we will certainly use it to improve the experience for future guests. Sincerely, Eric Loft, CHA General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great Customer Service

By

September 18, 2014

As soon as I walked in after a tiring day, I was greeted with a smile and checked in really quick and they got me my key to my room, so I can relax in my room. Thanks!

Posted byHotelStaff
September 22, 2014
Dear RichardC11, Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to review your stay with us. We're all very glad to hear that you found the service friendly, quick and efficient. As well, it sounds like you found your room a great place to relax after a long day. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Diego! Sincerely, Eric Loft, CHA General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Lovely room

By

September 13, 2014

platinumelite

Room was nice size. Front desk was welcoming and very helpful. Good variety of breakfast choices. Only negative was entrance from Plaza Boulevard was awkward and rough.
Room was very clean,

Posted byHotelStaff
September 17, 2014
Dear Practical Traveller, Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to review your recent stay with us. We're all very happy to hear you enjoyed the room, staff and breakfast. I certainly can sympathize with your evaluation of the parking entrance. I wish we had a better option for entry to and exit from the hotel, but unfortunately that is one item that we are unable to change. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to San Diego! Sincerely, Eric Loft, CHA General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Good night's sleep

By

September 02, 2014

club

I noticed on every stay, I had to remind the staff I was a Rewards Club member. I actually enjoy the goodie bad with water and snacks. The entrance/exit to the property is tricky. Its near a blind curve and you must be extra careful when entering and leaving. Aside from that, it's a good location.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 09, 2014
Dear WendyBJ, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you're able to get a good night's sleep with us. I would like to apologize about not being properly recognized as a Rewards Club member when you arrived. I certainly understand how you would enjoy the goodie bags. However, Holiday Inn Express rules have changed this year and we no longer stock these for all Rewards Club members. (However, if you remember to ask, I'm sure we'll be able to take care of you!) Thank you again for your review! Sincerely, Eric Loft, CHA General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Very good IHG hotel.

By

August 24, 2014

club

Very nice IHG stay, clean, modern, reliable. Three things to pass along:
1) People with trailers, or big wide trucks should stay away from the parking lot. It is VERY narrow, has a steep climb, and two twisty, close hairpin curves. Parking was easy once you were in the lot, but getting there was a close shave, sometimes.
2) What happened to the cinnamon rolls? The one reason I love HIE is the breakfast with cinnamon rolls, and there were none to be found the day I stayed. Disappointed.
3) Glass topped desks look lovely, and are probably easy to clean and keep in good shape. They make it heck to use an optical mouse, however. I know why you use them, but as a business traveler, I prefer no glass surfaces.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 27, 2014
Dear kcboy, Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. I'm happy to hear you found the hotel clean and fresh. I certainly understand the issue you've mentioned with parking trailers or larger trucks in our lot. We do have a number of regular guests who drive larger vehicles however, and I can definitely say that practice makes perfect when combining large vehicles and our parking. I'm very sorry about there not being cinnamon rolls during your stay. A delay in shipment from the supplier left us out of cinnamon rolls for two days last week. We've since stocked up with a bit 'extra' to try to insure that even if there is another shipping delay, we have enough to last an extra couple of days. Thanks for your feedback regarding the glass desk tops. I will order a small quantity of mouse pads that our guest services team will make available to guests who use separate optical mice with their laptop computers. Hopefully this will alleviate the issue for those guests. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Diego! Sincerely, Eric Loft, CHA General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Excellent!!!

By

August 20, 2014

Excellent!!!! Excellent!!!! Excellent!!!! Excellent!!!! Excellent!!!! Excellent!!!! Excellent!!!! Excellent!!!! Excellent!!!! Excellent!!!! Excellent!!!! Excellent!!!!

Posted byHotelStaff
August 25, 2014
Dear Proexcite, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. Myself and the entire team are very pleased that you found our hotel extremely 'excellent'. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the San Diego area! Sincerely, Eric Loft, CHA General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great nights rest

By

August 16, 2014

over all the breakfast was not so great but good place to stay

Posted byHotelStaff
August 18, 2014
Dear Joeb4432, Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you found us a pleasant place to stay. I'm sorry that you found the breakfast not so great. We do offer daily rotating items for our egg and meat options, so perhaps a different day may have suited your tastes better. However, if you'd like to contact us directly at the hotel with specific feedback on the breakfast, we'd be happy to speak with you about it. We do not have a large amount of leeway on breakfast, as most items are specified by IHG, but if there's something we can do to improve our breakfast within the regulations, we'd be happy to do so. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next San Diego visit! Sincerely, Eric Loft, CHA General Manager
Read More
Read Less