Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Newport

Lakeside Drive Coedkernew , Newport, NP10 8BB

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
97%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.6

based on 191 reviews
97%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

191reviews

  • 5 Stars
    127
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

lovely hotel

By

October 20, 2014

club

lovely hotel, just unfortunate my room near a lift and a little noisy then.

Read More
Read Less

Attentive staff

By

October 15, 2014

club

We stayed here with friends for three nights, and enjoyed our stay. We were made to feel at ease. I was not recognised as being a IHG Rewards Club Member, when booking in! A small oversight I am sure! Both our rooms were together on the same floor. Breakfast was good if just the same for the stay. Staff overall were very good. In fact I would to thank the house keeper who retrieved a hearing aid that was left in my room. I only noticed this 20 mins into the journey home, phoned reception who informed house keeping,,we returned and I was reunited with the ear piece. Thank you.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for not being acknowledged as an IHG member on arrival as your loyalty is very important to us. but where happy to hear that you were reunited with your property, and that you enjoyed all the other hotel facilities. Guest satisfaction is Important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Victoria Williams Guest service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great base for Welsh Adventure

By

October 14, 2014

Lovely hotel, very close to the M4, allowed us the opportunity to drive around Newport, Cardiff and Merthyr Tydfill. I will definitely be booking here again soon. Breakfast buffet is a little limited though.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 16, 2014
Good Evening, I would just like to firstly thank you for your lovely feedback. It is a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and have found that the Hotel caters to their needs. I am sorry to hear that you found our breakfast selection to be limited we do strive our very best to try and deliver a good selection when it comes to our complimentary breakfast. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you to the Hotel in the near future should you be visiting the area. Many Thanks Kate Fletcher Guest Service Assistant
Read More
Read Less

Nice quiet hotel with friendly staff

By

October 07, 2014

club

New looking hotel with clean rooms and very friendly staff.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 10, 2014
Dear Loyal Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we are extremely happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and pleased to hear you received great customer service from the team. We always pride ourselves on delivering the best welcome and to ensure we deliver a “Great hotel that guests love.” Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon Kind regards, Victoria Williams Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Good Stay

By

October 01, 2014

club

This is a clean, comfortable Holiday Inn Express.
I was staying for an on site for a training seminar. The conference rooms were spacious, clean and tidy. They had an area outside of the rooms to have relax, have lunch, tea breaks. The only negative was that the windows could not be open in the conference room so no fresh air available. Ours was a seminar which included physical work so feeling hot, stuffy and tired by end of day.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 04, 2014
Dear Donna Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to our hotel, we're delighted to hear you found the conference rooms spacious clean, comfortable and happy you could relax. We're sorry to hear you could not open the window in this particular room and that this caused some discomfort during your seminar, due to health and safety regulations we have to have restrictions on our windows but they are still able to open a considerable amount to receive fresh air in the room. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible. Yours sincerely Victoria Williams Guest service manager
Read More
Read Less

Clean comfortable room

By

September 25, 2014

Overall room very comfortable and clean. Poor quality breakfast with very little choice. Staff very helpful

Posted byHotelStaff
September 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Sincerely Victoria Williams Guest service Manager
Read More
Read Less

bedroom

By

September 24, 2014

club

Was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. The only thing was the air conditioning unit was on the wall adjacent to where I slept and kept coming on in the night.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent review concerning your stay. Kind comments are always welcomed from our valued guests it allows to continually develop our business and provide a better service to our guests. I have noted your issue regarding the air conditioning and I will ensure that the maintenance team rectify immediately. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future. Kind Regards, Michael Oates General Manager
Read More
Read Less

A glorious wedding weekend

By

September 24, 2014

club

My daughter got ready for her wedding at this hotel and left from here on a tractor/trailer. Our family had 8 rooms plus one of her bridesmaids booked separately. When I stayed here a couple of months ago I explained what the rooms were going to be for and asked if we could have them all on the same floor. This was happily accommodated. Although we all arrived at different times and had different needs nothing was too much problem for the staff. Our rooms were 'left on the day' undisturbed while we all got ready, but had clearly been serviced when we got back after the reception. I would like to thank all concerned.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us, We are delighted you found our staff very friendly and efficient and that your special requests were successfully met during your stay. Guest satisfaction is Important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Victoria Williams Guest service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

September 17, 2014

club

This hotel is well situated for the M4 which is great for breaking a long journey. We had a clean, spacious room and a comfy bed. Hotel staff were welcoming and breakfast was fine and was included in the price. Pub next door was handy for evening meal. Would stay here again if travelling this way.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read that we have had another satisfied guest stay at our hotel. Furthermore to know that you would come and stay with us again in the future is always a welcome compliment. Once again thank you for your review I look forward to welcoming you as our guest again in the near future. Kindest Regards, Michael Oates General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great service and really friendly

By

September 17, 2014

I really like this hotel. I come down this way quite a lot for family reasons and prefer this to other hotels locally.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 21, 2014
Dear Dave, Many thanks for your review on the Holiday Inn Express Newport. I am pleased to notice that you are a returning guest of ours and that you would preferably stay at our hotel rather than our competitor hotels. I look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future. Kind Regards, Michael Oates General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Maid Service is Poor

By

September 15, 2014

The service staff removed our do not disturb sign from the door, folded our wet towels, laid our toiletries out on the counter (germy!) and straightened up our personal items. This is not acceptable. I recommend that you avoid this hotel.

The room had not been dusted in weeks.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We appreciate all feedback given, good and bad as we can then use this to improve our services and facilities. We take pride in our customer service and room cleanliness, I am disappointed to see on this occasion we have failed to achieve our usual high standard. I have investigated your feedback and I can see that it was successfully resolved upon departure, however should you feel the need to discuss this further then please do not hesitate to contact us. I hope this has not deterred you from using our brand of hotels and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Kind regards Philippa Ebdon Guest Service Manager
Read More
Read Less

Wish we could stay longer.

By

September 02, 2014

My family stayed here for 2 nights and 3days. From the moment we arrived it was like the staff were there for us and only us. The hotel was busy but nothing was too much trouble. The room was large clean and tidy. The bathroom was spotless and even the pillows were labelled firm and soft. Each room had its own climate control. Breakfast was hot or cold or both. With plenty to eat. The bar served food to 9.30pm but did snacks during the night. I would stay here again and hope to over the Christmas school holidays.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 07, 2014
Dear Helen, Firstly I would like to thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and felt welcome at our Hotel. I'm glad to hear that our food and beverage facilities catered to your needs and that you found there was plenty to choose from at breakfast. Our Housekeeping will be pleased to hear that their efforts have not gone unnoticed and I will tell them to keep up the good work. We look forward to welcoming you back over the Christmas period. Once again thank you for your review, Kate Fletcher Guest Service Assistant
Read More
Read Less