Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental Athenaeum Athens

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Athenaeum Athens
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
91%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 192 reviews
91%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

192reviews

  • 5 Stars
    122
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4

Visiting Athens

By

07 February 2020

Very clean, quiet and spacious room. Professional and kind staff. Very good conference facilities and catering services.

Read More
Read Less

One of our favorite hotels

By

18 November 2019

Coming back to the Intercontinental Athens for is always like coming home. The warm welcome of the hotels staff is genuine a pleasure. Arriving as a spire elite club member we were again met by Hara Alevizou, a guest relations officer who immediately recognised us from earlier visits and accompanied us to the club members check-in on the 8th floor and even took us to our room after breezing through the short check-in formalities. We had not mentioned twin beds or a no smoking room. Unfortunately the club-rooms all were sold out. Our room smelled terribly of cigar smoke; with the opened windows with an impressive view of the Acropolis, it was bearable. At night we could not close the windows because of the smell. That did lessen the comfort of our sleep, as through die open windows the noise from the busy street was an issue. That is why we could only give 2 stars for room and comfort and also for sleep quality. Without the smoke problem it would have been 5-stars all the way. Well, next time we will not miss to request a non smoking room. The staff of this hotel are its greatest asset. We are always pampered and spoilt. Thank You! The club lounge and its terrace is a place we always look forward to visit while in Athens. The view from this terrace to Filopappou Hill and the Acropolis is our favorite place to relax after a tiring day in the city. It is a great place, especially if you are lucky and no cigar smoking guests are poisoning the fresh air outside. The snacks in the evening are appreciated by all and it is a perfect place to socialise. The breakfast in the morning, best outside on the terrace is just what we love. It is the best! Even health nuts like us are overwhelmed every time. We are looking forward to return home to our Athenaeum Intercontinental again soon..

Read More
Read Less

Honeymooning In Athens, Regrettably choose the Intercontinental

By

16 September 2019

I unfortunately book this property to spend my well earned rewards points during my honeymoon in Athens. We spent 2 nights at this hotel and I will say Check in was fantastic, Henri was helpful and pleasant. The hotel knew it was our honeymoon ahead of time. When we arrive to the room, dog hair covered the floor. Knowing this hotel is a pet free hotel, I decide, "hey, it's my honeymoon, I'm not going to complain." This attitude persisted through the hair dryer not working, the sink being clogged... basically a 2-3 star quality Intercontinental hotel.

On our second night, I wasn't feeling well so we decided to dine in instead of going out. SO regrettable. We ordered Pizza, assuming that it would be challenging to "mess up" pizza. I was incorrect. The pizza on the room service menu was simply a thin pita bread with a drop of sauce and close to 3 lbs of cheese. Needless to say we did not eat the pizza, as it was so late we didn't end up eating much of anything.

The next morning, after standing in line for 25 minutes to check out (because 3 agents were helping a single person check out), I volunteered the information about the pizza in order to get it removed from our bill. We purchased other things during our stay, but I wanted the pizza in particular removed. I explained the reasons, I explained that I was in a hurry (after waiting close to half an hour to check out -- ridiculous). The agent asked me numerous questions about the pizza. Did I call and report it to anyone? (I tried to call dining and explain it, but due to language issues, she did not understand my complaint) Who specifically did I speak with? What did they say? Did I explain to them what I wanted instead? What specifically was wrong with the pizza? Oh, you didn't want cheese on your pizza? Just ludicrous. The agent knew I was waiting in line for 25 minutes, knew I was in a hurry and treated me as though I was making the whole thing up. I apologize, it is not my job to make your product better. She then needed to get the manager to authorize the charge removal, this took another chunk of time. We arrived at the airport an hour and a half later than we planned due to this hassle.

Next time, I will check out and complain to guest relations I guess?

The real question is why this hotel is still accepted under the IHG flag? How have they not loss their franchise? I have friends and family coming to Athens in the coming months and I have already advised them to stay absolutely anywhere else. Not worth an expenditure of points, not worth any monetary amount they charge. Stay anywhere else.

Read More
Read Less

Reseña de la experiencia

By

22 December 2017

Lo invitamos a decirnos un poco mas sobre su estanc

Read More
Read Less

Évaluation de l'expérience

By

21 December 2017

vous invitons maintenant à nous en dire un peu plus sur votre séjour. Vous pouvez tout dire, ce que vous avez le p

Read More
Read Less

Reseña de la experiencia

By

20 December 2017

Lo invitamos a decirnos un poco mas sobre su estancia. Puede decirnos lo que sea, lo que le gustó mas, como los colaboradore

Read More
Read Less

Reseña de la experiencia

By

20 December 2017

Lo invitamos a decirnos un poco mas sobre su estancia. Puede decirnos lo que sea, lo que le gustó mas, como los colaboradore

Read More
Read Less

Reseña de la experiencia

By

20 December 2017

Lo invitamos a decirnos un poco mas sobre su estancia. Puede decirnos lo que sea, lo que le gustó mas, como los colaboradore

Read More
Read Less

Reseña de la experiencia

By

20 December 2017

Lo invitamos a decirnos un poco mas sobre su estancia. Puede decirnos lo que sea, lo que le gustó mas, como los colaboradore

Read More
Read Less

Reseña de la experiencia

By

20 December 2017

Lo invitamos a decirnos un poco mas sobre su estancia. Puede decirnos lo que sea, lo que le gustó mas, como los colaboradore

Read More
Read Less

Reseña de la experiencia

By

20 December 2017

Lo invitamos a decirnos un poco mas sobre su estancia. Puede decirnos lo que sea, lo que le gustó mas, como los colaboradore

Read More
Read Less

Reseña de la experiencia

By

20 December 2017

Lo invitamos a decirnos un poco mas sobre su estancia. Puede decirnos lo que sea, lo que le gustó mas, como los colaboradore

Read More
Read Less