Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental San Diego

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental San Diego
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
82%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.9

based on 18 reviews
82%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

18reviews

  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Fabulous!!

By

22 August 2022

platinumelite

Absolutely fantastic!! Everything about this stay was perfect and the staff is amazing!!

Read More
Read Less

Amazing hotel

By

20 July 2022

platinumelite

Arrived and made to feel very welcome, got to our 16 floor room and it was amazing with 180 degree
Views of San Diego, I have stay in a lot of hotels from Azerbaijan Baku to Las Vegas and my wife and I agree this was our best room ever.

Read More
Read Less

Awesome Stay

By

03 July 2022

platinumelite

This was our first visit to the hotel and it was well worth the stay. Everyone was very kind and place was very clean. Will stay again….

Read More
Read Less

Worst example of the Intercontinental Brand

By

16 June 2022

This hotel is, unfortunately, the worst example of the Intercontinental Brand - I have personally stayed in over 25 IC hotels globally. The staff of the hotel lacks professionalism and maturity- I am a diamond elite and the front desk staff (Ana) was clueless about my late checkout benefit. I had some issues renewing my Ambassador status and the same front desk staff, Ana, did not act in the IHG way of one brand, and instead said it wasn’t their fault, pointing at “corporate” as the issue. I have never dealt with such terrible hospitality from a IC brand and would strongly discourage anyone from staying in this hotel- go down the road to any other IHG branded hotel and it’s a guarantee you will be treated with more professionalism.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay - great InterContinental

By

06 June 2022

This is what InterContinental is about: great staff, nice rooms, outstanding loyalty benefits. We weren’t disappointed and truly enjoyed our stay. Thanks to the front desk, restaurant and Club Lounge staff to making us feel welcome and appreciated.

We liked the modern and stylish decor, excellent quiet A/C. Great Minibar selection. Good breakfast choices in restaurant.

Location right next to the USS Midway is amazing.

Read More
Read Less

Amazing service

By

26 May 2022

platinumelite

There is a reason why we are always coming back to this specific hotel every time we go to San Diego. The hotel and rooms are very clean, the views are amazing, and the staff are very friendly and professional.

Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

26 August 2021

platinumelite

Great location. Good service. Since CDC still recommends in door with mask on and keep social distance, I think the hotel should put sign at elevator door to limit numbers people in elevator. I saw there were a packed people without mask in elevator many times, specially during evening people go to 19 floors for dinner.

Read More
Read Less

Good hotel but poor club lounge

By

16 August 2021

platinumelite

The hotel is in an excellent location, almost opposite the USS Midway and not far from Balboa Park.

The hotel is a good business hotel rather than a place to go for a romantic stay. The room was bland but bed comfortable, quiet and a good night’s sleep.

I booked a club room but thought the club lounge was very poor, at least compared to those in Asia and Europe. The lounge is more like a very basic business lounge you find at US airports. Bare and functional.

The lounge food is not prepared fresh and there is no ability to order any freshly made breakfast items. The coffee machine is unable to make a latte which when the lounge is not staffed is annoying.

The small outside lounge terrace has good views of the bay. Watch out for seagulls swooping on any food left over on tables.

Service by Duy was very good.

I would come here again for business, not bother with a club room, but not the best hotel for a date with the wife.

Read More
Read Less

Room, View, Location fabulous BUT

By

23 November 2020

We had booked the 18th floor for 8 nights while visiting our son. The beginning of our trip was WONDERFUL!. The morning and evening staff in the Club Intercontinental were awesome and super helpful the first 4 days. We enjoyed visiting and had fun with them. They did have trouble keeping the wine and beer flowing on the taps, but would try to compensate with stuff they had in back, when they were available. Came to the 5th morning and different girl working. She was very rude to us, we went to front desk and complained. They said we weren't the 1st to complain about her. We decided to check out 3 days early. Didn't try to see if there was something to keep us from leaving. We will be going to different hotel on our next visit to our son.

Read More
Read Less

Thank You Staff!!

