Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
71%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.7

based on 343 reviews
71%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

343reviews

  • 5 Stars
    132
  • 4 Stars
    81
  • 3 Stars
    52
  • 2 Stars
    44
  • 1 Stars
    34

Beautiful setting but antiquated

By

September 28, 2021

The grounds are beautiful including a nice outdoor heated pool and a good sized hot tub. The location is fantastic right on the water. However, the hotel itself feels antiquated and the rooms need updating. Our room had an old small LCD tv and the chairs were worn out. Most disappointing was the fact that we had to request new toiletries after using one tiny bar of soap for two days without getting a new one. We were told by housekeeping that they were running low. We try not to be wasteful and understand that we are in a pandemic but it is not acceptable to cut back on such basic amenities, especially when charging a high price. The price charged and the service provided simply didn’t match up.

Read More
Read Less

Moving On

By

September 21, 2021

I've stayed at this hotel eight times. Yes, eight. So why the poor review? Let me explain.

My fiance and I are from Michigan and tend to come to Bar Harbor every Memorial Day and Labor Day weekend when we're able to do so. We have been staying at the Regency since Labor Day weekend 2017.

The reason we kept coming back: Convenience. The rooms are big, there's usually plenty of parking and it's close enough to downtown as well as most hiking trails. If you get a room on the ocean side, there's also incredible views...until this time, but more on that in a bit. The pricing is also comparable to other hotels in the area, especially if you book months in advance, which we always do.

The negatives over the years: The hotel itself is in need of MAJOR renovations. Everything, literally everything, is outdated. But when you're in a place like Bar Harbor, you're typically not in the room very much so we overlooked this. The customer service has always been hit or miss. Sometimes you get an employee at the front desk who's super friendly and goes out of their way to help you and sometimes you get brushed off. We also had an incident a few years ago where housekeeping stole the wine we purchased from Bar Harbor Cellars and the hotel claimed zero responsibility. Still, we came back.

The final straw: Labor Day weekend 2021. Like always, we booked a full ocean view months in advance. The only thing is we weren't given a full ocean view. We were given a room on the first floor in the middle of the hotel. This means the ocean view from the room is blocked by the restaurant and everything else they have going on near the pool. If anything, the room we were given was a PARTIAL ocean view.

I was a bit taken aback so I walked to the front desk and asked the young man working if our room is truly considered ocean view since it seems to be partial. He checked the computer and confirmed it was ocean view. This employee has ZERO fault in this. He couldn't have been anymore pleasant, but no decisions were up to him. I nicely let him know our room is definitely a partial view and that I would like a discount on the room because of it. I've never once asked for any other type of discount at this hotel. He said he had to check with the manager. He went in the back and came back out and said that she said no. The best they could do for us is attempt to switch rooms tomorrow. The only thing: We would have to exit the room by 11AM, leave all of our belongings in the hallway, and housekeeping would transport them to the new room when available after 4PM. Due to the previous comment above of having housekeeping mishandle (aka STEAL) our items in the past, I was not accepting this option. I let him know we are loyal customers from Michigan and that this is our 8th time staying there. He again went in the back and came out quickly and said the manager will not do anything. I asked for the manager's name. He went in the back and finally came out with the manager, Kendra, who could not previously be bothered.

I again repeated we are loyal return guests and that she knows as well as I do that our room is NOT a full ocean view. The not-so-pleasant Kendra would not budge. She had no reason why we could not get a discount (the only discount I wanted was to pay the rate of a partial ocean view), she had no explanation as to how our room could ever be considered a full view. She just flat out refused to do anything, and clearly doesn't care if customers are repeat or not. I assume this is because all hotels on the island are always booked during the busy seasons so they really don't care if they lose customers or not.

I'm sure my review won't sway anyone from booking here, because as mentioned, hotels book up during busy season. But if you are going to stay here, do NOT pay an exorbitant amount for an alleged full ocean view room, because you may or may not get one. You should also NEVER stay in the Eden House building. When I mentioned the place being outdated, I was only referring to the main building. The Eden House is another story entirely. I wouldn't pay a nickel to stay over there. On the off chance you are viewing this months in advance for next year planning, BOOK ELSEWHERE!

