Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
90%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 148 reviews
90%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

148reviews

  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    6

crumbling ruins of a hotel

By

July 25, 2022

platinumelite

The only thing nice I can say is that the gentleman running the breakfast really tries hard and cares about service. He was super nice and tried to provide variety on a clearly limited budget.

As for the facility itself it as a nightmare.
-Elevator is broken (not temporary). Others have commented on this a couple months back and I dismissed it as a one time problem but it isn’t a one time problem - it seems to be permanently out of order.
-Rooms reek of cigarette smoke and hallways smell like there is a rotting body in one of the rooms or something (not an exaggeration it smells super bad). My throat was sore and asthma raging by morning from the smoke.
-Not even minimal maintenance or general upkeep is being done. Our door handle literally came off when trying to open our door on one room. The A/C didn’t work in the other room, so we spent the night awake and sweating - we finally opened the windows the 3 inches or so they open as it was colder outside than in the room (78-80f in the room at midnight). The carpets look like someone did an oil change on their car and used them as rags. Tv couldn’t be turned on with the remote, door to bathroom wouldn’t close, room is leaning so bad the cabinet drawers open themselves. Lights flicker and flash when it rains
-fire alarms went off at 11 at night and we had to evacuate while 3 fire crews investigated or put out a fire. No explanation was given
-After the horrible experience we asked to move to another hotel for the next night and were told there are no refunds once you check in.

For reference I travel a lot for work and stay at lots of different IHG brand properties. My worst prior experience pales in comparison. I was embarrassed for booking this for my family.

Please stay somewhere else! I was literally concerned for my family’s safety staying here. This hotel does not represent the quality one would expect from IHG and needs a down to the studs remodel and different company for maintenance.

Read More
Read Less

Billing Issue

By

June 20, 2022

My stay Memorial Day weekend was pleasant but I'm rating this hotel down only because of the billing issue. The room I reserved was not available one night so I was offered a reduced rate for one night and was informed that the rate reduction would be a credit to my credit card. Instead of the hotel crediting my card they charged me again. I have called the hotel 4 times and even put in a dispute with corporate. Somebody at the hotel was supposed to contact me in 48 hours. It's been five days and I haven't heard anything and no one is answering the phone at the hotel directly.

Read More
Read Less

Stellar employee

By

October 25, 2021

We made a quick stop to stay overnight on our way home from a vacation. Initially we had some trouble with our heat, but the young lady working at the front desk was more than accommodating And helping to fix the situation. Next during the night, an argument began in the room next to us between an apparent couple. It began to escalate with louder and louder shouting. I called down to the front desk the same young lady came upstairs knocked on their door. I don’t know what she said to them but it worked. I feel that she went above and beyond what she needed to for gas staying at the hotel. She was pleasant and smiling the time that we were speaking with her. The hotel room itself was very clean and we had a very restful night except for the argument.

Read More
Read Less

Never again

By

August 22, 2021

I stayed at this hotel several years ago and liked it. Best feature is having a separate bedroom, from the living room and kitchen.
This edition was terrible and we crossed it off our list. Rooms were the dirtiest rooms I have ever stayed in. Had to throw out socks used to walk on floors or rug. Bedroom door did not help keep the TV noise from keeping my wife awake, as I watched TV. The noise from the Air Conditioner kept my wife awake and me from hearing half the dialog on the TV. It took me 3 days/trips to the front desk to finally get somebody who knew how I could get the flashing Red light off the phones in the room. I had to make a trip from my room to the front desk (after making the long trip up to my room) 4 days in a row to get a new room key. The clerk said that nobody bothered to see that I was staying for 3 weeks and to set the key to work for that long. The elevator was a joke, as it is very small and used by the hotel cleaning staff, repairman, and all the guests. Several times the elevator was to full and we had to wait for another elevator. We were on the 2nd floor so tried to walk down, not easy when you are in your late 70's and always carrying something. Like I said never again!!!

