Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport)

999 Broadway , Saugus, Massachusetts 01906

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
83%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 249 reviews
83%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

249reviews

  • 5 Stars
    128
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    16

Hated it

By

March 31, 2021

The front desk agent was really friendly and extremely nice. I got into town a day earlier. The 1st room I was put into was nice but had a slight order of cigarettes and the AC didnt work. The f/d agent looked all over for a fan and decided to move me to another room. Worst mistake ever. The room reeked of cigarettes, I slipped on the tub because it was gooey and the chairs had white stains on it. I wanted to pack up and just sleep in my car at the point but I was so tired from my trip, so I just laid there hoping for day time. I had the worst headache from the smoke smell, my clothes smelled of cigarettes and could barely drive from my restless night. I couldnt get out of there fast enough. I told the front desk agent what happened and she seemed confused as to what I was saying to her. I will never spend a night there nor I would refer anyone to this place. Horrible. I slept on top of my coat and towels because I didnt want to sleep on the sheets. And no one has contacted me regarding this issue as I brought up to the girl in the front

Read More
Read Less

The effects of Minimum Wage Staff

By

June 01, 2019

club

1. Called for shuttle. After 40 minutes, called hotel again for shuttle that comes every 30 minutes. Hotel ordered a Lyft.
2. Had to move to area of airport so non-English speaking Lyft driver could deliver us to the hotel.
3. Front desk people were friendly when we arrived & repeatedly said the shuttle could take us here, there & everywhere. At the time, I thought, maybe that is why the shuttle driver forgot about us at the airport.
4. We scheduled shuttle for 5:30 pm to take us to a nearby restaurant. Again, shuttle left without us. Desk called shuttle back. It arrived 5'45pm. Shuttle full of non-English speaking employees, I guess they were being delivered to the other side of Boston. We squeezed in and driver took us to the restaurant.
5. Restaurant was closed on Sundays. Even though it was a front desk recommendation. (They should have known this fact).
6. Called front desk to have them pay for a Lyft or Uber. After 15 minutes, the clerk was clearly out of her element to make such an executive decision.
7. I ordered a Lyft for our party of 3, which the front desk clerk said reminded her of "The Golden Girls". For my 85 yr old mom, I could agree but not for me and my younger sister.
8. After finding a wonderful restaurant called 110 Grill, we walked the 2 blocks back to the hotel. Ah duh. Why didn't they recommend that eatery?
9. Could not connect to internet. Front desk had no clue how to assist. Called IT support to assist. That didn't work. I used computers in lobby. They are slow & time out after 30 minutes. I was using computer to book an Airbnb to get us out of the Holiday Inn. No one at the front desk knew how to extend the time allotted on computer.
Overall, property was great. Staff was inept, clueless, below average IQ and unknowledgeable of the hotel, area and how the hotel operates. Poor shuttle driver is constantly being called back from errands (ie - getting bananas?!) to actually take guests to the airport. Maybe 1 shuttle for errands and employee delivery and another shuttle for actual airport shuttle? Would not recommend this property to anyone unless the Management pays for better help.

Read More
Read Less

Finally Received Greener Stay Points

By

May 16, 2019

After numerous emails, I finally received my points for my Greener Stay participation. I also think they added a few extra for the error, Thank you Holiday Inn Express-Saugus..

Read More
Read Less

Quick and Easy stay

By

October 20, 2014

Stayed one night as flying out from Boston the next morning. Shuttle helpful, bed comfortable.

Read More
Read Less

friendly and helpful staff

By

October 18, 2014

platinumelite

The overall experience at this hotel was good. Was a good price for the Boston area. We took the hotel shuttle to the airport; about a 20 minute ride ; then took the subway into downtown Boston. It was two stops on the subway to downtown. We did not have to rent a car. This was convenient.

Read More
Read Less

Last night before leaving the country

By

October 17, 2014

platinumelite

This hotel is advertised as airport hotel, but it is quite far away from the airport.
The location in very near of very busy highway and you can only approach it from one direction. So if you are coming from south, you have to turn around in the next intersection.
Views from the window are either highway and walmart or a parking building.
We didn't get an upgrade to the room although we are platinum members. I guess when you reserve with points, the hotel doesn't do a room upgrade as we almost always get automatic upgrade in IHG hotels.
The hotel had reserved parking spaces for Platinum and Gold members. This is something IHG hotels should do more as this is tangible value to the customer.
I was personally a bit disappointed that it was so hard to get extension to our stay. We have 40 IHG stays in a year and the one time you have a need for extended stay, you're offered 3 hours first. The other time we asked, we got 5 hours and when asked again, we had to pay extra to stay until 6:00 pm.
Our 11 hour flight to europe was leaving at 9:30 pm and it isn't very much fun to hang around somewhere for the whole day before a long flight, but paying for a full night for the extra hours in this case as a Platinum member wouldn't sound fair either.
I understand if the hotel would otherwise be fully booked that they wouldn't give the room for extended hours as they would lose the revenue, but this didn't seem to be the case either so it wouldn't actually cost the hotel to give us the asked hours although I understand we weren't just asking for a couple of hours. Still, from my point of view, this is the only time in 40 IHG stays we've asked extended stay and then it would be nice to actually get a real value for your platinum membership.
In the end, the amount we had to pay for the extended stay wasn't that bad, but this really needed a lot of asking and negotiation with several persons and first we were asked to pay quite a price for the couple of hours we asked on top of the what one could consider to be "normal" extended hours.
Missed NBC Sports in the channel selection. :)
One thing more, if I put the "do not disturbe" or whatever tag hanging on the door, I expect that the cleaning lady doesn't bang our door in the morning just in case we just forgot it there. Maybe she wanted to pick up the used cup left below the office table?
Btw, I like to be recognized as a platinum member in practical matters, parking space, room upgrade etc. But putting my name in the front desk with other platinum members for everyone to see is something you could leave out from my point of view. Better recognition after a long day of driving is to welcome us, have reservation printed and room ready without any extra hassle.