We already have our Memorial Day 2022 reservations booked. I am a bit sad to break the tradition, but we are finally trying a new place. Here's hoping that the hotel we booked in actual Downtown BH will work out far better!

Read More
Read Less

Great getaway

By

August 30, 2021

We stayed here before and loved it. We stayed there 2 times this trip so it was nice to see different rooms. Loved both of them. As an asthmatic I am very picky about my hotels. I can relax and breathe here and know it is clean.

Read More
Read Less

Leave the lights On so the Bugs don't get you!!

By

July 22, 2021

I booked 2 rooms for 2 nights, the price for the rooms were expensive, the rooms were sub-quality and nasty. I have paid similar prices at other Hotel chains so the price wasn't what disappointed me. What was disappointing was the beds (lumpy and uncomfortable), the rooms (dark, dingy and nasty), the AC was loud and the humidity from the AC in the rooms almost unbearable. You could feel the mold and mildew surround you. The value I received is not what I expected for the price I paid. Frankly, regardless of the price, I wouldn't have enjoyed the stay due to the conditions mentioned above. This place is like something from the 80s. I expected more from IHG (Holiday Inn), maybe that was my mistake.
One bright note was the cleaning staff, they were happy and very pleasant, even singing as they worked.

Read More
Read Less

Decent property, but terrible WiFi

By

November 02, 2020

club

I recently stayed at this property for multiple nights because I knew some Acadia hotels would have spotty wifi. Choosing a conference hotel was intentionally done as I had business meetings most evenings while traveling for leisure. Awful decision!

The hotel wifi was not even 1mbps down and not even a half mbps up. I couldn't get on any Zoom calls, so I had to leave a night early for a critical customer call after it had failed 2 nights in a row. I asked for 1 day checkout early and was given a hundred dollar fee plus I had to book another hotel off island which was inconvenient and ended up costing more money. I'll never stay at this property again.

Read More
Read Less

Road Trip Getaway

By

November 01, 2020

Overall we had a good stay at this hotel. The property is large and in great proximity to downtown Bar Harbor. Restaurant was open with social distance measures in place. Lobby and common areas were clean. Room is a bit outdated could do with an upgrade but comfortable. The big issue for our stay was the WiFi connection. The first day it was very spotty and the 2nd night it went out completely. The staff were aware as many of the people staying were looking to download tickets for Acadia and other outings. The next morning front desk was working with provided to resolve issue but still was not fixed by checkout.

Read More
Read Less

Front Desk Agent

By

October 26, 2020

We requested to extend our stay for an extra night and the front desk agent, a young lady (to be polite) used sleazy excuses to bump up our rate including taking out free breakfast that was included in previous night rate!

Upon check out, we found that breakfast was incorrectly added to the bill. One front desk agent named Lex was somewhat helpful but agent from the night before continued to be dreadful. I do not know how in the world she is employed in hospitality industry!

I don't know what kind of business you guys are running at Bar Harbor Holiday Inn Regency but to have an unprofessional, unethical and rude agent working for you … I seriously would rethink you agents.

Worst experience EVER! DO NOT stay at this hotel

Read More
Read Less

Disgusting Room

By

October 07, 2020

Stayed here in October 2020 and I must say I’m confused about the positive reviews. We had to share our room with about 10 black flies- ew. And if that wasn’t bad enough, there were tons of dead bugs squished on the wall in the bathroom?!? Does anyone clean room 151??? At 9:45am the cleaning service barged into the room without knocking. Our “balcony” had no privacy and was literally in full view of the parking lot. To top it all off, the gal at check-in asked for my boyfriends card for the “deposit” and then charged the price of the room to his card?? So why did I put my card info online??? I do not recommend this place. It’s really disgusting and there are certainly better places to stay for the same price!

Read More
Read Less

Watch your wine

By

September 22, 2020

I checked out of my hotel room around 10AM and accidentally left an unopened bottle of wine in the refrigerator. I called the front desk about 30 minutes later to let them know I left my unopened bottle of wine in the refrigerator. The front desk told me my unopened wine bottle had already been 'disposed of'. Not believing the front desk (because who throws away an unopened/chilled bottle of wine), I went back in and checked with the room service staff, who had my unopened wine bottle on their cleaning cart.

