Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

121 State Street| Santa Barbara California | 93101| United States| 1-805-9666586-| Email Hotel
1-805-96600781-805-9666586-
Hotel Review
Guest Reviews
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 136 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

136reviews

  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2

Great location but tiny bathrooms!

By

October 16, 2014

club

Overall, this is a very good hotel. Great location, very nice hotel rooms and public areas. The exercise facility is very, very small (about half the size of a hotel room) - but it has good quality equipment. My biggest concern was the bathroom - it was tiny! So tiny that you have to fold back the shower door to use the toilet.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Dear Phoenician2015, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding Hotel Indigo’s modern design and location. You are right, our restrooms feature a European standing shower separated from the toilet area by a full length swinging glass door. Architects skillfully designed the restroom this way to utilize space and reduce our ecological footprint. We provide complimentary beach cruiser bikes for guest use with a great waterfront bike/running path just steps from our front door. Thank you again for your thoughtful feedback!
Read More
Read Less

Pricey Sized Dorm Room with Great Service/Location

By

October 16, 2014

Everything about this hotel is great except the size of the room/bathroom. Had I been the one to choose a hotel in Santa Barbara, I probably would have looked at other accommodations based on the reviews of others. Don't get me wrong, the service, location and cleanliness of the hotel was amazing but the price did not justify the size of the room/bathroom. We only stayed for a night so it wasn't that bad but I would have changed hotels if we stayed longer.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Dear Momtobe2015, Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Indigo! I was very sorry to read we failed to meet your expectations in the size of the hotel rooms. Being a small boutique hotel in a historic building, our rooms and washrooms are thoughtfully designed to utilize the original compact space and reduce our ecological footprint. I would like to recommend our Garden Patio rooms on the ground floor which provide a private outdoor patio space. Thank you again for the positive and negative feedback.
Read More
Read Less

GREAT PLACE TO ENJOY SANTA BARBARA!

By

October 15, 2014

platinumelite

Went there for a Girls Weekend and had the Best time ever. First time there and was made to feel like home. Frank at the front desk was Fabulous! He totally knows the hotel the best and the area. Great find there with Frank! We are already planning our next trip there!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review; we're happy to have been a part of your fun girls’ weekend! We appreciate the positive feedback; Frank was especially pleased to be mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest on your next getaway!
Read More
Read Less

Quaint and querky hotel but tiny rooms

By

October 07, 2014

Overall experience was good. We loved the ambience and decor of the hotel and the staff were helpful and friendly. Down side is that the rooms are small and the hotel is right next to the railway tracks (trains blow their horns as they pass). Design of the bathroom was strange in that the toilet is virtually in the shower recess so watch out for getting wet. Not a cheap hotel given the size of the rooms.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Dear Brisky, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding Hotel Indigo’s modern design and friendly staff members. You are right; our rooms are compact in size and allow us to be a certified Green Engage hotel. The restrooms were designed for to maximize space efficiency by featuring a European standing shower separated from the toilet area by a full length swinging glass door; I apologize this was not a good fit. Thank you again for the positive and negative details you have left for our future guests. Your comments are greatly appreciated and I am happy to hear about your overall good experience.
Read More
Read Less

Excellent Hotel in Santa Barbara

By

October 06, 2014

platinumelite

This is a great hotel for a couple staying in Santa Barbara. The rooms are very small but very comfortable. With so much to do and see in town this room is all you need. Hotel also has beautiful lounges and a modern art library!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 09, 2014
Dear Eliza, We were happy to welcome you and your sweetie to Hotel Indigo on your Santa Barbara getaway! I'm pleased to hear you browsed our unique art library and took time to unwind in our sunny outdoor terraces. Thank you for the wonderful review!
Read More
Read Less

Meh

By

October 02, 2014

club

The hotel is cheery and bright, and so are the rooms, although they are incredibly small. The real issue was the bathroom, with the shower that wasn't closed off. I felt like I was showering on the toilet and even though there were shower curtains creating a barrier between the rest of the bathroom, water managed to get all over. In an already tiny bathroom, it was cramped and awkward.

The patio outside my window played music that I could hear into my room until 2 am, when I called the front desk to request it to stop. The light outside, however, was never turned off and my drapes didn't close all the way. Needless to say, I didn't get a good sleep.

