Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental New York Barclay

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental New York Barclay
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
77%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 591 reviews
77%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

591reviews

  • 5 Stars
    301
  • 4 Stars
    130
  • 3 Stars
    60
  • 2 Stars
    58
  • 1 Stars
    42

Family holiday

By

December 23, 2019

Upon arrival at 12:30 myself and family were made aware our room was not ready and we’re asked to return at 15:00. We left our luggage and returned later. Unfortunately we were then met with slight judgment, tired after an 8hr flight, killing time for 3hrs and getting caught in heavy downpours we did not look our best to say the least. This did not go unnoticed by the lady directing guests to reception. She was very pleasant but questioned what we were doing! After informing her of our earlier arrival she handed us to reception where we were able to check in.

The room was beautiful, clean, spacious, everything we expected, until we noticed the interconnecting door! This door is not sound proof! Every morning we woke at 5am to the sound of the guests next door using the hairdryer and having conversations. On our last night new guests arrived, they tried to open the interconnecting door at 2am, waking us all up! Their baby cried from 2am to 5am the poor parents tried to pacify the child but were unsuccessful. we could hear everything.

Upon leaving we needed a cab to the airport, there was no acknowledgement from staff, we unsuccessfully tried to get our own cab, eventually we were offered a cab that had been waiting outside the hotel as long as we had been.

To sum up, I expected a lot more from this hotel, it is high end and luxurious with a very corporate, professional but unfriendly feel. I would not recommend this hotel for families or anyone going on holiday

Read More
Read Less

Exceptionally terrible service

By

August 05, 2019

platinumelite

The alarm clock went off at 6am without any intervention, which means that housekeeping did not reset it. The point of going to a hotel is to get a good night's sleep, and this was unacceptable.

During check-in, the lady at the front desk gave a us room key that did not work. When we went back to the counter, another employee blamed us for "demagnetizing" the key card instead of taking responsibility for their mistake.

Finally, the "Exceptional Service" line put us on hold for a total of 10 minutes before a rude, clueless agent named Gabriel told us that our Platinum Elite status "guaranteed" a 2pm checkout and that we had to ask the front desk in person. When I told him the paper next to the phone said to call the "Exceptional Service" line to confirm, Gabriel put us on hold for several more minutes, changed his mind, and then told us that we had to check out at 12pm.

That's 3 employees who aren't doing their jobs properly. Perhaps all of the competent ones went to the Times Square location?

We will not be staying here again.

Read More
Read Less

NG test

By

October 22, 2015

NG testNG testNG testNG testNG testNG testNG testNG test

Read More
Read Less

Natalie test

By

January 13, 2015

Natalie testNatalie testNatalie testNatalie testNatalie test

Read More
Read Less

Natalie test

By

January 12, 2015

Natalie testNatalie testNatalie testNatalie testNatalie test

Read More
Read Less

Wonderful olde worlde hotel

By

September 25, 2014

club

We split our visit between two hotels in NY, this one and the Crowne Plaza Times Square. We didn't know how far out we'd be from the action at this location but we needn't have worried, it within walking distance of all the attractions, and grand central station is on the doorstep.

The hotel has an old grand feel about it, and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was good, the bathroom was a little cramped and dated but the bed was wonderfully large and comfortable. I think the hotel was closing shortly after our visit for refurbishment so maybe the bathrooms will be updated. We had a room on the 6th floor (one below the top) and we faced onto a busy street but heard minimal noise.

I do hope then they refurbish they don't take away the old charm of the place because it really is a little haven in a very busy city.

Read More
Read Less

Closed for 18 months?!

By

September 23, 2014

The experience at the NYC Barclay was great but we were told upon checkin that the hotel will be closed for 18 months for renovations.

Read More
Read Less

NYC Barclay

By

September 14, 2014

platinumelite

Hotel was being closed for renovations. Hope it is a lot better when it re-opens.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 19, 2014
Dear Guest, The InterContinental New York Barcaly is indeed closed for renovations. We are very excited about this gigantic project that will give a new lease of life to our dear property, restoring its elegance and beauty. We aim at providing our guests a memorable experience of luxury and hope you will want to return and visit us to enjoy an impeccable service. Awaiting to welcoming back for the Grand re-opening! Warm regards, Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Great Stay

By

September 12, 2014

club

Room and Bed were extremely comfortable

Room was very cold when first entering, but was easily adjusted

Read More
Read Less

Most Comfortable Hotel in Midtown Manhattan

By

September 12, 2014

platinumelite

I'm actually sad - the Barclay is one of my favorites and often stayed when in midtown east NYC. Yes, the rooms are old but spacious and comfortable. By closing this hotel, IHG will no longer have any presence in Manhattan's midtown East. Why not renovate the hotel one section at a time? The rooms are magnificent and yes, the bathrooms need work but they do function and the luxury is still there! Please keep the Barclay open!

Read More
Read Less

Very nice

By

September 11, 2014

club

Very nice hotel experience. Good value, beautiful lobby area, attentive staff. Will stay here again.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 19, 2014
Dear Markd45, Thank you! We definitely want to see you coming back too in 2015 and sincerely hope you will love the newlyrefurbished InterContinental New York Barclay. Kind regards, Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

service of the staffs must improve.

By

September 08, 2014

no comments
you must improve your service. your the Jewels of the IHG group do not disappointing you clients

Posted byHotelStaff
September 19, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We regret to read that your recent experience at the InterContinental New York Barclay did not reach your expectations. We would love to get more details in order to understand how we could let you down so badly and find a way to rebuild your trust in our property, therefore we sent you a private email and hope to hear from you soon. Looking forward to talking to you, Best regards, Executive Office
Read More
Read Less