Read More
Read Less

Just what I needed in a difficult circumstance

By

August 18, 2020

I had lost power and was not expected to have it restored for over 4 days. I booked a room there. It also provided a good place to work remotely since I had no power. I was able to save food in the fridge, cook dinner for my boys, and work. Given the high demand, I was impressed and so grateful that they did NOT gouge with high prices. In fact, they kept the low covid price even thought they had enormous demand and was sold out. Good people! The hotel was very clean which was welcome with covid and had several hand sanitizing stands around the hotel and washed all dishes in the dishwasher between guests. It was a welcome respite during difficult times. They even allowed my dogs to stay. I cannot say enough of how great the staff was. If you book though, go direct and not through third parties.

Read More
Read Less

Staff was awful

By

May 15, 2019

We got there late to check, around 11pm. Tried the door and it was locked then saw the sign to use your room key or the phone to call desk. So I pick the phone and am waiting for the clerk to answer when I hear her yell "OPEN THE DOOR" I hang up and my kids open the door and walk through as I get in I hear her YELL at my kids to "Use the room key next time!" I inform her that we don't have a key as were there to check in and she says "Oh well it will be a minute" She finishes checking in the person that was already there and then I walk up to check in. The whole time shes checking us in she is cussing at her computer going on and on about how "f**king slow it is" dropping f-bombs and saying s**t repeatedly in front of my kids!. Since it was late and I was exhausted I didn't want to get into it with her so I let her rant then we went to our room. We all immediately got ready for bed and laid down, About 30 minutes later so at almost MIDNIGHT she calls our room when I answer she says you forgot your water bottle. I said excuse me, she said you forgot your water bottle I said no sorry we didn't have any water bottles. She says ok whatever and slams the phone down in my ear. I tried to talk to the clerk when we checked out about it and she rolled her eyes and said I needed to call the GM on Monday. I have called 5 times and NEVER received a callback. For the amount that room cost me you'd think they would have better customer service! I will NEVER stay here again!

Read More
Read Less

Bettter than expectedd

By

October 16, 2014

club

Better than expected. Not happy with being forced to do more than I wanted with this review. None of the back buttons work

This has left a bad taste in my mouth

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for your review, we do apologize for any difficulties you encountered in the review process.
Read More
Read Less

Nice place - loud guests

By

October 15, 2014

Normally I love this hotel and will be back. Unfortunately, I drew the people who blasted the TV all night and hence the low sleep rating. Otherwise, this hotel is great.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are so sorry there were noise issues from other guests during your stay. We have staff at the hotel 24 hours a day, and will be happy to help address anything that would affect your rest. We hope to see you back soon.
Read More
Read Less

Great Value

By

October 14, 2014

platinumelite

I felt like this was a great value. The cost for the suite, which provided everything we needed was well worth it. We were able to prepare meals and save money on restaurant dining for the same cost as many regular hotel rooms that do not offer the amenities. I'll be back!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us, Mimi. We are glad you had a great stay and appreciate the amenities we have. We look forward to your return stay with us.
Read More
Read Less

Clean comfortable hotel and pleasant staff

By

October 13, 2014

platinumelite

first time staying here and will make it my place to stay on all future business trips to Chicago

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your positive review and look forward to your future experience with us.
Read More
Read Less

Nice Experience

By

October 10, 2014

Good accommodations, amenities, location, and value.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for the kind review, we hope to see you staying with us again soon.
Read More
Read Less

Excellent Stay

By

October 08, 2014

This was our first time at Staybridge Suites Oakbrook and it was perfect.
Alex, the guest service representative, went out of her way to get us the best suite available.
Everything in this hotel is clean and everyone is professional. We enjoyed the free drinks and a light meal at The Social and the wonderful hot breakfast.
We also want to commend Cristina our checkout receptionist for her professionalism and great attitude.
We cannot wait to come back again!!!
Thanks for a wonderful mini-vacation.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you had such a great experience. Your comments have been shared with our staff and especially Alex and Cristina. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon.
Read More
Read Less