Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 139 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

139reviews

  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    7

Robbed checking in Robbed checking out

By

November 22, 2021

I have stayed at many Holiday Inn hotels and it has always been a good experience until this hotel. The lobby smelled like weed, dirty and run down. There looked to some very poorly done remodeling work done to the room and the walls were paper thin, you could hear everything in the next room and hall. I checked on my credit card app to check what we were charged because the clerk said he had to charge our card 50$ for incidentals and my card was charged 255$! I told the clerk he made mistake overcharged me, he told me I didn't pay for our room and the charge was correct. I told him I prepaid for my stay this is mistake, but would not listen to me and said I can't expect a free room. It took our entire stay of 3 days, talking to my cc and trying to get a hold of a manager, who was never on site, to get the charged reversed. Then when we checked out we were robbed feet from the front lobby by gunpoint! When I ran back into the lobby to tell the clerk we were just robbed he said nothing, no I'm sorry, are you all right and he didn't even call 911. He couldn't even give access to the cameras to the police but told them the manger will be in touch.
Still my credit card was charged again from the hotel when I checked out! This hotel is unsafe and the customer service is terrible.

Read More
Read Less

Great hotel and close to everything

By

May 11, 2021

The most important part was our room was extremely clean. The whole hotel was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was still available as a to-go option (Covid protocol). Unfortunately the pool was closed due to Covid but that’s not their fault. The hotel had several food options near by, Walmart close by for those things you forgot, and was located perfectly for us to get to the Navy base, Six Flags, and everywhere else in just a short drive.

Read More
Read Less

Infested with garbage and ants!!! Rude staff!

By

July 09, 2019

club

There is trash everywhere, look at the pictures. Trash bags in the halls, and vending area which caused a colony of ants to feast on guests trash. They have a quiet hours policy from 10pm - 7am and my family got a knock at our door at 11:30pm, we were told by the night auditor that are voices were heard at the end of the hall ( we were all laying in bed, watching TV and talking about our day at six flags) and if we don’t be quiet, he would CALL THE POLICE and have my kids and husband escorted off the property?!!! Huh??? I then told him the wall are paper thin, we can hear voices next door, and doors down. He told us this is our final warning. Five minutes later we get a call from same manager saying he got another noise complaint and will be forced to call the police. I asked how does he know the noise is coming from our room with the walls are paper thin?! I also said he should be more concerned with the trash and ant infestation before breakfast is served in the morning. He then said, that is a GM issue, not him, and this is our final warning, next time the police will knock, not him. This was harassment, this hotel is dirty!!! No towel racks in the bathroom, towels are folded on top of the toilet!! This was the worst experienced I had at any customer service establishment. This is not a family friendly property. The run this place like a jailhouse! Do not stay here.

Read More
Read Less

Great location and service.

By

October 20, 2014

platinumelite

I have always enjoyed my stays at the IHG properties and the point system is second to none as we have used our points for great trips to Rome, Cancun, Anchorage, and Zurich. The Waukegan-Gurnee HI Exp is one of the best for location and a friendly staff. I would like to see an upgrade on the breakfast as it is a bit lacking in taste and variety but that is a comment across the board for all HI Exp locations. I travel to the Waukegan area about 4 times a year and will always stay at this location.

Read More
Read Less

Navy Graduation

By

October 17, 2014

My wife and I were here for our son's Navy Graduation. Everything about this hotel was upbeat and positive. The front desk answered all of our questions and were very friendly. Our room was clean and well kept. This hotel offers shuttle service to graduation and is well worth the three dollar charge. Drops you off right at the gate.
Thank you to all the the staff for a wonderful stay!!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. It was a privilege to serve our Navy Families and their graduates. We hope to see you again soon to visit other local attractions, such as Six Flags Great America or a shopping spree at the Gurnee Mills Mall. Warm regards, Cecilia Kuhlman General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Nothing to add

By

October 16, 2014

platinumelite

Good stay for the time we were there. I am just trying to give you 50 characters so I can complete this survey. I really have nothing to say.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay. Your comfort is important to us and we thank you for the opportunity to host your stay. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waukegan, Warm regards, Cecilia Kuhlman General Manager
Read More
Read Less

great experience and comfortable

By

October 16, 2014

club

For the money this was a good experience and trip. Hotel accommodation's and location were exactly what was needed, restaurant's and shopping.
Hotel was clean and service was excellent..
Breakfast selection was standard for the Hotel, but coffee and toast were sufficient for mornings.
Parking was free... if you know what I mean, not like some other places that charge you for everything.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive stay experience with us. We look forward to hearing from our guests and continue to look for opportunities for improvement. We thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites-Waukegan and we look forward to your next visit. Warm regards, Cecilia Kuhmlan General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great place to stay

By

October 15, 2014

club

Wonderful hotel stay. Great staff. Great beds and showers. Great pool. Real easy check in and check out.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Our team is very excited to hear that we've met if not exceeded your expectations. We thank you for the opportunity to host your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Cecilia Kuhlman General Manager
Read More
Read Less

very homey feeling

By

October 08, 2014

when we arrived the staff was wonderful and very helpful the rooms were perfect we took our mom and dad with us and the staff was wonderful accomadating them and their needs as well (dad has a wheelchair and they put them right in the front room just across from the food area which was very accomadating to them ) . they also loved their room .the cleaning staff was great and friendly as well they made sure everything we needed was there for us } overall a wonderful stay thank you for a wonderful time in the hotel!!!!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Our team works hard to make sure that all our guests will have that "home away from home" experience when staying with us. Thank you for letting is know were able to do that for you. We thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites and we hope you come visit us again soon. Best regards, Cecilia Kuhlman General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Express Review

By

September 30, 2014

Everything was clean and smelled good. No issues with my two day stay there. Pool area was a little hot but great when only using the hot tub.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 02, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We are proud to have served you and truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking into our pool area temperature to ensure that this is a comfortable environment for all our guest. We hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Cecilia Kuhlman General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Clean room, comfortable bed and great service

By

September 29, 2014

platinumelite

Hotel was centrally located and easy to access. Restaurants, and shops are close. Freeway is close.
Staff was exceptional, helpful and very accommodating. Rooms were very nice, the beds are very comfortable. Hotel is clean and rooms are clean. First time in in that area and we felt right at home.

Read More
Read Less

Enjoy Every Stay

By

September 28, 2014

club

My company is out of Lake Bluff and while I have other choices in hotels when I visit our plant, I choose this hotel. The main reason...Ann. She is by far one of the most efficient and friendliest persons working at a hotel that I've met. She makes the stay so much more enjoyable. Also, they have a good location and the value is good.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 30, 2014
Dear Guest, We appreciate your feed back and will definitely extend this to Ann. Ann has been a great Guest Experience Ambassador and we along with our guests are very lucky to have her as part of our team. We thank you so much for mentioning her by name. It will make her day for sure. Thank you again for choosing to stay with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites and we look forward to your next stay.
Read More
Read Less