Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport-Old Town

1955 San Diego Avenue , San Diego, California 92110

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
93%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 467 reviews
93%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

467reviews

  • 5 Stars
    313
  • 4 Stars
    99
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    9

Outstanding service for MCRD related activities

By

October 18, 2021

We stayed at the Old Town Holiday Inn Express in order to be at our sons' graduation from Marine boot camp. This hotel is PERFECT for those of you looking to do the same thing. The hotel is only a few minutes from MCRD and provides a free shuttle to/from the base. The best part of using the shuttles is that they can bypass the long lines that normal cars have to endure. Meaning that instead of an hour(s) to get through the checkpoint, it will only take you 15 minutes or so. Also, the main shuttle driver, Nick is a wealth of information and knows EVERYTHING about the graduation process. Nick also knows the rest of San Diego very well and can offer advice and taxi information to get you to other tourist spots as well.

The hotel is also VERY close to the airport, so the shuttle ride is less than 10 minutes door-to-door. Very good breakfast choices and the breakfast runs from 6-10 a.m., so plenty of time to choose to eat. And there isn't any extra charge for the breakfast.

The hotel is in a fairly nice neighborhood too...within walking distance of quite a few shops and restaurants in the "Old Town" area. We felt quite safe walking in the area, even after dark.

The only downside and the reason for the average "sleep quality" rating is the hotel is right next to a busy interstate...so lots of road noise; especially as "city life" starts to pick up by 5 a.m.

You'll likely find hotel rooms for less money, but I highly doubt you'll find a better value.

Read More
Read Less

Something has changed

By

September 27, 2021

This used to be our favorite hotel, but something seriously has changed. This property is no longer what it used to be. The beautiful oasis that we used to look forward to is no longer. It is looking run down, and not cared for as in the past. This hotel used to serve fresh breakfast, now it is a prepackaged sandwich from Sam's Club, no fresh fruit and forget bacon or sausage. But I could live with that if the room was clean like before. We found mold growing in the bathtub, the carpet smelled like it has never been cleaned and the bathroom floor was really dirty, especially gross was the black ring around the base of the toilet.(See pics) Can you say bleach?? In addition, the USB ports by the bed are broken, I reported, hopefully the'll fix them.
Signs of neglect are everywhere. Outside there is a very cozy patio with wood furniture and a beautiful fountain--but the furniture is sun stripped and there are no longer cushions. Fountain was turned off, so dont know if its broken. Very sad, I hope this place will get it together very soon.

Read More
Read Less

No one cares about YOU

By

July 31, 2021

Hello friends. I hope to make your vacation better and as such, please do not choose this motel. My family stayed here on our way to visit Hawaii on July 19 and the overall experience was ok. On our return we decided to stay loyal to them and return. As we were disembarking from the flight, we called for our shuttle service and were told that we would have a couple of minutes wait. Following a conversation of about half an hour with our airlines, we were still sitting on the bench waiting for our shuttle service. We waited about 40 minutes. When we got to the motel, the man behind the register told us that there would be a one hundred fifty dollar security deposit. The security deposit was actually $50 and he claimed that he said $100 and then changed it to $50. Too rude to admit he was wrong. When we got to our room, the beds were hard as rocks; I actually thought I may be sleeping on a box spring. The sheets were also very wet. This explained why the air conditioning was on at full strength to the point where we were freezing. I went to the desk to complain and the man behind the counter said he would "make note of that". Upon returning home, I attempted to present my problem to the corporate offices. My first call was at 7:51 and I was told that I would get a call back in 6 minutes. They called me back... at 1:10 a.m. The next morning I decided to call this specific motel; my first call was at 11:47 a.m. They took my phone number and said they would call back. At 3:25 p.m., I decided to call again. Supposedly, the manager was "in a meeting". My phone number and my email address were both "taken". I called again at 7:10 p.m. (San Diego time) and was told that the manager only works from 8-4pm. The man this time told me that he could transfer me to a voicemail. The box was full and could not accept any new messages. Long story short, this establishment does not care about YOU. You are a number and most likely an inconvenience. They have no interest in making your vacation nice; they want your money and then to discard you. They don't accept criticism and won't improve for you. Please find a better place to stay; I mean, you couldn't pick worse.

Read More
Read Less

Staff do not follow their own sanitary rules!!

