Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown

1430 Seventh Avenue , San Diego, California 92101

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 301 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

301reviews

  • 5 Stars
    160
  • 4 Stars
    84
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    17

Wedding Rings Went Missing!!!!

By

October 24, 2021

How was my experience at the Holiday Inn Express in Downtown San Diego? A little shy of an utter nightmare, considering that my diamond wedding ring & bands went missing. Yes, missing!!!!

Our first night was less than comfortable as my husband had to adjust the AC unit at least 5x in the middle of the night since it would cut off constantly (perhaps the temperature gauge wasn’t working). Nonetheless, the next morning we went to the front desk and we informed Amanda, who suggested to have their maintenance worker stop by to take a look.
Considering our short stay, the possibilities of another sleepless night and to avoid people entering our room, I requested to switch rooms. Amanda seemed perturbed and inconvenienced to have to conduct the switch but she proceeded.

After the room switch, I took an AM snooze while my children went to the pool with my husband. Upon returning, we all started getting ready, I then remembered I had left my ring on the bathroom vanity!!! In a complete panic, I went to the front desk to see if anyone had turned in my rings, Amanda checked and she said no had turned anything in. I then requested access to the old room, as Amanda reassured me that no one had entered the room nor had the room been cleaned (STORY #1) after one of the house keepers concurred. Feeling hopeful, I paced to the old room to find NO ring. I go find my husband to help me search the room. Nothing! He does discover that the AC unit was blasting at 62 degrees, which indicates someone indeed entered the room because my husband did not leave it in that setting.

We rushed back to the Front Desk to get more information about the possibility of additional personnel access to the room. Amanda changes her initial story and states only the housekeeper supervisor (named Iris) entered the room to walk through it to ensure it was empty (STORY #2). At that point we requested for a manager, in which we get Patrick (a shift supervisor).

The way the entire situation was handled demonstrated the lack of customer skills, knowledge of adequate response by both Amanda and Patrick. I wasn’t just missing a phone charger or an electronic device. I was missing my diamond rings, a valuable and sentimental possession. Their reactions and lack of response made it that much worse. Patrick refused to give any information as to whether or not additional people actually entered the room. His only response was “I took down your statement, at this point you need fo call 911 to file a police report and we will give them the information so they can handle it”. I could not believe his response. It should have been “We will do our best to get to the bottom of it. I will contact my general manager immediately, conduct a thorough investigation and get back to you by the end of day” or something more reassuring considering we were scheduled to check out of the hotel the following morning and a police report for a stolen item is bottom of the totem pole with the crimes police are probably handling in Downtown San Diego.

In complete despair, we wait for the San Diego police to return our call. In the meantime, our entire family was on standby instead of enjoying a day in San Diego. Almost an hour later, there was a knock at the door and it was Miccah, the General Manager, with my rings in his hand. I gave him a big hug thanking him for returning my rings. My husband asked what happened and he gave a less than believable story. I shared the maintenance man indeed entered the room (Story #3) for maintenance on the AC and found my rings on the floor next the door frame and put the ring “in his pocket”. Yet when I went to inform Amanda, no one had turned in rings. So the “maintenance” person had my rings in his pocket the entire morning and early afternoon without turning the rings in (since the initial room switch until Miccah’s knock)???!!!! No, someone pocketed my rings and no reassurance that anyone would be held accountable or even a mere apology for the terrible experience of our stay!!!! Instead, the following morning at checkout, Amanda checks us out barely making eye contact with a monotones demeanor and asks if I want a receipt for my parking stay chargers for the 2 nights!! Again no apology, not even a simple thank you for choosing Holiday Inn…nothing. Maybe simple customer service 101 phrases is too much of an expectation.

An absolute nightmare of an experience and poor reflection of Holiday Inn as a company.

Read More
Read Less

No security

By

July 19, 2021

club

My vehicle was broken into and burglarized. There are no cameras inside the parking garage and they charge you $23 per night for no security. My car was parked in the lighted section next to elevator and it was still broken into. When talking to security people and management, they confirmed that there was nothing they could do since they have no cameras inside the parking structure. Park at your own risk. Several people had break-in's during the same night I stayed. Would not recommend staying anywhere downtown.

Read More
Read Less

Perfect location but not a nice hotel

By

July 13, 2021

As an IHG member I was extremely disappointed in this hotel. I want to be clear in starting with this review that the staff was great but I believe the issues I experienced were above them for the most part. On the website it states there’s a shuttle however the shuttle at this location was discontinued. Luckily the airport is only 10min away. I’m not sure why this shuttle isn’t up and running but the bayside location is. Anyways, I arrived to hotel early and I appreciated the room upgrade that staff attempted to give me so I didn’t have to wait in the lobby however the entire third floor smelled like smoke. The room was clean but when I pulled the pull out couch it smelled like weed. By this time the staff was gracious enough to move me to another room. In the lobby the doors were open which is why I’m assuming there were so many nats flying around but when I went into my new room there were nats in there which was bothersome to me. At this point I just sucked it up because it was either be in a room that smells like smoke or deal with a few nats. This made my stay cringeworthy. The infrastructure overall was outdated except for the gym. Also, there was no drinking water available in the hotel. After going to every floor machine that was sold out, the front desk stated they didn’t have any water either. That bothered me because I expected more from a hotel, especially an IHG hotel. On a positive note the location is perfect.