Read More
Read Less

Above and Beyond

By

October 15, 2014

We were so thankful for the friendly staff and great hospitatlity at Holiday Inn Express Saugus. We felt like they went above and beyond to accommodate us. We took a red eye flight into Boston and then immediately called shuttle to pick us up with hopes we could store our luggage. The shuttle came quickly and staff even offered us breakfast since it was still being served. They then helped us figure out the best use of our day and helped us figure out best type of transportation. I was very overwhelmed so this was very helpful. Day of check out we were able to store our luggage and shuttle driver brought it to airport for us on one of his runs closest to our flight leaving. Which was pleasant for us to walk around Boston a little more before our plane left without having to haul luggage. We felt very sorry for people walking and struggling around Boston and on the T with luggage. Very grateful Holiday Inn helped us out. Planning another trip with my parents and we will be using this Holiday Inn Express Saugus again every time we go to Boston. Highly recommend! Thanks Saugus

Read More
Read Less

Closest to Logan but still far away

By

October 15, 2014

platinumelite

This is the closest HIE to Logan and they offer a free hourly shuttle but allow extra time if you will be going with traffic. Room was comfortable although the bathroom was tiny. Sink outside the bathroom helped. Couldn't figure out why the room was cold until I discovered the window was open (4th floor so not a real security issue). Bed was comfortable. We only spent the night so I can't comment on amenities and we left without trying the breakfast because our flight was early.

Read More
Read Less

Great service, comfortable beds in room

By

October 15, 2014

club

I needed a hotel with airport transfers at a reasonable price and the Holiday Inn fit that need. While staying at hotel it far out exceeded my expectations. The cleanliness of hotel, friendly staff, wonderful breakfast. Next time will think of Holiday Inn 1st when searching for reasonable rooms.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable and convenient to the city

By

October 14, 2014

club

Don't let the distance dissuade you. This really IS an airport hotel! Their shuttle service is fantastic! They'll take you to/from the airport subway station; anytime between 4am-midnight. From there, you can easily get anywhere you want! NOTE: best value/convenience is the 1-day or 7-day MBTA pass, for unlimited boarding of trains and buses.

The hotel is clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff is professional, helpful, and friendly. We stayed for 5 nights, and wouldn't hesitate to do it again.

The only downside... local restaurants are on the other side of uber-busy Route 1, but no pedestrian crossing. That didn't matter to us, because we always ate dinner in Boston, before taking the subway/shuttle back to the hotel.

A 24-hour CVS pharmacy (with some grocery items) is just 2 buildings away... less than 2 minutes walk.

Read More
Read Less

great staff

By

October 10, 2014

I always stay at an IHG location based on the fact that they are very consistent no matter where I am. The staff at this location is great and very polished. The airport shuttle bus is key when I'm in Boston.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Dear Npm 1958, Thank you for your review. It is great to see you found our staff to be up to par and very competent in their abilities. They truly always strive to deliver great service to all our guests who stay with us. Many of our guests like taking our complimentary shuttle service to the airport and the airport train station. With this amenity and our location, many of our guests find us to be a great economical value to staying in the city or the airport. Yours in hospitality, Ludwing Ardon Assistant General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Room was OK.

By

October 10, 2014

platinumelite

My husband I are were in The Boston area for leisure stay. This hotel was not attractive from the arrival. The room was not totally updated. Its not a true Logan airport hotel. The garbage in the breakfast area was still full and overflowing at 11:00 pm at night. The hallway had a very odd musty smell to it. The staff had no knowledge of the Boston transportation systems. This is my second bad experience with IHG. I will be looking at other hotel as we start our soccer season traveling.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Dear Pelkey, I apologize you did not enjoy your stay with us. This is not typical of the experience many of our guests have with us. I completely value your feedback and will use to insure we improve our services and operations in the hotel. I thank you for posting a review and hope you give us and Holiday Inn Expresses, another chance. Sincerely, Ludwing Ardon Assistant General Manager
Read More
Read Less