Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Waterloo Square St James Boulevard , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 4DN

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
92%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 247 reviews
92%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

247reviews

  • 5 Stars
    140
  • 4 Stars
    78
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7

Excellent Holiday Inn Express

By

September 22, 2021

My husband and I stayed here the weekend of the Great North Run because another independent hotel cancelled our booking a few weeks before the event, which resulted in me frantically looking for another hotel.
If I knew about this hotel beforehand and how good it would be, I would have booked it straight off!
Although the price we paid was quite high because of it being the run weekend, it was less than a couple of other chain hotels and breakfast was also included.
We had an awful 9 hour journey by car, so on arrival it was great to discover we could park easily in a council run car park right next to the hotel. The fee was quite reasonable too with no charge 5pm-8am.
We were greeted very warmly and politely by Michael and Leah on reception and even though they were very friendly, they were also very professional.
The check-in process was easy and efficient and we were given all the information we needed e.g breakfast times etc.
The room was very modern and comfy and had everything we needed, plus it was very clean.
Breakfast was nice enough with a self serve buffet with cooked food, cereal, pastries etc and hot and cold drinks. There was also a 'takeaway' breakfast option by the bar with pots of coffee, pastries and fruit with paper cups and paper bags which was a good idea.
The hotel was in a good location, only about 5 mins walk to the main Central Station. Centre of town was close too, but it was nice and quiet away from all the hustle & bustle and noise.
All of the hotel staff, including the cleaning staff and another receptionist named Olivia, were polite and friendly during our whole stay.
We had a great weekend staying at this hotel, I would definately recommend it to others and would have no hesitation booking it again for any future trips to Newcastle :)

Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Express® com outros hóspedes. As Classificações de experiência

By

November 24, 2017

platinumelite

or dedicar seu tempo para compartilhar sua experiência de sua estada no Holiday Inn Express® com outros hóspedes. As Classificações de experiência do hóspede abaixo mostradas forma geradas com base em suas respostas de nossa p

Read More
Read Less

A credit to the IHG Brand

By

October 20, 2014

A really pleasant stay. Staff friendly and curtious at all times. room very comfortable and the public areas clean and tidy. Overall I was very impressed with this hotel and look forward to staying here again in the very near future! A special thanks to John for his assistance and patience when I had a credit card issue.

Read More
Read Less

redcap

By

October 18, 2014

club

had two excellent trip to newcastle, its a lovely city, the hotel very close to the station, which is for my wife and i because we normally travel by train, the weather was excellent, which made the trip even better, the breakfast at the hotel was good, enough choice to last all day, which cuts the expenses down. i will always stay in holiday inn

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle. We hope you will come back and visit our hotel again soon. Kind regards Lee Anderson
Read More
Read Less

great stay

By

October 16, 2014

club

Arrived 2 hours early due to our flight time but the staff were so accommodating and found us a room we could check into immediately. It was only a 5 minute walk from central station which was great. Room was spacious, clean with a top range tv and shower. The bedding was so great it was nearly too warm but at this time of year it was lovely. Stayed 2 nights on a girls weekend and bar staff and door man were lovely, helpful and made us feel safe. Thoroughly recommend.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon. Kind regards Lee Anderson
Read More
Read Less

very friendly staff, very clean,nice lounge

By

October 16, 2014

occupied 3 rooms, staff were very helpful as we had early and late flights, nothing was too much trouble, would definitely recommend,

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle City Centre. We hope you will come back and stay with us again in the near future. Kind regards Lee Anderson
Read More
Read Less

Good location

By

October 15, 2014

Stayed one night in newcastle holiday inn express, good deal on price, well located for pubs etc. room nice and clean, good facilities in room, including tea & coffee although no biscuits. Powerful shower, breakfast was basic but ok. Overall a lovely stay.

Read More
Read Less

Good central stopover for Chinatown and Shopping

By

October 14, 2014

Could see from Google Maps that there was parking over the road up till 8am for free so saved on parking costs. We have stayed Holiday Inn Express before in Belfast so knew the formula. Checked in and walked the 10min down to Chinatown for an 'all you can eat'
buffet, back to the quiet hotel bar, open to 11pm.
Breakfast buffet had cold and hot options, self service and off to our sports event just before 8am, all good

Read More
Read Less

Central Hotel

By

October 10, 2014

club

Overall a very nice hotel which suited our needs. The only downside was the breakfast choice - arrived down about half hour prior to close of breakfast to find little choice left especially with hot food. Staff were very quick to switch of toaster and clear away items. I have never experienced this in any other Holiday Inn.
It will not deter me from staying again as front desk staff were very obliging and friendly.

Read More
Read Less

Home from home a monst friends

By

October 10, 2014

platinumelite

Great welcome by willing to help staff. Always do their best to cheer you up when you've had a long day and can't do enough to help.
Home from home.

Read More
Read Less

Staff were excellent

By

October 09, 2014

Rooms (2, for my family) were spotless, smelled clean, plenty of towels. Staff were extremely courteous and kind, nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. Fantastic location. One blot on the landscape were the men shouting and swearing at about 5am in the courtyard, but Newcastle on a weekend is a party city, so no real gripes there. I would definately recommend and stay again.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that everything was up to your standards during your stay and my colleagues were courteous and kind and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Lee Anderson Guest Services
Read More
Read Less

K.J.

By

October 08, 2014

club

Very clean and comfortable hotel and well positioned for our Birthday Bash nearby.Excellent service during our brief stay.Well done.

Read More
Read Less