Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental Los Angeles Downtown

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Los Angeles Downtown
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
60%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.4

based on 7 reviews
60%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

7reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Bad customer service

By

24 September 2021

I have stayed at Intercontinental downtown LA at willshire blvd for a week and they asked me for security deposit during the stay and promised will refund it after the stay. Usually it’ll takes 5-7 business day after we checked out and it’s been more than 2 weeks until today (Sept 22 )after we stay there and they have not refund it yet. I’ve been trying to call the hotel everyday for a week (within business hours) asking about the status of my security deposit but all I got was 0 answer either they transfer me to their finance who never pick up the line nor replying my massage or they put me in hold on the phone for more than 30 minutes and still no one was picking up the line. No one was explaining nor responding my call. I’m very disappointed with the hotel customer service and wasting my time calling them without getting any response. Soo sooo bad! I really need a closure about my security deposit that they have refund back to my account yet. I have never experienced this before. I don’t know what their intentions for not replying nor responding.

Read More
Read Less

Stay away

By

29 June 2021

Positive: Great room with skyline views. Negative: Where to start.... our room was on the 51st floor. You need to take an elevator to go to the lobby on the 70 floor to check in. Then change elevator to get to your room back down. Going to the pool is the same story for the 7 floor, you need to go back up 70 floor and down to the 7. How stupid is that? The pool is open only until 6pm, you would expect at least until 10pm for this type of hotel. The rooftop bar is only reservations and a minimum of $60 per person. at almost $500 a night, you would expect to be able to spend time on the roof, if not, why coming to a hotel like that?? We had a coffee and a croissant that was from the day before and Costco quality. All for $30. Horrible experience, stay away.

Read More
Read Less

Great views and service

By

22 April 2021

My partner and I enjoyed our 3-night stay at this lovely property. We appreciated the (Spire member) upgrade to a nice executive suite with gorgeous views. A few things that detracted from the enjoyment (and reduction of a star here):
-With Covid restrictions easing and lodging demand coming back to normal, this property hasn’t yet pivoted enough. It’s impossible for guests to purchase drinks in the room (even buying in a bar and bringing back without the need for room service). Other SoCal properties were doing this even during earlier phases of reopening.
-the maze of entering and exiting the hotel is EXTREMELY annoying and cumbersome. Incorrect and confusing signage at the valet, long lines at elevators on street level and lobby (4 ppl per elevator is understandable, but the computerized system assigns elevators to more people than 4, so encourages crowding and creates confusion and long lines). One thing that might help is having an assigned staff member on both ends. Leaving hotel is a big project- after leaving room waiting for lobby elevator (going UP), walking the length of the lobby to another elevator going down to street level, walking to a 3rd elevator to parking, waiting for car (not nearly enough valet staff)

Read More
Read Less

Beautiful Hotel / Terrible Elevators

By

21 February 2020

I stayed at the IC Los Angeles for 3 nights. The room itself was beautiful, the bed quite comfortable. And the view was magnificent! The hotel was also reasonably quiet given its downtown location.

Still, there were pitfalls to staying at the hotel starting with the horrendous elevator setup. When I arrived, I could not find the check-in desk. Why? Because it's located on the 70th floor with minimal signage explaining that and no doorman to help new arrivals.

To check in, you must travel to the 70th floor then switch elevator banks to reach your room below. To return to the ground floor, you have to do the reverse: First to the 70th floor then switch banks and travel to floor 1. (I am told that floors below 40 don't have to do so.)

To add insult to injury, several elevators stopped working during my stay. With only 2 operable, there was a 15-min wait to get from my room to the street level. The elevators were packed like sardines with guests flooding onto the elevator banks and lobby waiting for a ride. Just awful.

As beautiful as the rooms were, the housekeeping was subpar. The bathmat was missing as was the tissue box, leaving only an empty tissue holder. The tub never heated past lukewarm. The food at the hotel is VERY expensive and room service took more than an hour the one time I used it.

I stay at the InterContinental Los Angeles again only if the price was significantly reduced and I was guaranteed I could get to my room from the ground floor in less than 15 minutes.

Read More
Read Less

Great Service and Readily Available Staff

By

18 December 2019

I was impressed that this hotel was fully staffed. Anyone you asked for help was professional, courteous and willing to help. At first it was a little confusing getting around. You have to go up for the main lobby on 70 and then down to your floor and take a different elevator bank too, but staff was always around to help you get to where you need to be. Very hip and fun place!

Read More
Read Less

Magnificent views

By

18 August 2019

platinumelite

The views were unbelievably amazing, from our Club room, the club lounge and Spire 73. Not only we had wonderful views from our room, it was very clean and spacious. We had a wonderful time at the Club Lounge. The staff there were attentive and friendly. The hotel receptionists at the ground floor greeted guests warmly and courteously. Check in is at 70th floor though. Spire 73 was bit busy the night we stayed due to private events. We did go up during late afternoon. It was a quite an experience to view L.A, on 73th floor open-air.
It could be better if in my opinion:
Since check in is on 70th floor and the ground floor entrance is not too obvious, it may be hard to find the entrance.
The decor is not fancy enough. Not enough to compared to other Intercontinental.
IHG Rewards members no early check in
The food choice in the club lounge was limited - both breakfast and afternoon tea. Cocktails was good with lots of drinks to choose from, however only from 5:30 to 7:30. Lounge closed at 10 p.m. is kind of early in my mind. Not much to offer after the cocktails from 7:30 p.m. to 10 p.m. other than enjoying the views.
The front desk phone manner was not too appealing. I called a few times for questions and it didn't seem I was so welcome.

Read More
Read Less

Inferior housekeeping

By

15 May 2019

I stayed in your hotel from 9th to 12th May 2019. Your housekeeping and front desk services are inferior.

What your housekeeping didn't do: 1) towels were not changed and just left sitting in the bathtub for 2 days, 2) floor mat not changed, 3) used glasses and cup taken away and not replaced, 4) extra towels and slippers were requested but never came, 5) used shampoo and shower gel bottles were left in the shower stall

At 8pm 11th May, I told your front desk about the above issues and your front desk said for me to call housekeeping. I called your housekeeping, but, until check out at 12noon 12th May, your housekeeping never appeared!

At noon time 12th May, your front desk took down my email and mobile number and said that his supervisor would contact me. I never got a phone call or an email, except for a message sent via hxxxx.com. See below:

Hello Mr. K==, We tried to contact you in your room earlier today but there was no answer, I'm not sure if you got my message. If you prefer as I know you departed today you can contact me directly at david====@xxx.com or by phone xxxx and any of our Duty Managers will be able to assist.

Firstly, your staff got my surname wrong. Secondly, why call my room when i had already checked out?

I and my family had a horrible experience in your hotel. I paid for 5 star price but got no-star service!

Read More
Read Less