Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld-Beach Area

4540 Mission Bay Drive , San Diego, California 92109

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
78%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.9

based on 145 reviews
78%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

145reviews

  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    13

Subpar

By

June 20, 2021

club

I’ve stayed at about 10 Holiday Inn Expresses. This one is clearly a step (or two) below the others. The property is very dated and looks a bit beat up. While the room AC worked fine, the hallway and elevator temperatures were high. I would get whiffs of weed throughout the property including my room. There was often a group or two loitering in the parking lot, which was a bit unnerving. The room seemed smaller than other Holiday Inn Expresses.

On the positive side, the mattress was comfortable. I thought the Covid-reduced breakfast offerings were decent. All the staff I interacted with were courteous and professional.

Overall, I would recommend staying somewhere else for a slightly higher rate.

Read More
Read Less

WORST IHG chain hotel EVER

By

September 30, 2020

club

We've usually had great experiences with the Holiday Inn chain, so despite noticing that this was a "2-Star" location, we decided to book our 1-night stay as it seemed convenient. NOTHING about this place resembles your run-of-the-mill Holiday Inn.

We were placed in room 252 I believe, a double queen room. I think the only thing that was replaced or updated in the entire building probably 15 years ago was the tan and brown granite sink? The door to our room had to be opened by throwing your shoulder into it, otherwise it was stuck shut from a warped threshold. Our bathroom door had a HOLE punched through it that was painted over to try to hide and an orange marbled shower from most likely the 70's? There's a rickety shower contraption that breaks open every time you try to pump out some shower gel or shampoo. The tub floor has no traction and NO ANTI-SLIP MATS ARE PROVIDED for those looking for a lawsuit opportunity. The metal rack over the toilet was hanging out of of the wall from loose bolts. The towel could have doubled as sandpaper to smooth out the edges of the hole in the door. One reason we decided on this location was due to all of the positive reviews about the beds being comfortable... Unfortunately, the beds were about as plush as sleeping in a sleeping bag on the floor, uncomfortably stiff.

There is ONE small elevator in the very middle of the building. Parking is very limited, even the number of handicap spots are few. The hallways REEK of chemicals, and not just typical cleaners like bleach, more like the kind that they use to tent homes to kill termites with... which is basically what I felt like staying there.

It seems the manager is definitely using COVID as an excuse to do as LITTLE as possible. Despite advertising a continental breakfast, what you actually receive is a paper bag with a a few unappetizing items WITHOUT ANY DRINK OR EVEN WATER. Your "continental breakfast" includes a single piece of bruised fruit, an aspartame-packed cup of Light&Fit yogurt, a granola bar, and a mini-muffin. Seriously. Nothing hot, cooked, baked, or fresh.
I had asked the seemingly confused girl at the counter for a couple bottles of water as nothing to drink was given to my husband when he picked up our "continental breakfast". She informed me that due to COVID, they were not allowed to hand out "beverages". I told her that was fine, I didn't need any coffee or orange juice, we just needed a couple bottles of water to be on our way. In response I was informed that BOTTLED WATER was a "BEVERAGE" and they were not providing "anything like that" to their guests... No apologies, no remorse, and apparently NO LOGIC either. When I asked for the manager's name, the front desk girl conveniently didn't know her own managers last name!

We paid almost $125 to stay there and be treated like trash bins. Good to know what this Holiday Inn location thinks of its patrons. Surprisingly enough, we were not carried off by cockroaches in the middle of the night.

Despite all of our traveling, no one in my family will ever be a Holiday Inn customer again. I'm disgusted with what IHG deemed was acceptable by their usually high standards, the undisclosed issues pre-reservation which were intentionally and DECEITFULLY hidden, such as the "continental breakfast", until we had arrived and were then unable to get our money back?!? False advertising is a serious issue, not to mention the death trap bathroom we were given and ridiculously rock-hard mattresses in our room.
I'd love to hear these eventual law suit issues explained and the justification for the outrageous price for this no-tell motel your chain has made available to it's loyal customers!!!

Read More
Read Less

Stay somewhere else and avoid IHG brand hotels.

By

September 10, 2020

club

Please be aware that the website fraudulently says the pool and other amenities are open when in fact they are closed. Local and state Covid regulations allow these to be open but the hotel staff will use Covid as an excuse. The hotel management does't return phone calls or emails and IHG customer relations and IHG Corporate do not care either and do not want to help. And yes, the hallways do smell like weed all the time.

Read More
Read Less

Stay somewhere else and avoid IHG brand hotels.

By

September 09, 2020

club

Please be aware that the website fraudulently says the pool and other amenities are open when in fact they are closed. Local and state Covid regulations allow these to be open but the hotel staff will use Covid as an excuse. The hotel management does't return phone calls or emails and IHG customer relations and IHG Corporate do not care either and do not want to help. And yes, the hallways do smell like weed all the time.

