Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Suffolk

1018 Centerbrooke Lane , Suffolk, Virginia 23434

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
96%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 92 reviews
96%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

92reviews

  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Wreaked of weed

By

July 25, 2021

We checked in about 5:00 and were given a room on the second floor. The guy that checked us in was great while another worker was on speaker talking to a friend for hours. About 8:30, a strong weed and tobacco smell suddenly filled our room. We went to the front desk, they told us to turn our bathroom vent on, and he would check on it soon. We turned the vent on and it didn't get much better so we opened the window. Considering my wife is pregnant and no one wants to be around that smell anyways, we asked for a room change or refund. The worker first gave us a key to an occupied room and opened the door to a room somebody was in. I'm very unsure how this was not in their system. The worker on the phone then moved us to a room on the first floor. As soon as we opened the door, the weed smell poured out so we let him know that room wouldn't work either. At this point, he got mad and walked up to our first room to check it out. He insisted there was no weed smell and basically rudely implied we were making it up because "he knows what weed smells like and would smell it if it was there". He said "Fine. I'll just check yall out then and you can leave." I asked if there were any other rooms and there was one room left. He took us to the third floor which was finally a room without that awful smell. We went to relax in our room. The beds weren't comfortable and people were screaming down the hallway every hour so we didn't sleep very well to begin with but then the strong smell of weed pouring into our room again and woke us up at 4:30 in the morning. At this point, we were about to go sleep in our car just to get out of that place. We turned on the bathroom vent and sprayed the room as we covered our noses and waited for the smell to dissipate. It eventually got manageable and we were so tired at this point we passed out, woke up a couple hours later, grabbed our breakfast, and left. Between the awful weed and the very rude worker who should be fired, we will NEVER stay here again but thankfully they didn't charge us for the room change.

Read More
Read Less

staff

By

May 26, 2021

club

On a trip with the VMCCA club we had a problem with the room next to us and only had one more night to stay and I asked if anything could be done about the noise. A very friendly lass by the name of Keona went to the trouble of giving us another room away from the room we were in. I was very happy she was able to take care of us . The world needs more people like her. A great big thanks to you Keona.

Read More
Read Less

Not satisfied with stay in Room 331

By

May 19, 2021

club

Hello
I stayed at your establishment on Saturday May 15-17, 2021. I was there to attend a funeral and came from Washington, DC. I have stayed at your establishment many times while visiting Suffolk, VA. (1)When I arrived I noticed the burn holes in the rug all throughout the room and the (2) little role of toilet paper that was left on the roll. Upon taking a shower, (3) I notices that there were massive hairs on the shower wall and the shower floor. I immediately got out of the shower and cleaned it to remove the hair. (4) Late that night the toilet paper ran out and I search for some. I called the front desk to ask for some but the attendant told me that it's not something they do, but he brought me some anyway. (5)The final straw was when I woke up Monday morning I found several red bugs crawling in my bed. This has not been my experience in the past. I didn't notify the manager because there were several people checking out and I didn't want to cause embarassment to the hotel. but I was very disappointed with the stay at Holiday Inn express in Suffolk, Va

Read More
Read Less

Poor customer service

By

July 27, 2019

On July 18th I was visiting siblings in Virginia, and upon arrival checking into the hotel, my debit card declined the rooms transaction. The clerk was very rude and insinuated I didn’t have enough funds on my account to purchase this room and kept telling me I put the wrong pin in instead of asking me to press credit for the purchase. I did not have a nice welcoming, the clerk did not acknowledge my membership with IHG Rewards, the next day my room did not get cleaned for whatever reason and no one at the front desk had smiling faces. I always visit Virginia, but I will never stay at this hotel again.

Read More
Read Less

Business Stay

By

October 13, 2014

Great place to stay business or personal. Friendly staff, clean rooms, and free breakfast!!

Read More
Read Less

Nice

By

October 13, 2014

club

Room and staff were excellent. Staff was helpful, friendly, and efficient. Recommend this hotel.

Read More
Read Less

valued guest

By

October 11, 2014

club

Facility is new and well maintained. Staff goes above and beyond with attention to even the little things. When I asked the chambermaid where the ice machine was on my floor she escorted me to the room. A simple down the hall to the right would have done but her attention was appreciated understanding she was willing to drop what she was doing to pay attention.
Bathroom counter was nice and high. Toilet was much too low though.
I stay here whenever I am in the area. price is right and no surprises.

Read More
Read Less

Enjoyable, Comfortable

By

October 09, 2014

club

My stay was was a wonderful, extra pleasant surprise. I had read other reviews

Read More
Read Less

clean rooms bad breakfast

By

October 07, 2014

platinumelite

Stayed two nights. Hotel and rooms were very clean and comforatable. Front desk staff was very helpfull with dinner recomendations. Breakfast both mornings was very sub par. Dry sasuages and eggs, biscuits not properly baked, ect.

Read More
Read Less

Great Stay

By

October 04, 2014

platinumelite

Everything about this stay was excellent. I'll definitely be returning when I have business to conduct in Suffolk.

Read More
Read Less

Bed comfortable. Not a great sleep

By

September 23, 2014

Walls in rooms are not sound proof, in fact paper thin. I could hear the other guests talking on their cell phones. One of the nights till 12 am I had to call down to office to ask the guest to lower his voice. Rooms are nice.

Posted byCustomerCare
October 03, 2014
Dear metso, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for being an IHG Rewards Club Gold member. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our room accommodation. However, we sincerely apologize for the noise levels you have experienced during your stay. We have taken your feedback into serious account. Rest assured that this will be used to improve our hotel and ensure that all our rooms are equally comfortable. Thank you again for your taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We hope that you give us another chance to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Faith R Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

the great attention of Patrice

By

September 22, 2014

I feel this is one of the best IHG properties I have stayed in

Read More
Read Less