Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Watsonville

1855 Main Street , Watsonville, California 95076

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
87%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 104 reviews
87%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

104reviews

  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    5

Not as Advertised

By

November 19, 2019

I have to start with the fact that the staff at the hotel are wonderful and did everything they could to make our stay as nice as possible. The breakfast was fairly nice with a lot of options, but was only open from 6:30 - 9:30am. Not accommodating hours unless you're on a working business trip. I was only able to take advantage of it once during my three night stay due to a lack of sleep.

The hotel has been under renovation, and as a result, they have made less improvements and made things generally worse probably to save money. This was not reflected on their website and it is very misleading.

The biggest problem I had was that I had booked a suite which was supposed to have a separate living room with a small sofa bed. There were three people in my party (two seniors over 70) and we were trying to isolate a huge snorer in the living room. Also, two of us usually get to bed later and wake later, so having a separate room was important to isolate noise in the later evening, as well as morning light and waking activity. It turns out they changed all suites in the hotel so that there is no longer a separate living space. Not what I would consider an improvement. The website also showed a fireplace in the separate living room. There was no fireplace.

I am currently going through physical therapy for an injury and had counted on using the jacuzzi that they had in their pool area. But when we got there, I was told that the whole pool area was also renovated, changing it from a pool and jacuzzi to just a pool - no jacuzzi. In the process of renovating, they also ripped out a beautiful all-wood interior like shown in the website photo gallery and made it all plain off-white walls.

There are a number of safety hazards in the room that I was given, including -

A 1 1/2" doorstop right in the middle of the entry floor. Big toe-stubber. I ended up putting the bathroom trash can over it upside down so no one accidentally kicked it. That's a lawsuit waiting to happen.

There are a lot of sharp edges and corners in the room, from the bed platforms to the nightstand shelf right next to your head between the two queen beds, to the desk furniture.

Further, there is not a single drawer in the entire room, including none in the bathroom, work desk, nightstands, closet (which was a small armoire). No dressers or chest of drawers. No place for us to unpack our clothes except for those items that can go on a hanger. Just a few open shelves. I guess it is one trendy way to appoint a hotel room, but it is not practical at all, especially for longer stays.

In summary, with having no separate living space or ability to use a jacuzzi, my party and I were not able to get enough sleep or relax. I was very dissatisfied with everything but the hotel staff. I have friends in town that I need to occasionally care for, and was hoping to stay there frequently. Unless things change, I will not be staying there again.

Read More
Read Less

Friendly staff

By

June 15, 2019

platinumelite

They were remodeling which will ultimately make it 5+ stars. Customer service was superb.

Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Wattsonville, CA

By

October 19, 2014

platinumelite

Very good stay with good rest. and shopping nearby.

Read More
Read Less

Great Place Near Santa Cruz

By

October 16, 2014

club

You get your monies worth compared to other hotels in Santa Cruz area.

Read More
Read Less

Room 110

By

October 12, 2014

This room has a mold issue. The shower curtain was inadequate to keep water from spilling onto the floor and out to the carpet. There carpet outside of the bathroom was wet when I arrived to the room, but I thought nothing of it.

After being in the room a short while I notices the smell of mold. There was water damage & mold on the shower wall also.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
KEH95834, Thank you for letting us know that you experienced some trouble with your shower curtain, we will be sure to get it replaced today! I have asked our Facilities Manager to thoroughly check that room for mold. I did a visual inspection myself and did not see any - nor did I smell any. IF any mold is found we will be sure to eradicate it quickly and properly. Most likely some water from the shower dampened the carpet and we will just need to dry it out. Again, thank you for your feedback; it is guests like you that help us improve. Kind Regards, Amy General Manager
Read More
Read Less

GREAT LOADGED EXPERIENCE

By

October 06, 2014

GREAT SERVICE AND CONFORTABLE STAY!
I WILL RECOMEND MY FRIENDS FOR FUTURES LOAGINGS AND ACOMODATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and good staff service

By

October 05, 2014

platinumelite

I suggest the following:
1. One more light stand in the room. I stayed there twice during the last month. Both rooms have insufficient lighting. They were fairly dark.
2. A height-adjustable office chair for the room equipment with an office desk.
3. An electrical power strip or additional plugs at the desk for business use (cell phones, computer, etc.)
4. Additional coffee packs in the room (1 single caffeine serving cup and 1 single decaffeinated serving cup). Other Holiday Inn Express motels offers one large pouch good for 3-4 cups of caffeine and decaffeinated.
5. Newspaper should be delivered to platinum members. All other Holiday Inn hotels provide this service.
6.Offer room upgrade, if available, to platinum members.

Read More
Read Less

Watsonville, CA

By

September 27, 2014

Very nice hotel, I will be staying here again when im in town.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 01, 2014
Drilltrash, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again! Kind Regards, Amy
Read More
Read Less

Santa Cruz weekend

By

September 24, 2014

club

Hotel was nice and close to where we hung out. We had a king room with a suite with a pull out couch. The issue with this room was the door between the bedroom and the living room area. The a/c didn't flow all the way into the room so it was much warmer then the bedroom. When the door was closed at night it was really hot in the living room area. The a/c unit also rattled which was a bit annoying.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 01, 2014
JRS_Lodi, I am so pleased to hear that our location was perfect for you. I am sorry to hear that the suite ran a little warm for you, we will be looking into a solution. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Amy
Read More
Read Less

Everything was great

By

September 23, 2014

club

Everything was great.............................................................................

Thank you

Posted byHotelStaff
October 01, 2014
a.....p So glad to hear, thank you! -Amy
Read More
Read Less

Nice place to stay

By

September 21, 2014

Let me just get my criticism out of the way first. I have a problem with fluffy pillows, so I always bring one, as does my husband. The pillows were just a bit too fluffy, but definitely not as thick as some hotels. Also, the room's a/c unit is due for replacing. It worked, but was very noisy, so we had to make sure it was off at night. I think in general, the room (bathroom, to be specific) needed a bit of updating, although everything was clean.

On the positive side, the room was quiet and that's important to me as a light sleeper, not to mention how hard it is to sleep away from home in general. The beds were relatively supportive, which I need. The location was great, being right next to a slough (marshland) and was terrific for birding, which was part of the reason for our trip. We birded from our window on the 2nd floor, which overlooked the slough and then later walked through it. Nice place to jog or walk. It was also located near restaurants and stores, which made it convenient.

The staff was excellent as was the breakfast.

Read More
Read Less

Good location

By

September 18, 2014

This was my second trip in this area and second stay at this property. It was ideal without Monterey Prices and good proximity to Santa Cruz.

Read More
Read Less