Read More
Read Less

Worst HIE I’ve ever stayed at

By

July 14, 2020

club

First of all if I could give “0” I would. I always make Holiday Inn express the hotel I prefer to stay at when I travel. During this Covid crisis I just needed to get away from home for a few days to relax and unwind. First of all when I got there, they were very unfriendly and not welcoming at all. No rewards member recognition. No rewards package as I would normally have gotten with water and a snack and what have you. Then I was told that the pool was not open nor were they serving breakfast anymore. There was no indication of this on the website when I booked my reservation. The bathroom was filthy with Dirt on the floor. I had to ask to have hand soap brought to the room because there was none. in fact there no amenities whatsoever no lotion no shampoo no nothing. So in order to go swimming we had to get in the car and go down to the beach which was fine but that wasn’t what I was wanting to do. So on my last morning I went down to ask about the to go bag for breakfast. I was given an orange a granola bar and a warm yogurt with a spoon. For the money that I paid for this trip I am very very disappointed in Holiday Inn express. I may have to Rethink where I stay for any future trips. I have traveled from here to Washington and stayed at some of the nicest Holiday Inn even in the smallest of towns. This being in the San Diego it should’ve been a top notch Holiday Inn express. And it should definitely be stated on the website that services are not available.

Read More
Read Less

CRACK PIPE & BLOOD ON SHEETS

By

June 04, 2020

If I could give this hotel a score below “0”, I would!!! Absolutely Disgusting and unsafe!!
When we first entered the room it smelled as if someone just smoked marijuana in the room. Had to open windows to air out. Daughters found blood in two spots on sheets & covers. Next morning upon packing our things my daughter found a bulb style crack pipe under the bed and put it to her mouth and started playing with it until I recognized what it was. Took it to the front desk to complain and although the girl at the counter was very sorry, she texted her manager pictured and no response. I emailed the company’s HR dept and haven’t heard anything. Haven’t been refunded my points or anything for this nasty room stay. Took my daughter immediately to the doctor to get tested for anything that could have been left on the pipe. My wife and I are so upset that we are “this close” to contacting an attorney or the local news!!! I will never never never stay at this roach motel again!!!

Read More
Read Less

Great service

By

October 14, 2019

Small building, good location, excellent customer service, comfortable beds and pillows, good choices in breakfast.

Read More
Read Less

Worst Hotel Experience ever

By

June 29, 2019

club

Made reservation two months in advance. They gave me a room for handicapped. The fire alarm and the carbon monoxide located on the ceiling were covered with plastic. The room was dirty and stunk. The smallest pool I have ever been in. I had to clean it myself in order for my son to get in. I asked to speak to a Manager in which they declined. They finally gave me a room. Wow I never knew Holiday Inn treated there guests like this. I was unable to give you a rating, I was totally disappointed.

Read More
Read Less

Very friendly staff

By

October 19, 2014

platinumelite

Very good experience from the moment we entered the property. Well kept and very friendly staff.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for your very friendly review of your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area! We strive to provide a clean, comfortable hotel which coupled with our unfailingly friendly staff makes for a great experience for all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit! Juan Alarid, General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Excellent Stay

By

October 16, 2014

club

I had a lovely stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld. The hotel is in a perfect location right on the I-5 but removed from noise and staff were exceptional. The front desk gave me directions to the local grocery store and the cleaning staff went out of their way to make the room as immaculate and bright as possible. The hotel provided an excellent complimentary breakfast and I enjoyed the complimentary USA Today each morning. I received free wi-fi with the room and found the bed quite comfortable and the hotel safe and secure. I would absolutely return to this hotel and recommend it to others.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for your most excellent review of the Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area! Our hotel is located just minutes from SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, OldTown, Beaches and many more atteactions! Our staff strives hard to make sure that all of our guests feel at their home away from home whilst at the hotel and it seems like we were able to accomplish that with you.We hope to see you again soon! Juan Alarid, General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Special Staf

By

October 14, 2014

club

Everyone who works at this property was excellent, I was there for a month and everyone went the extra mile to assure being away from home for this long was as pleasant as possible.
Juan, the manager leads a great team including Cecily, Darrian, Rose and Yadira.
Maria- 3rd floor housekeeping, kept my room just as I like it and I am sure the entire housekeeping staff was great.

This is a very good property and the entire staff was most accommodating. I have already made my next reservation.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for writing such a special review of your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area. I am delighted that we were able to provide a great stay for you and truly be your home away from home, especially for that long of a period of time. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerley, Juan Alarid, General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Family Friendly Stay

By

October 13, 2014

club

The front office personnel made our stay very pleasant by offering better accommodations than what our prepaid travel program booked us for. Our room was equipped with an infant crib/bed and we had plenty of bedding for the entire family. The pool was nice and clean each day, and I was surprised to see so many guests make use of the hotel pool everyday.

We were very close to attractions, the many beaches, and good places to eat that we don't have elsewhere on the west coast.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a friendly review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area. Our staff strives hard to offer a clean, friendly hotel that our guests can call their home away from home. Our fun sized swimming pool is a hit with our guests but many more prefer the big Pacific Ocean Pool just a few miles away! I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our great location close to many of San Diegos' well known attractions like SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. We hope to see you again soon! Juan Alarid,General Manager
Read More
Read Less