Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental Kansas City At The Plaza

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Kansas City At The Plaza
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
79%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 488 reviews
79%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

488reviews

  • 5 Stars
    259
  • 4 Stars
    94
  • 3 Stars
    60
  • 2 Stars
    45
  • 1 Stars
    30

Dress Code.

By

15 August 2022

platinumelite

The service as always excellent. On this occasion, the American Slang restaurant experience was pleasant, but they should at least implement a casual dress code for this area. Some people do not understand that the restaurant inside the hotel is not part of the pool area. They have a small poolside kiosk that sells a variety of pool-friendly food and drink.

Read More
Read Less

In Need of Serious Remodel

By

05 August 2022

club

This hotel needs a major facelift, from the exterior, to the lobby to the guest rooms themselves. There was no cover for the television remote. There were wires coming out from the walls which were neither behind the wall or tucked under the carpet. We found rogue hairs in the bathroom. The tub finish was wearing off and there were are rust stains in the shower. Definitely not what someone would expect from the Intercontinental brand. The condition of the hotel does not warrant the exorbitant "resort fees". As a former Kansas Citian, it is sad to see how this property has been allowed to decline. The poolside food and beverage was mediocre as well. I will say, we did very much appreciate the late check-out we were afforded and everyone on staff was extremely friendly and kind.

Read More
Read Less

The people make the difference

By

23 June 2022

The staff is really what made this day special. Shayna, Especially, went out of her way to make sure my wife and family and I were very comfortable, spending extra time and effort making sure our accommodations were great, as well as making our anniversary feel special and honored. Thanks Shayna, you are awesome!

Read More
Read Less

Concierge level

By

19 May 2022

I have stayed at this hotel for 2o years. Unfortunately the concierge level needs attention. They did not have the friendliest staff and multiple times out of plates to eat on, out of creamer, or other things that are stated as provided on the concierge level. Spoke with the general manager hoping this is resolved. The front desk staff Victoria was amazing as well as the valet and downstairs bar staff

Read More
Read Less

Hotel is now economy level at best

By

18 April 2022

The Intercontinental on the Kansas City plaza used to the gem of the area but now is very rundown with poor customer service. With loud music heard from a ballroom party until very late in to the night, it is not a place for a family to get a good night's sleep. The marble bathroom floors are now ridden with black mold with cracks and stains everywhere. The rooms have a musty smell and the carpet looked to be unvacuumed for quite some time. Surfaces have fingerprint stains and grime. The food and beverage options are poor even causing one of the member's of our traveling group to get sick. Staff are often engaged in their own conversations about their private lives in the common areas and have no respect for guests to maneuver by their clique circle. Choose another hotel, any hotel on the plaza than this one as it needs a complete remodel or to be torn down and rebuilt.

Read More
Read Less

Tired and Disappointed

By

20 January 2022

platinumelite

Recently stayed over a weekend (Fri/Sat/Sun) in a Jr. Suite, initial suite provided was dirty with trash that had been picked up by housekeeping, stains on the coffee table and couch along with the couch pillows being turned upside-down. Second suite provided similar issues with trash/cleaning and when sliding open the curtains to the balcony the hardware from the curtain came off the track and hit me in the head. Third suite provided of all of them was the cleanest, although stains on the couch, wallpaper peeling off the wall in the sitting and bedroom it was the best of the three. I was told by the manager this was the best that could be done, so I settled for the third suite.
Overall for an Intercontinental Hotel, this was disappointing experience from cleanliness, to condition of the hotel, and the customer service. We ended up checking out a day earlier than we planned.

Read More
Read Less

Huge Disappointment

By

17 October 2021

This hotel is not worthy of the InterContinental name when compared to others we’ve stayed in around the world. Having grown up staying here regularly when it was the Alameda Plaza Hotel I was eager to return to the splendor I recalled, but was disappointed at every turn. We arrived at 6:00 pm (2 hrs after check-in time), struggled through the doors with multiple bags while a doorman stood idly by, & were told our room was not yet available with no explanation as to why or when we could expect it to be. We'd been traveling all day & had a rehearsal dinner to get ready for but all the front desk staff suggested was to use the fitness facility bathroom to get ready & leave our bags at the desk until we returned later. When we persisted we were given a room of lesser value than what we paid for, which we accepted as somewhere to shower & get ready. Said room reeked of marijuana & smoke residue remained on the furniture. The only mirror was in the shower/toilet area with no exhaust fan to clear the steam. There was dried vomit on our balcony floor, down the exterior wall & on the handrail of the balcony below ours. I reported this & the lingering smell of marijuana to the front desk the next morning when time allowed, requested we be moved to a clean room in keeping with the reservation we had made & was told we would receive a call when one was available later in the day. We never received that call & the vomit hadn't been cleaned when we returned, exhausted from a day of wedding festivities, near midnight. While the wait staff at the hotel restaurant was friendly and attentive, there were no gluten free offerings & we were unable to add to our order after our initial selections as the kitchen “was behind 60 orders” & couldn’t accept any more. The entire property appeared run down, in desperate need of repairs, upgrades & deep cleaning. There were no apologies for any of the issues from front desk staff when we checked out - only vague excuses about being short staffed & claims others had dropped the ball. Quite simply - if you are not operating at full staff you should not be selling rooms to full capacity.