By

29 June 2020

I was headed to SD for work and wanted a nice hotel to stay at while in town. I found the Intercontinental online and decided to give them a call because my schedule was always changing and I didn't know how long I could stay.
I called the front desk before securing a room and was connected to their main concierge Mark.
Im writing this review because Mark was so fantastic. He understood my trip's situation and helped guide me through the reservation process and set me up with an incredible room for me and my dog! Yes they are puppy friendly and the entire staff couldn't have been more loving to my dog. I mean, they were perfect! I felt like anytime I walked by the front desk, Mark and the rest of the foot desk would ask me how I was doing, was I enjoying the room and if I needed anything.
It felt great because I was staying there alone and Mark and the staff made me feel appreciated for staying at the hotel!
Mark REALLY made an effort to ensure that I was enjoying my stay and everything was great.
I will ONLY stay at the Intercontinental SD when working in SD all because of how they treated me! So much love to all the staff!

Read More
Read Less

Too good to be true

By

16 June 2020

The location was great. The room was great. The view was great. The amenities were great and the front desk seemed great when we checked in. However, it seemed as if the poolside bartenders were going to be the only friendly and knowledgeable staff members at the intercontinental during my stay.

The front desk failed to notify us that the beverages at the mini bar in our room were electronically tracked. My girlfriend unknowingly picked up the tequila bottle to check out the alc. percentage and I picked up the bourbon bottle to check out the design.

When it came time to check out they told us there was a $95 mini bar charge ....... FOR THE TEQUILA BOTTLE. We told the front desk representative that we picked it up the check out the design and find the alcohol percentage, but we never opened the bottle, cracked the seal, or drank from it. The front desk representative said it's ok no problem we understand and I'll waive that fee.

Perfect everything's great me and my girlfriend go on our way and boom I see a $95 charge alert from my bank two days later. I call the hotel and ask what the charge was about and the "manager" Theresa said, "it was for a mini bar fee." I told her what we told the front desk representative as well as that we were advised that fee would be waived. Theresa stayed that the people that check the room after it's been used saw there was tequila missing from the bottle.

I almost lost my mind. I said that can't be because we never cracked the seal. I told her that the only way there's something missing is if the people cleaning the room decided to have a party when we checked out. I mentioned that If I had opened it I would've either finished the bottle or brought it with me. I also said that if I knew this was going to be such a hassle, I would've brought down the bottle as proof or gone and shown your staff that nothing was missing.

I asked Theresa When they inspected the room and she said they inspected it on Monday. She also said someone was currently in the room. I said well maybe it's the people in the room right now. Theresa said oh no never mind no one is in the room at this moment for we need to sanitize it for 24 hours after it's been used. I said ok so you're obviously lying to me and I want to speak with someone higher than you.

Theresa aggressively said there's no one higher than me and we will call you when we find a resolution. I called back 2 hours later and was hung up on 4x. I decided that I would just call my bank. The funny thing is, why wouldn't the mini bar sensor alert them about the bourbon? Seems like this establishment just wanted to overcharge someone. Regardless, anything below 3 stars would takeaway from the facility, location, room, and poolside bartenders.

Read More
Read Less

Less than satisfactory customer service

By

14 April 2020

Day 1:

Front desk was not manned when I checked in at 6pm.

I requested for a room facing the south side. I was re-assigned a new room at the 16th floor but still facing the north side.

Did Jesse (front desk) listened to my request? No.
I called him and told him that new room he assigned me is still facing the north side. Waste of my time. I asked him to resolve the issue by assigning me to a new room. He refused to reassign my room yet he thanked me for being a Spire Elite.

Day 2:

I called the front desk to request for a new room at 7am.
I was delighted that Theresa (front desk) was able to find me a room on the same floor facing the south side.

Upon requesting for the new key, Theresa offered me a “great deal” for the waterfront suite for $100+tax surcharge. She said “normally $800 a night.” I checked the IHG app and my corporate rate surcharge is only $80+tax surcharge for the same room. She deceived me. No recognition as a Spire Elite.

The sofa and daybed on both the standard room and suite are stained.

Read More
Read Less