The staff was friendly and I enjoyed the complementary wine hour. The location near the beach is awesome, but I would definitely look elsewhere before staying here again.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 07, 2014
Dear Kelli, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to provide some valuable feedback. We are thrilled to hear how much you appreciated the service and friendliness of our great staff. We regret, however, that not every aspect of your stay met your expectations. Please know that your comments are taken very seriously, and we will follow up on what we might be able to do to make the outside music and lighting a little more tolerable at night. If you have any further comments or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly and ask to speak personally with the general manager. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon!
Read More
Read Less

Great staff-convenient location

By

September 30, 2014

Excellent! Would return on our next visit to the area--and recommend to our friends.

Thanks for a great stay!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 09, 2014
Dear DJP24, Thank you for the excellent review; all of us at Hotel Indigo enjoyed reading your comments and look forward to your next visit!
Read More
Read Less

Charming. modern, cozy hotel

By

September 24, 2014

platinumelite

Perfect balance of modern accommodations and amenities with origins of locations - historical, architectural and social. Location is superb, staff is friendly. great service and ambiance - all attributes of home away from home met

Posted byHotelStaff
October 09, 2014
Dear vira23, Thank you for taking the time to leave positive feedback regarding Hotel Indigo's location and wonderful customer service. We're glad our friendly, boutique ambience and modern amenities were a great fit for your travel style. We hope to see you on your next getaway to Santa Barbara!
Read More
Read Less

Sehr schönes Hotel

By

September 21, 2014

Das Hotel ist sehr schön und sauber und liegt super. zum Strand und zur Pier sind es nur wenige Laufminuten und auch in die Innenstadt sind es nur wenige Laufminuten.

Das einzige,was etwas stört, ist die Bahnlinie, die direkt am Hotel verläuft. Das Hupen des Zugs sowie die Motoren der Lok sind sehr laut und nicht mit deutschen, regulierten Zügen vergleichbar. Auch hört man den klingelnden Bahnübergang über Minuten. Der Letzten Zug fährt um 21.45 Uhr, dann gibt es nachts noch einen Zug (jedesmal hupend). Der früheste Zug kommt ebenfalls hupend um 6.50 Uhr.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 09, 2014
Sehr geehrte Frau Jeannie24, Vielen Dank für Ihre wunderbare Bewertung zu Hotel Indigo Lage, saubere Zimmer und Zugfahrplan.
Read More
Read Less

Great location. Friendly staff

By

September 16, 2014

platinumelite

Never visited before, but decided to stay at this location after visiting another more recommended, but older hotel. This hotel is fabulous! Great location. Very friendly staff. Restaurant is actually very good and not at all like your regular hotel restaurant. Very lively and varied menu. Rooms can be small, but we were upgraded to a larger king room with a private terrace. Parking is onsite and relatively cheap for a hotel.

Read More
Read Less

DESIGN HOTEL, NEW AND CLEAN

By

September 15, 2014

WE APPRECIATED SMILING AND KIND STAFF. HOTEL NEW, CLEAN AND WITH GOOD DESIGN.
BUT ROOM WAS REALLY SMALL AND THERE WERE A LOT OF NOISE CAUSED BY THE RAILWAY WHICH IS REALLY CLOSE TO THE HOTEL.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 17, 2014
Dear IOLE, Thank you for the review of Hotel Indigo's new design and wonderful staff. You are right, our rooms are compact in size due to our historical building; this has also given us the opportunity to be a Green Engage IHG hotel and reduce our carbon footprint. If you are to return to the hotel, we would be happy to assign a room towards the back of the hotel which is a bit quieter. Thank you for the feedback, we’re glad to have been part of your trip through California!
Read More
Read Less

Be advised before booking

By

September 13, 2014

If you stay here be mentally prepared for very small rooms and high neighborhood noise levels including very loud train horns. The hotel is literally within 20 feet of the train tracks. One advantage is that the Amtrak depot is right next door. I used more than normal number of points to stay here on a reward night and the location was right. In Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara's defense the Holiday Inn Santa Barbara has very small rooms. I guess it is part of the Santa Barbara real estate crunch. If you stay in Santa Barbara I highly recommend going to The Palace Restaurant at 8 Cota St. The whole restaurant including patrons sing What a Wonderful World it Would Be. If not for our experience at this restaurant our Santa Barbara would have been a complete bust.

Read More
Read Less