Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express San Jose Costa Rica Airport

1 Km Al Este Del Aeropuerto Internacional Juan Santamaria Rio Segundo, Alejuela, San Jose, 195-4003

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
97%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.6

based on 165 reviews
97%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

165reviews

  • 5 Stars
    120
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Dangerous and lack of essential info

By

February 18, 2022

DANGEROUS DO NOT SUPPORT THIS BUSINESS! I came with my parents, they travelled far internationally on vacation a couple weeks ago. Holiday Inn left out important policies on both the reservation and their website. We arrived at midnight, both of them tired from traveling overseas. This hotel not only turned me away In the middle of the night when I already had a booking, but also turned away people arrived right after (also with a reservation). Look at their other bad reviews on Google, they have multiple bad reviews going months back saying the same thing and have failed to update this essential information. They are lying in their reply’s saying they include this information on their website, they do not! They also say in their replies it is city/ country policy, this is also a lie as other nearby hotels don’t have this same policy. Regardless, it is reckless dangerous and irresponsible to not inform your guests of this BEFORE they travel multiple hours and sometimes days to a foreign country to be turned away at late hours! Shame on you! Everyone please keep this in mind. Neither myself or my family Will ever support them again and I hope others won’t either. I am informing all my friends and following of this dangerous and unethical business. Please be safe!

Read More
Read Less

Fantastic Staff

By

July 12, 2020

My husband and I were moved to the Holiday Inn Express Airport Hotel in Alajuela, Costa Rica when our hotel did not open because of Covid 19.
We were greeted by Jose at the the front desk, with him and Liz our check in was handled very quickly and with such a welcoming feeling from them both. We were travelling with two service dogs and the staff handled them with affection. Jose offered to help us with dinner reservations for the evening, and made arrangements for the pick up of our rental car. The next day we went to the Airport only to have our flight cancelled for the eighth time. I was very upset by this as we had been trying to go home for more than three months. When we walked back in to the hotel lobby it was still very early and there was no Desk clerk on duty. We were met by Minor who was handling the morning breakfasts. He could see I was not happy and he was sympathetic with our situation and he right away offered to make me a cup of tea and something to eat. Alejandro from the front desk and Minor chatted with us and made us forget our situation as they were so kind. All of the staff just loved our two dogs and the dogs in return liked them. They all were calling them by their names and some had their pictures taken with them. We felt like family and when we left the hotel in the morning after the second night everyone made a point of saying good bye to us. WHAT FANTASTIC STAFF you have!!

Read More
Read Less

Close to airport

By

October 16, 2014

platinumelite

Shuttle is provided for free. Took us to the airport right away. Front desk person was helpful. Had bag breakfast since we left before breakfast started.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear iwantmoremiles, thank you for posting your comments about your stay in our hotel. We are delighted to know how much you liked staying with us and how convenient you found our services and our location (we are less than a mile away from the airport) which allows our guests to have more resting time both when they are arriving from a flight or before departing. Taking care of all of our guests and providing them with all the comforts we can is our outmost desire that is why we do everything we can to make sure that they get everything they were expecting and much more. It was a pleasure being able to serve you. We hope to see you back again very soon. Best regards.
Read More
Read Less

Wonderfully friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms

By

October 15, 2014

platinumelite

We love this hotel. The staff are great and always helpful and friendly. We can pay our exit tax at the front desk upon departure to the airport, which is very convenient. Love that restaurants are within walking distance.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear katiebug, thank you for sharing your delightful comments. we really appreciate them. It is wonderful knowing how our guests love our hotel, its services such as our complimentary daily breakfast, being able to pay the airport´s departure tax right here in the hotel and our free wifi among others; our very convenient location (we are less than a mile away from the airport and just across our parking lot from several car rentals, a couple of restaurants and a casino) and last but not least, of our incredible staff who are always one step ahead complying with our guests´ needs and request in the most friendly and attentive manner to make them feel very comfortable and right at home. Thank you so much for choosing us. it is always a pleasure to have you with us. Best regards.
Read More
Read Less

One of the Best Hotel Experiences Ever

By

October 15, 2014

club

I can't say enough about the super efficient staff at this hotel!! Our checkin was flawless, got our room immediately.

The staff is 1st class all the way!! Some of the friendliest folks on the planet!! Always smiling, always helpful, very attentive and eager to assist!!

Rooms were very nice and roomy. Desk for working, nice comfortable beds, nice bathrooms.

We've now stayed at this hotel 3 times and will do so again next time we're in Costa Rica!!

I can't say enough about the wonderful staff!! They are SUPER FIRST CLASS!!!!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear johnsher85, thank you so much for writing such a terrific review. Reading your comments have made all of us here at the hotel feel beyond proud because whenever our guests are so happy and satisfied with all our efforts in making their stay an unforgettable experience it gives us an immense pleasure because we know that we have accomplished our main goal. By providing our guests with the best quality of accommodations, very convenient services (such as free wifi, free 24 hour shuttle service to-from the airport and complimentary daily breakfast among others), and a wonderful staff that is always bending over backwards to ensure that all of our guests feel extremely welcome and get everything they need for their complete comfort we want each and every one of our guests to be sure that we always deliver what we offer and that we thrive on their complete satisfaction. Also, it is great knowing that you are already a part of our extended global family since you do stay with us everytime you visit the country, and besides making us very proud, it also makes us very happy. It is always a pleasure and an honor having you as a guest. Everyone here at the hotel looks forward to your next visit. Best regards.
Read More
Read Less

Great People (ALL THE STAFF)