Read More
Read Less

Wonderful Staff

By

23 September 2021

I can't say enough about the wonderful staff at IHG KC Plaza. However I was disappointed that I had to be moved to a second room since the first room was not prepared and then the second room didn't score high for spotlessness.

Read More
Read Less

Absolutely terrible stay and customer service

By

31 August 2021

Absolutely terrible stay! Paid for the club level which was not available when we got there. All together we had 4 rooms for 2 nights. The air conditioning was practically non existent. Room 1019 The bathroom door handle fell off in my hand and I was stuck in the bathroom. There was bugs flying around. Room 1009 there were bugs in the room and the people in that room went home with bug bites all over their legs. Room 1011 the shower head came out of the wall and room 651 the door would hardly open, so hard to open that if there were a fire my mother would not be able to get out. My parents got delivered extra towels by someone that works for a hotel and he delivered the towels in his bath robe ???? I have contacted the hotel and Jeff keeley which has only offered to give 25% off of the rooms which we were over charged on in the first place. And all he said was here is 25% and we will contact an exterminator. I’ve had way better experience staying at the drury inn. This hotel seemed very run down and trashy and customer service is non existent.

Read More
Read Less

Hot and bothered staycation

By

05 August 2020

I've often staycationed here as I live 30 minutes or so south.. The proximity to shopping is incredible and we've always enjoyed it. Usually we we book direct and on one occasion a couple years ago my company reserved about 80 rooms. In July we reserved a room thru a 3rd party which is not typical but the hotel wouldn't match 3rd party which was a bit cheaper. It did not advise that the hotel valet parking and all food was closed due to covid. That was a let down, but we can understand why sort of. We were only doing one night for our 18yr anniversary and were going to shop the next day. We had a hard time sleeping because it was so hot in our room with the a/c on high auto and we tried "on". Nothing helped and about 1130pm we called the front desk and no one answered. We toughed it out and called the next morning and asked for a late check out so we could sleep in. They obliged. I thought about it and thought I could have stayed home and saved the driver and been nice and cool in my bed. Maybe the kids couldve stayed with Gma. I decided to let my discontent be know to the front desk and they said all they could do is send an engineer up to check it. I said that would have helped the night before but we were set to check out at noon. I continued working with S (the manager) and asked if there was anything she could do to allow me to reserve another night at a discounted rate. She said there was nothing she could do as the manager but recommended that I book another night thru the third party. I decided at that point to call customer service. They worked with her while I was on hold and said she decided to extend it 1 night at about a 20 dollar discount from the third party. They disconnected and I called to try and reach her several times because I didn't know if I was in fact switching rooms or the ac was going to be fixed. I didn't know if she just extended it or I needed to confirm. I called the hotel several times and held for 20 min each time approximately. I left for my brunch reservation at RYE and called customer service after holding with the hotel forever. I's say from the time I left for my brunch reservation and the hour and a half i was there trying to eat I was on the phone and in the end they said to go to the hotel and as for S. She said I needed to come re-swipe my card, I told her the room was still warm and she advised the engineer took a look and they decided to move me to another room. I asked why on the 3rd floor (where we were) there was industrial fans and it smelt like mildew. She said she didn't now anything but would ask the engineer to look into it. Seemed weird the manager was out of the loop. When she swiped my card it was actully swiped for 2 dollars cheaper than the third party but I decided to avoid bringing that up as she was not very out going a the time. We went to our room on the 6th floor and to our surprise the room was much smaller. My wife was upset but I advised maybe the cooling system is struggling and our room would be easier to cool. She didn't appear to appreciate the silver lining :) . Anyhow while unloading all by belongings in the room I noticed in the bathroom there were may long brown hairs next to the toilet that were wet, and several (about 9 there were under the sink area near where you would stand to wash your hands. I called customer service as it seemed the S didn't seem to want to use her authority as a manager without assistance. Customer service seemed just as helpless. I asked if we could move to a bigger room or at least a clean one and they said they were filing a record and emailing corporate with my issues and they would call the hotel and see what could be done. After about 3 total hours on the phone they said they would call me back. I never heard from them. I'll chalk it up to being shut down and lower staffing, maybe they shut down prematurely. Who knows. I may just go back to the Fontaine in the future.

Read More
Read Less

helpful to a family with two teenagers

By

27 February 2020

They were able to upgrade us to a suite with two bathrooms. No problems at all. Great stay.

Read More
Read Less

Terrible Customer Service

By

22 February 2020

I’ve never received such poor customer service in my life! My windshield was smashed in the VALET parking lot and hotel management were complete dicks about the whole thing. The security guys are flash light for real. They’re a outfit owned by a investment company (Procaccianti) out of Rhode Island. This hotel is simply living off being located on the KC Country Club Plaza. Don’t be FOOLED by the hype. It was once a nice hotel, but it is now a pig with lipstick!

Read More
Read Less