Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District

201 West Bay Street| Savannah Georgia | 31401| United States| ---| Email Hotel
-----
Hotel Review
Guest Reviews
Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District

Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
22%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

2.3

based on 24 reviews
22%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

24reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    8

Disappointing

By

July 10, 2022

I had great hopes for my first visit to a Hotel Indigo for this location and as a brand. Front desk staff seemed not to be happy about to be there. It happens, I guess we are humans. But 3 of them? No recognition as an IHG member. Although, Valet staff were friendly and always helpful.

Great, great location and quaint lobby.

Fourth floor smelled musty and humid, as if the carpet got clean and did not dry fast enough. Room silling seemed to have mold on it. One towel was provided, I had to ask for more. I could not get out of there fast enough. :-(

Overall I was disappointed.

Read More
Read Less

A lot of Issues

By

July 06, 2022

club

Underwhelming. Staff doesn’t seem to care. No services rendered during our stay. Asked for more towels and it took forever because they had “run out.” Valet service is expensive and they don’t answer when called. Rooms do not reflect the pictures. Rooms, especially tge bathroom, were unclean. I have asked 3 times for a copy of my receipt since their system was down m. How difficult is it to email my receipt? I’m still waiting. Savannah is nice, but choose a different hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Horrible

By

June 26, 2022

platinumelite

After speaking with hotel and IHG they did upgrade me but not before the following….. Double queen rooms are smaller than usual, stains in the hallway carpets, hotel staff swept trash into the hallway that people had to walk through to get to their rooms. The king suite that they upgraded me to had a hole cut into the ceiling above the shower that wasn’t properly fixed…. rust on the bathroom vanity and funk on the floor. The pictures on the website are VERY deceiving, and I wasn’t the only guest complaining. On the last day it smelt like a sewer backup. One guest was complaining while I was checking out that the water stopped working in her room and the staff didn’t seem worried, she brushed it off and said that maintenance would check it out when they got in. I frequent IHG hotels, but I will NEVER return to this hotel. Some of the staff was rude to other customers. I will be demanding my 80,000 points back

Read More
Read Less

Average

By

June 17, 2022

I was disappointed with this Hotel. Although the price was very reasonable, the staff was very unprofessional. They would not accommodate an early check in for us or any other guests who requested. At one point I witnessed the staff drinking whiskey while at the front desk. Housekeeping would not reset the beds unless requested daily. Chairs in lobby were very dirty and should be replaced.

on the plus side,
The valet was awesome and very pleasant. Location is great, within walking distance to most places.

not a bad Hotel, management needs to work on staff and Housekeeping.

Read More
Read Less

Would not book again

By

June 14, 2022

Terrible experience, staff rude and not trained on hospitality.

Read More
Read Less

Poor value

By

June 05, 2022

club

By Indigo standards this hotel is very average. It has a good location and the building is nice and looks like a converted warehouse.
A busy hotel with a decent ambience and amenities though our room, and the bathroom shower in particular, could have been cleaner.
The breakfast went well on our first day but on the second we had an unacceptable wait for our food though we were refunded our charge by way of an apology.
The manager Desmond was a credit to the IHG group and his hands on approach is to be commended.
The down side of our stay would have to be the room rate for a Friday night stay. It was almost double the Thursday rate.
We could have stayed in a five star hotel in our home city of Edinburgh for less!
This is the main reason I can’t recommend

Read More
Read Less

Stay at The Marshall House next time...

By

June 03, 2022

I'm not one to leave reviews but my experience with this hotel was not what I expected. The staff was not friendly at all, it almost seemed like we were "bothering them" when we checked in and when we had any questions. The only people that were friendly that I dealt with was the valet. I booked this hotel through Travelocity at a specific rate only for the hotel to charge me $90 more than what I was supposed to be charged! I'm now having to go through Travelocity to try and get some of my money back. I also had housekeeping walk right into my room without knocking after I had already declined housekeeping service once. That same night we saw a huge water bug crawling up the wall. The next time we are in Savannah we will go back to The Marshall House.

Read More
Read Less

Very poorly managed hotel

By

April 23, 2022

We are platinum members of IHG, and will consider dropping that after our experience here. We arrived early; check-in is not till 4:00pm. They said we would get a room as soon as one was available. My husband went on to his meeting. I waited in the lobby for the room to be freed. I waited 4 hours! I saw people with luggage checking in and going upstairs. When I asked politely what was up and why couldn't I get my room, they would look intently at the computer and say my room wasn't ready. (!!) Waited patiently. Finally got upset and demanded to know what was going on. They gave me a room on the first floor—when I opened the door was overwhelmed with mold smell. Told them I couldn't stay in that room. They looked intently for another room—meanwhile other people are checking in. What's up with that? I'll never know! When we did get a room at 5:00pm, the air conditioner was leaking badly. We told the manager who acted like it was normal and told us to turn the air conditioner down (it was on 72). We just gathered a bunch of towels and laid them on the floor to soak up the water. Coffee maker didn't work. There was only one towel. Ugh! A huge hassel and unpleasant stay. Never again.