Read More
Read Less

Parking is tight

By

July 06, 2021

club

The check in went smoothly. I was surprised when told that we would have to pay $23 to park each night. It was not noted that it was extra for parking. The parking is tight to say the least. We have a larger vehicle, a Tahoe, My husband was able to maneuver his way into a parking space. Thankfully there were several restaurants in the area within walking distance, because we didn’t want to try and park again. The room was clean and updated. The pool was deceiving in the picture. It’s small and only 3 1/2 feet across the whole pool. We stayed for 3 days and no maid service was available because of Covid, but Covid restrictions were lifted. The trash cans were super tiny. Kind of frustrating when there is no maid service. We were able to get extra towels no problem. The first two days we had continental breakfast. It was decent, muffins were great! Breakfast staff very pleasant. The third day was eggs, bacon, bagels. The kids missed the Cinnabon’s lol. Overall it was good. Not the best, but not the worst.

Read More
Read Less

One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at

By

September 08, 2020

club

Okay, I want to start off with I requested to be near my family friends when I booked. When I got there they said sorry but no, we have no record of it. We can’t do that for you. It was extremely hot in the reservations area, and I was getting really annoyed of the girl making excuses of why she couldn’t . She said I can come back tomorrow and ask if she can. I have a child it’s not easy to just switch rooms. I rather have the room now so I don’t have to switch that’s why I called in the first place. The parking structure was ridiculous. We couldn’t go up the structure. They made us reverse all the way to this large parking area part and park in a parking spot that was not very safe. It was hard to get out of it as well. I felt like we were going to hit the big poles. Then, I go to my room ready to take a shower and there was only 1 towel. Okay, how are we suppose to shower with 1 towel?! I see a maid and I ask her if I can have a towel. She was extremely rude and she gave me a little hand towels. I’m like, I’m not going to accept those. I am NOT drying my self with a little hand towel. And then I called the front desk, she was like oh yeah I remember you you were the one that wanted to be by the other people. I told her I had to take a shower with little towels. And she’s like “well since you already showered I guess you don’t need them anymore” like what the heck. I am paying a lot for this hotel to be treated bad. Then we see the air condition the wires are sticking out of it and the lid isn’t even on it correctly. We called and told them, you know we have a child we’re scared he is gonna touch the wires. Instead of just giving us a new room they called a guy in to fix it. I felt really uneasy about it. We are in a pandemic I don’t want a strange person coming in the room to touch everything while we are in there. The whole stay was ridiculous, I was very unhappy with the way the girls at the front desk treated me, the point I didn’t have any towels and the parking structure. I would never stay this hotel again due to it. Also, the evaluators stunk so bad I couldn’t handle the smell of it every time I went in it. I hope this review reaches someone and they change. I believe the girls name was Sam that was rude to me on the phone.

Read More
Read Less

Not what I expected

By

September 08, 2020

club

The parking to the hotel is in a sketchy parking lot. The hotel parking lot is also accessed by the public, it’s dark, smells bad and very unsafe. The hotel itself has a lot of homeless around it. When I was checking in at least 6 transients were walking in to the hotel, they were heading up to their rooms. The hallway to my room smelled like weed and the room smelled like cigarettes and it had a big red stain on the carpet. Opening the window didn’t help since people were smoking out on the balconies so the smoke would come into our room. Breakfast was only served from 7-9:30am, and had a small selection muffins, some cereal, milk juice and coffee, that was it . They had no actual breakfast food. Oh and the pool is only 3 feet deep . Definitely not worth it, horrible experience will never book again

Read More
Read Less

Small not worth the price

By

July 28, 2020

club

I stayed in the room with balcony which cost more than the standard room.

The bathroom is small, toilet too low. It’s like the toilet in public places low. Kinda was uncomfortable.

The carpet is dirty. Before bed I always had to wipe mine & my toddlers feet, black marks.

For the price, it sucks that they didn’t have a microwave inside the room, they had one in the lobby.

The parking lot is underground, small & having to pay for it per night sucked. If you drive a big car, make sure you’re a really good driver lol
However the elevator is convenient it takes you from the parking lot to the lobby and even up whichever floor your room is in.

For the price, I wouldn’t stay here again if I have a choice. Not worth the price.

Read More
Read Less

Bed and customer service

By

December 13, 2019

club

The staff was very professional and nice. Samatha and Patrick were really outstanding. They went the extra mile to help make our anniversary wonderful.
However due to having back issues, the bed was too hard for me. Samantha tried to assist by providing more comforters. It did help a little. The parking garage was a little tight and we had to be careful but overall our stay was great.

Read More
Read Less

Very good breakfast and shuttle service !!

By

September 13, 2019

Special mention to your front desk executive Kevin who made our stay very comfortable, he helped us with booking shuttle service to & fro Balboa Park/Airport. Always had a smile on his face and was ready to help! Amazing breakfast spread. So far the best experience we've had! highly recommend. My only complaint is that my restroom had a sliding door which was a hassle with my toddler trying to open/close it all the time

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable with a semi-reasonable price

By

October 18, 2014

Title says it all. Not necessarily cheap, but definitely a reasonable price for the quality and location.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent Stay!

By

October 17, 2014

platinumelite

Facility inside was great... a little lacking in amenities such as a work out room. But for short stays, the cleanliness, friendliness of staff, little "extras" like happy hour (free wine or soda and snacks), and shuttle service really set this Holiday Inn Express apart.

Read More
Read Less

great staff

By

October 17, 2014

club

Would be perfect if they had a fitness center. Otherwise excellent choice

Read More
Read Less