Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Santa Cruz

1410 Ocean Street , Santa Cruz, California 95060

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 230 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

230reviews

  • 5 Stars
    127
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    8

Great location

By

October 11, 2020

club

Pros:
-Very short easy drive to beach/boardwalk
-Hot breakfast option during COVID
-Suite was very large
-Can crack windows
Cons:
-**Driveway/parking, not designed for low cars. Car is not lowered and scraped 100% in/out
-Room carpet had white animal hair throughout
-Very firm beds
-Both elevators are terrifying
-3rd floor hallways smelled like an ashtray
-No internet TV options
-Pool drained/closed

Read More
Read Less

Difficult Access & Poor Location

By

October 21, 2014

Booked this property for 2 nights. First night was a free night from our IHG credit card and the second night was to be paid. Front desk personnel seemed to have a difficult time understanding this and was attempting to charge us for both nights. After some discussion this was eventually ironed out. Must admit the eventual room was pretty nice.

However, this stay was less than satisfactory. The front of this hotel is difficult to see/locate from the street and if you miss it you are flushed up into a freeway type road with no opportunity to turn around for a couple of miles. This property is adjacent to the above mentioned freeway type roads but is not anywhere near any of the many attractions in Santa Cruz, CA. It simply is not convenient and in my opinion is overpriced for what it offers.

The biggest disappointment though was their TV selections did not have any of the current professional baseball playoff games, this in the heart of San Francisco Giant fan country. Had to watch the last 2 games of the league championship at some other location instead of the comfort of our room. They said it was the subscription service and not their problem. Doubt that we will return as we feel this property did not return a good value for our expenditure.

Read More
Read Less

family fun

By

October 10, 2014

platinumelite

We were in town for a family wedding and decided to stay overnight and enjoy the boardwalk. The room was the perfect size for a quick trip, staff was wonderful and breakfast had many fresh options.

Read More
Read Less

Worth it

By

October 07, 2014

club

Stayed here plenty of times. It's definitely our go to when we are in town.

Read More
Read Less

Decent location, friendly front desk, theft of items

By

October 06, 2014

This is my second visit to this hotel. The first one had internet issues and AC problems as per below. On this visit, I left two items in the room and came back later in the day to get them. Neither could be found. A shirt hanging in the closet and a pillow ( king sized) ... why? I love HIE, but this one has issues. Comfort of AC in the room ( freezing! blows on bed, hard to regulate), poor parking underground with tiny spaces and poles in the way, internet could not be accessed on one visit. Staff at front desk is very friendly, and the breakfast is what you'd expect. Location is near a freeway (good access) but not walkable to much in Santa Cruz.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 09, 2014
Dear 86wishes, Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your stay, I am just very sorry that we did fulfill our promise to you with making the stay more enjoyable. I will personally look into the shirt that was hanging in the closet and I would like to get mere information from you on that, I will leave my contact number at the end of this response and ask that you give me a call so we can discuss further. I will also get with my team in Maintenance to see what we can do to not have the A/C blow on the bed. I also am sorry about the parking in our garage, the spots are indeed tight and the poles do make it tough to maneuver around. I am very glad that you found the staff friendly, sounds like that was a bright spot with you stay! Please feel free to call me so we can discuss the item in the closet as that really does concern me. I can be reached direct at 831-295-6001 Yours in Hospitality, Joel
Read More
Read Less

Pool is not heated!

By

October 03, 2014

The website claims the pool is heated, but it really is not. My family tried to go swimming several times, even at the hottest time of day, and were unable to. Also, the front desk staff were less than accommodating.

Read More
Read Less

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS IN SANTA CRUZ, CA

By

October 03, 2014

My overall experience with this hotel was good. I am certain I will stay in this hotel again if we return to Santa Cruz. I only wish there's a refrigerator in the room which most hotels I've used do. The lack of refrigerator was a disappointment but the overall cleanliness and atmosphere made up for it.

Read More
Read Less

Another great stay

By

September 30, 2014

We always arrive late at night and staff is welcoming and attentive, room ready and everything perfect. The consistency of service is why we are repeat customers when traveling to Santa Cruz.

Our only minor concern is having had to walk through the smoker designated area out front to get to our cars. The ocean breeze makes it impossible to keep smoke in one area so this is probably not a fixable concern and obviously only when people are out smoking.

Read More
Read Less

Clean and comfortable

By

September 29, 2014

club

We were looking for a room that was clean and comfortable, just traveling through. The room was absolutely clean and comfortable. Staff were very nice and attentive. Breakfast was good. Value was probably good for a resort town near the beach. Given that we never saw the beach, price was a little more than we wanted to pay, but not bad.

Read More
Read Less

Parking horrible; rest is terrific.

By

September 28, 2014

club

Hotel appeared and smelled clean. Probably best hotel beds I've ever had. Ended up arriving late and leaving early, so wasn't able to try some amenities, such as exercise room or room internet access. Parking is terrible. Too few stalls, and the ones that are there are very narrow. But based on the beds alone, I'll go here first next time I'm in the area.

Read More
Read Less

Double check the bathroom door

By

September 27, 2014

I wanted to try this hotel since it has a fitness center on the property and the other hotel I stayed at did not.
This property is kept up much better than across the street hotel.
They do try to put too much in a small room though. I felt crowded.
I also got locked out of my bathroom. Don't ask me how but when you wake up and you are sleepy anyway and the bathroom door doesn't open you panic and have to wake up!
I called downstairs and was told to open the door with a coin. It worked but this shouldn't have happened.
I was there for a few short hours and do plan on staying there again to give it another shot. I like HIE properties.

Read More
Read Less

Carefree stay

By

September 26, 2014

club

If you want a hotel without problems, this is your place to stay. It is attractive. Underground safe parking, pleasant professional staff, pool, gym, breakfast, good location for walking in Santa Cruz, close enough to the beaches and Hwy 1.

Quiet, clean, comfortable and well cared for hotel with free internet, a large enough TV, and adequate space for moving around. Don't hesitate to visit it.

Read More
Read Less