By

October 10, 2014

club

Shuttle service very good, close to all car rental companies (walking distance) ,staff friendly and helpful,we stayed twice on this trip, and will stay again!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear Ron and Linda, thank you so much for posting such a nice review. It makes us very happy to learn that you found everything we offer was up to your expectations and much more, such as our very convenient location (we are less than a mile away from the airport, and just across our parking lot from several car rentals, a couple of restaurants and a casino), our very friendly and attentive staff that is always one step ahead in making our guests feel right at home and trying to make their stay as comfortable as possible, and all the great services we offer in order to make our guests have all the comforts and benefits they need in order to have a perfect and hassle free stay. It was a pleasure being able to serve you. We hope to see you both back again real soon. Best regards.
Read More
Read Less

Friendly staff

By

October 09, 2014

club

I am not good at names so I cannot mention any particular person, but it I was always greeted with courtesy and by name any time I approached the lobby area.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear rywe, thank you for sharing such wonderful comments. It makes us feel very proud everytime our guests recognize and appreciate our services, not only the ones that the hotel offers, but also our great customer service. Our entire staff always goes above and beyond not only in making feel each and every one of our guests welcome and very at home, but also providing them with all they request or might need to make their stay with us a very comfortable and satisfying experience. Thank you for staying wth us. It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Best regards.
Read More
Read Less

Great Home Base

By

October 08, 2014

club

This is my third stay at this hotel and I'm never dissappointed. Although I am visiting a foreign country, I feel like I've found a "home base" with all the comforts I would find in a US hotel. However, just outside is a wonderful country to see. The location is a good central hub for day tours and it is right near the airport.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear FlowerChild89, thank you very much for writing such an amazing review and letting us know that you´re already a part of our extended global family. It is always great to learn when our guests enjoy our hotel so much and like our services so much that they make it habit of staying with us everytime they visit the country. We make it a point to always exceed their expectations every time they visit so they can be sure that they can always count on us for their comfort and satisfaction. Thank you so much for making us your hotel of choice. The entire team will definitely look forward to your next visit. Best regards.
Read More
Read Less

Atencion muy excelente

By

October 07, 2014

club

a).- Es muy buena la atencion del personal, lo que hace de su estadia en el hotel un buen lugar para visitar
b).- El tener las llamadas gratis es muy importante ya que le permite al huesped tener una comunicacion con la familia
c).- seria bueno crear paquetes familiares

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Estimado jtorres67, muchas gracias por haber compartido sus comentarios sobre nuestro hotel. Nos alegra mucho saber lo mucho que le gustó la atención de nuestro personal ya que para nosotros es siempre un honor brindar la más excelente atención a cada uno de nuestros huéspedes para hacer que se sientan como si estuvieran en su propia casa. Que bueno que pudiera aprovechar de los servicios que ofrecemos y que los encontrara tan útiles y convenientes ya que para nosotros lo más importante es la total comodidad y satisfacción de nuestros huéspedes, y para lograrlo siempre les brindaremos lo mejor de lo mejor. Muchas gracias por su visita, fue un placer tenerlo con nosotros.
Read More
Read Less

CALIDEZ TOTAL

By

October 06, 2014

club

El personal de todas la areas del hotel son extremadamente amables lo cual lo hace sentir como en casa. El area del restaurante tienen excelente selección de té y el menú de desayuno es variado dia con dia y de muy buen sabor. Lo recomiendo a todo el mundo quedarse en este Hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Estimado LEMUSAL, muchas gracias por compartir tan bonitos comentarios sobre su estadía en nuestro hotel. Es para nuestro personal un honor y a la vez un placer poder hacer que nuestros huéspedes se sientan tal y como usted se sintió, como si estuviera en su propia casa, rodeado de un ambiente de calidez y amabilidad lo cual hace que todos nuestros huéspedes tengan la completa seguridad de que pueden depositar su comodidad y bienestar en nuestras manos y que nunca serán defraudados. También nos encanta saber lo mucho que le gustó y lo variado que encontró nuestro desayuno de cortesía y nuestro servicio de diferentes tipos de cafés y tés nacionales disponibles las 24 horas para la satisfacción de nuestros huéspedes. Muchas gracias por preferirnos y esperamos verlo nuevamente muy pronto.
Read More
Read Less

Fine for Airport Stay

By

October 05, 2014

Very pleasant stay. Appreciated the on-the-go breakfast bag since we left before 6 a.m. (when the breakfast starts). Clean room, comfortable bed, decent TV, with some English-speaking channels, good internet--all boxes ticked. Except one thing could be better, the ac unit has to be manually turned on/off, adjusted. Plus it was loud. Really wish there was a thermostat--the manual units are one of my pet peeves. But I'd stay there again when either arriving or departing SJO. Due to the location, not a place one would stay more than 1 night if on vacation.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 10, 2014
Dear Erinh1, thank you for sharing your fantastic review. It is very gratifying when our guests appreciate how much we like and enjoy taking care of them and of their comfort. Since we are less than a mile away from the airport making us an ideal place for all those guests that want all the most comfortable rest either when coming in from a flight or before departing because they can always get much more than if they were staying in a hotel farther away. We are sorry to learn about the a\c, we will share your comments with our Brands Standard Team so they can take it into account. It was a pleasure having you stay here with us. Thank you for choosing us. Best regards.
Read More
Read Less

Great service

By

September 29, 2014

club

Awesome staff. Our flight arrived before check in. They held our luggage so we could go enjoy the day before check in without dragging luggage around. Very accomodating. Was so easy to pay the airport departure tax at the hotel. No standing in line. I would recommend this place. Included breakfast and had lots of choices there.

Read More
Read Less