Read More
Read Less

Mediocre at best

By

September 14, 2020

platinumelite

My partner and I stayed at this location for Labor Day weekend. I found it to be a reasonably nice location (it was okay, not the best, however - right cross from a motel and a bit of a far walk into town). The shuttle service which is advertised as being available on their website was not operating because of COVID-19. This I understood, however, it would be nice if they made this update to their website so they are not advertising a service they no longer offer (I'm a web designer so I know this is reasonably easy to do).

The decor of the hotel is outdated. You can clearly tell there has not been any updates to the carpets, furniture, bedding, or really any of the decor since I am assuming the 90s or early 2000's (and this is being generous).

The grounds of the hotel is probably what impressed me the most. It is very large and spacious. The heated hotel pool was also a nice size. They do have a hot tub as well, however, I did not go in it. Also, they have a cute little Tiki bar right next to the pool area, which is nice if you wanted to grab a drink poolside.

The staff was friendly and nice. The front desk clerk allowed us to check in about an hour before the check-in time which I really appreciated. One thing that did confused me, however, was that my email confirmation stated check-in time was "3pm" but I received a text alert prior to check-in which stated that "Our standard check-in time is at 4pm". It seems like there are quite a few discrepancies between what the website states and what their updated policies are. As I had mentioned, this did not really effect me at all as they let me check-in early, however, if this was not the case I would have been quite upset.

I can't tell you how excited I was when I realized I had an ocean view room on the second floor. Well, this turned out not to be something I should have gotten excited for because the view was completely obstructed by the top of what I believe was their in house restaurant, La Bella Vita. So, instead of overlooking the ocean it was over looking concrete. I am a Platinum IHG rewards member, so I am a bit disappointed that I received a room with such a terrible view.

The room itself was clean but pretty small and again, outdated. It did have a mini fridge, flat screen TV and Keruig machine. The bathroom was small in size as well. The room was a bit stuffy upon entry so I opened the window to let some air in only to find an extremely large spiders nest complete with a giant spider on the other side of the window. There are no screens on the window so I had to close it for fear that the spider half the size of my hand would come into the room.

For breakfast my partner and I had eaten at the in house restaurant, La Bella Vita. There was a half an hour wait to be seated but the food and view from our table was very good. The service though, was a bit flat. The server either seemed really tired, or just not in the most pleasant mood. They were not rude by any means, but they surely did not have an upbeat, friendly attitude that you would expect in a customer service role.

Overall, my experience here was a bit mediocre. I will say, Bar Harbor, Maine is amazing and I will most certainly be back to visit, however, I will not be staying at this hotel again. When my partner and I were walking around town on our visit we saw some much nicer looking hotels that we had both mentioned we would prefer to stay at for our next visit.

Read More
Read Less

Lacks customer service

By

August 16, 2020

club

Overall this is a good place to stay. Pool was great and tiki bar stuff really knows how to serve customers. The on site restaurant was lacking in service and personality. Rude when asked a simple substitution on a kids meal. Called the front desk two different days and no answer. I have never experienced that before...weird. had to get our own towels after a no show on that one. To conclude the wifi stinks....no service at all.

Read More
Read Less

Rooms great, poor service

By

August 12, 2020

We stayed for two nights this past weekend. While the rooms were awesome, the service was not so great. We had three rooms and arrived at 2:35 p.m. Front desk said our rooms weren't ready, which was fine because check in was 3 p.m. When I asked when they would be ready, she said hopefully by 4. We went to the pool area to relax while waiting. First room wasn't ready until 3:45, second room not until after 4. The restaurant downstair was only open until 9. After a full day of being out we were hoping to come back to hotel to relax (especially on a weekend) and have a snack and drink. But we could not. Down at the pool, the bar also closed at 9 even though the pool was open until 10. On Sunday, the bar at the pool closed at 6, even though pool was open until 10. Both nights the bar was full and people had to leave because they were closing.

Read More
Read Less