By

June 15, 2021

Their own staff seem to think the sanitary COVID rules do not apply to them.

The ground floor is very noisy (from within, I am not referring to outside noise) and it is difficult to get a good sleep.

They no longer offer the welcome bags with snacks and water.

Read More
Read Less

Great service

By

May 16, 2021

The staff were excellent!!! Nick, the shuttle driver, was very personable and knowledgeable. Helpful and great! Art, at the desk, was also very helpful! This is the place to be for Marine families!!! I've stayed in about 20 different Holiday Inns, this is by far my best experience!!

Read More
Read Less

Incorrect Charges

By

April 26, 2021

I was quoted $229 for a Park and Fly rate (one night's stay and 1 weeks parking). When I returned from my flight, I found out that I was charged $249 for the Park and Fly. No one at the desk had the authority to refund the additional difference.
When I called the following day, about the additional $20, I was unable to get a refund. Get the prices in writing!

Read More
Read Less

Service

By

January 22, 2020

Kyleen was very helpful over the phone with planning my stay and reservation. When we got there are room was not ready and the staff made up for that over and above. Art is the BEST!!! His infectious smile and laugh made our long days at MCRD better when he picked us up at the depot. What an asset to your company!!! We love ART...and we heard many others say the same.

Read More
Read Less

Holiday Bowl Stay

By

December 29, 2019

We have stayed here several time over the past 14 years, but this was our first time staying over Christmas. The hotel staff is amazing. Vangie & Kylene helped with the reservation and booked us in our favorite room . Glades is as kind as anyone we've ever met. Jose, Elia and Josh are top notch photographers and fashion consultants. Thanks Eddie & Fernando for the shuttle rides.

Read More
Read Less

The Best Holiday Inn Express Hotel EVER!

By

November 22, 2019

club

This quaint little property has the nicest staff and the the most awesome hot breakfast spread we have had in a long long time! The free shuttle service was top notch with very pleasant staff (Special mention to Fernando!) to take us around. It was always available within a wait of 10 minutes at the max! We used it for Airport pickup and also a few times to/from Old Town.
The staff at the reception were warm and friendly. We were treated to a bottle of water and a snack bar each on arrival which is such a rarity these days! The little snack shop next to the reception was stocked with just the right snack/beverage options that were not too overpriced. My kids even enjoyed a portion of free & fresh popcorn in the evening at the reception area!
The bed was very comfortable and we had a great night's rest. The main attraction was the superb hot breakfast the next morning with the perfect hosts Gladis and Wally who were so friendly and courteous making sure that nothing ran out for the hotel guests that kept pouring in! The delicious pan cakes and vegetable/cheese omelettes along with hot oat meal, assorted breads and breakfast cake made a sumptuous breakfast! Gladis even treated all the kids in the breakfast room to little toys from a treasure chest (my kids picked bouncy balls and were so thrilled!). Small gestures go such a long way in making an impression!
All in all a fantastic stay. We are definitely staying here again if we even visit San Diego again!
KUDOS to the entire team. Keep rocking

Read More
Read Less

Great Service

By

October 28, 2019

I can't say enough about our stay. Friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms and many accommodations. We stayed for our Marine's graduation from MCRD San Diego. The staff is a "well oiled machine" knowing the times and procedures for friends & family attending the Meet and Greet Dinner, Family Day and Graduation Day. Shuttle service was impeccable. Fernando, Alex, Victor and Art are very friendly and helpful while shuttling family and friends to MCRD. Shuttle service was the way to go for us...pick up and drop off at the airport. Fast and easy curbside service to and from MCRD (no waiting in line). Breakfast was free and delicious! We would definitely stay here again!

Read More
Read Less

Mr

By

October 26, 2019

Very nice and helpful staff. They have shuttle to MCRD for meet and greet, family day and graduation ,airport also. Alex, Victor and Art are the best, get you to where you need to be on time. Outstanding shuttle service

Read More
Read Less

Vacation

By

October 13, 2019

We stayed at this hotel for the 4th time now and we really enjoy it. It is close to the Airport, Zoo and Old Town. The staff is great and the shuttles driver's are very accommodating. I always recommend this hotel and if I get a chance to return to this area I will stay here again. Also, liked the new fitness center and the room and hotel remodel

Read More
Read Less