Read More
Read Less

Wasted rewards nights

By

February 28, 2022

Had the chance to be an amazing stay, but the elevators were barely functioning properly, and they haven’t been inspected since 2019. The bar drinks ran me $60 for 4 drinks, bartender was extremely sweet though. The best part was when we had someone else check in to our room while we was not there, and the front desk seemed to think it was laughable while admitting someone else was in our room even though we had expensive items in the room that could have been easily stolen. She had to reprogram our keys so that we could have access to our room since the keys deactivated once the other person entered our room. I know that since I worked for IHG myself and done an internship with them not even a year ago. I know it isn’t the employees fault for the parking garage, but that thing is terrible. I don’t know who designed that but it was not made for vehicles larger than a VW Beatle.

Read More
Read Less

Very Disappointed

By

July 14, 2021

There were 2 good things about our stay, Kimberly, the Concierge was very helpful and personable and the location of this property was convenient. We have always had great experiences with IHG properties until this one. Our room was dirty and unkept. There was dirt, food, dust and trash under the bathroom vanity and night tables, the entire room had barely been swept/vacuumed and dusted. Something brown was poured all over the wall in the bathroom. We could not open the curtains because the pull rods were missing and the curtain rod was barely hanging on to the wall. I could go on… Bottom line I would not recommend this property.

Read More
Read Less

Great location, but zero sense of welcome and iffy cleanliness

By

July 05, 2021

Great location, decent bedroom, zero sense of welcome from staff. Not ready for primetime again after the pandemic shut-down, apparently.

Hotel Indigo has a great location in Savannah: right around the corner from the city market and an easy walk to the riverfront. The adjacent parking deck is very convenient for people arriving by car, although the city lot in Ellis Square has better rates on the weekend.

We stayed in a king suite, which meant we were in the older building with very tall ceilings. The room was set up similarly to a typical suites hotel room: living area, then bathroom, then small bedroom with window.

Furniture in the living area was modern and looked relatively new (though with a rip in the sofa), but was so uncomfortable we didn’t use the space. The TV in the living area didn’t work, but after we mentioned our suspicion that the remote’s batteries were dead, the front desk provided a new remote that worked. The buttons on the telephone weren’t labeled, and when I hit “0,” nobody answered, so I’m not sure if that’s how I was supposed to call the front desk. We reported this issue to the front desk, but it wasn’t fixed. A trim piece on the wall of the living area had come off and was laying against the bathroom door track.

The bathroom was attractive, but form definitely reigned over function in the renovation. The shower was dark (a small fluorescent bulb over the toilet was slow to “warm up,” and even when it did, was focused in such a way as to not light the shower well. The farm door was extremely heavy, and other users had beat up the door with the awkward hardware. There was one place to hang a hand towel, but the hook was coming off the wall and was so low that we couldn’t hang even a washcloth. It’s OK that there weren’t many places to hang hand towels, because none were provided. In fact, they provided two bath towels and two washcloths (no floor mat), which might have been OK except that there was no maid service. We asked the front desk for another pair of towels and received one more bath towel. The lights at the vanity (which were at eye level) were very dirty - a thick layer of dust - and the shower did not drain very well (because the floor wasn’t level).

The bed was very comfortable and, while small, the bedroom was great. We particularly liked the large windows, although they had not been cleaned recently.

The breakfast buffet was lackluster, and the woman at the register was clearly annoyed that she had to stop texting to come over and take our voucher each morning. Though breakfast was included in our rate, we quit eating there after the second day because it was preferable to pay for a decent breakfast. The coffee in particular was comically bad.

Front desk staff would not issue breakfast vouchers for multiple days, (apparently) did not call in maintenance requests, and told me it wasn’t worth their trouble to add my IHG number to my reservation because I paid through a third-party site (actually, it would have been helpful to tie my reservation to my account so that I could track it later, but they insisted IHG membership doesn’t matter anyway).

We loved our time in Savannah, but I absolutely would not stay at this hotel again. There are several others in the immediate area (and I *would* recommend the immediate area as a great location) that must certainly be better.

Read More
Read Less

Far from a four star hotel.

By

April 09, 2021

Honestly the condition of this hotel would be unacceptable even if we weren't coming out of a pandemic. Everything was dirty; including the front desk. They are severely understaffed and when you check in they inform you there's no housekeeping throughout your stay. If you need anything you have to come down and ask them for it.

I actually ended up having to clean the bottom of my shower before using it. Of the few towels that were in the room, half of them had stains on them. The floor in the room was sticky and there were several places throughout the room where you could tell it hadn't been cleaned in weeks or months. This included large portions of the floor, behind the toilet, the tray that holds the toiletries on the sink, the base of the bedside lamp, the tray with the Keruig, etc. I ended up having to wedge my suitcase up against the AC unit each night because when I turned it on the front made an terrible rattling noise. The caulk in the shower was peeling off the wall and had mold on it and there was also mold throughout the track of the shower door itself.

As for the rest of the hotel it's just rundown. The carpet squares are coming up in the hallways, treads are coming off the staircase, and the ice machine sounded like it was dying a slow death out in the hallway.

All things considered, I was told by other guests I lucked out. I did a Priceline express deal and was assigned a room at check in, which was available when I arrived at 10am. It faced the parking garage (quiet side of the hotel) and had a microwave and mini fridge in the room. The location in Savannah was awesome and allowed me to stop in throughout the day to use the restroom, rest, and drop of bags. For the most part I was out exploring and didn't spend too much time in the hotel.

If you decide to book here, just be aware that this is at most a two star hotel on it's best day.

Read More
Read Less