Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay

1400 Del Monte Boulevard , Seaside, California 93955

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
71%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.6

based on 228 reviews
71%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

228reviews

  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    23

Mosquitos Haven

By

October 15, 2021

Unfortunately I cannot recommend this property. We stayed there October 6, 2021, and as we were walking to our room, there were so many mosquitoes on the ceiling of the walkway to our room (5 floor on the end) that it was truly unbelievable, It was impossible to open the door to our room without several of them coming into the room. We had to purchase bug spray and spray outside our room and had to eliminate a half dozen that made it into our room too. Told hotel staff they needed to contact Vector Control with the County to take care of the problem and spray the pond that was next to the hotel. If it were not for the hundreds of mosquitoes, I would have rated the hotel a little better. But personally would never stay there again!

Read More
Read Less

Convenient location

By

October 06, 2021

platinumelite

The location was convenient for us when we went to the Aquarium, Wharf and 17 Mile drive. Parking was ample and appeared to be secure. The complimentary
breakfast was appreciated and Covid 19 protocols were implemented by the staff. This was a no frills establishment but met our needs for our brief stay in Monterey.

Read More
Read Less

Not up to IHG or HIE Standards

By

August 11, 2021

club

I'm not sure how this hotel can be called HIE give dated/run down/broken facilities. I've stayed at close to 100 HIEs and usually know what to expect. This was complete disappointment.

Rooms dated, small (full beds only) and our room had foul smell. Could not be moved b/c mgmt. said all the keys had been made for day. IHG status means nothing here.

Hot tub broken and staff was stumped when asked when it would be repaired.

Charging 5 Star rates and providing 1 star facilities. I get they can charge over three hundred/night during vacation season but why such a run down facility?

Read More
Read Less

So Disappointing!!!

By

May 27, 2021

We were so disappointed with our stay at this property. The man who checked us in was rude. The room was tiny and the bathroom is subpar. The website claims the rooms have recently been renovated; however, it was the bare minimum. We were told that we had to request housekeeping services the day we wanted it (by 8am). The room was cleaned once. We needed new towels and for our trash to be removed; however, this happened only once. We requested new towels and waited hours for them to be delivered. I called the front desk after waiting for so long only to be told that Housekeeping had gone home for the day and they did not have access to towels. Thus, this request was never fulfilled because the staff did not follow through. Very poor customer service. We had to take the elevator up to the fifth floor to access our room - each day we would attempt to enter our room after being away for the day and we would then have to go back to the front desk to have our keys reprogrammed. This happened every day and waisted a lot of time and caused frustration. The property is old and the ONE elevator was very slow and could only accommodate a couple of people. We had to wait multiple times because of overcrowding with hotel staff and their carts. The water pressure was very low. The complimentary breakfast was inferior - limited options and tired and minimal. The hotel staff offered no solutions (towels) and no follow through - no need to make the guest comfortable. We live in St. George, UT and have had the best experience with the local Holiday Inn. The rooms were so clean and comfortable. The staff was amazing and always greeted us each time we went to the lobby. They were so helpful and we spent many nights at their hotel while we were building our home. Unfortunately, we expected the same quality of a hotel and service but were sorely disappointed in this hotel. We will not be returning but would like to continue to give Holiday Inn a chance because we had had such a good experience prior. We are IGH members and the entire stay in Monterey continued to disappoint on a daily basis. This hotel is not owned by Holiday Inn - could that be the cause of this inferior product?

Read More
Read Less

BAD CHOICE IF YOU WANT TO ENJOY MONTEREY

By

April 05, 2021

DO NOT BELIEVE ANY OF THESE RATINGS< THIS HOTEL HAS BEEN A DAY INN. THE JUST PAINTED OUT SIDE< EVERYTHINGELSE IS AT THE LEVEL OF A POOR MOTEL. VERY MEAN STAFF, CHEAP AMENITIES, THIS MOTEL EVEN DOES NOT OFFER PERSONAL SHAMPOO, THEY OFFER REFILL ABLE SHAMPOOS, NOT CLEAN. LOOK AT THEIR FOOD STORGAE BACK OF THEIR FRONT DESK TO SEE HOW DIRTY THIS FACILITY IS. DO NOT EVEN THINK OF STAYING ONE NIGHT HERE. THIS LOCATION DOES NOT EVEN DESERVE HALF A STAR.

Read More
Read Less

My 8 year niece gave 2.5 starts out of 5!

By

November 10, 2020

I don't bother much about writing a review as I get what I typically want due to my hotel status.

I reserved two rooms for the weekend for my niece and her friends who live 3 miles away from the hotel. She wanted to swim with her friends. Checking in at 3pm, she called and complained about a staff member's unkind tone and lamented that the swimming pool I had promised was closed. She wants to go back to Springhill Suite in Marina, CA.

She declared she is never going back to the hotel again.

Read More
Read Less

Does Not Meet HIE Standards

By

February 18, 2020

club

Have stayed at many HIE properties over last 15 years. This property has put a nice front end office and dining area on a very old building. Some upgrades in room but does not meet overall HIE standards. Rooms small, very dirty tile in bath, small baths and TV that did not work properly in 3 days there. Had maintenance tech up 3 times and never got it to work properly. Website says pool out of commission until end of Jan. We were there in Feb and told it was out of commission until March. Was told at checkout that we would be credited with 1,000 extra points due to TV difficulties. Our room stay points have been posted but not the 1,000 points.

Read More
Read Less

Great Service

By

October 20, 2014

The atmosphere upon entering the hotel was very accommodating. The staff were not only gracious and helpful but they were also in a very cheerful disposition. The beds were so comfortable and felt so heavenly.

I will stay here again when given the opportunity and will highly recommend to friends.

Read More
Read Less

Great place to stay

By

October 17, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. We had dinner at a local restaurant our first night there that was recommended named the Fish House. It was great and just down the street.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. Very relaxing.
Getting into Monterey is easy. The road goes straight into Old Town.
We enjoyed our stay and will stay again.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We really do appreciate it! Yes the fish house is a recommendation we make to our guests and we also seem to get great feedback from those recommends! I am glad that our staffs pick was to your liking as well! We look forward to you returning and hope you can enjoy our next recommendation as well!! Thank you, Jon
Read More
Read Less

酒店门外环境很优美,住所还算温馨

By

October 16, 2014

platinumelite

整体感觉还是很不错的,酒店比较温馨,停车很方便,而且是免费。离17 miles等景点都非常近,以后还是可以考虑去住。

Read More
Read Less

Stay at Monterey Bay

By

October 09, 2014

The stay was ok, breakfast was a bit crowded, room was a bit dark. Location was also ok.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express - Monterey Bay! We appreciate your business and that you took the time to fill out a survey! We are planning a remodel very soon so I hope the next time you are in town that you get a chance to stay with us again!! Sincerely, Jonathan
Read More
Read Less

Great Place to stay !

By

October 09, 2014

platinumelite

Thank you for making my business trips so easy.

I will be back !

sincerely,

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon! We are going to be remodeling to make the hotel even better! Warmest regards, Jonathan
Read More
Read Less